Current Form

matty_bulldogs

Apr 30, 2007
Now I'm over the moon the way we are traveling now, and I'm fully wearing every bulldog thing I have every chance I get (membership hat everyday).
But I'm still not counting my chickens before they hatch, not even thinking about finals, just loving ever win we have.
Is it me or is everyone else still worried about what happened at the end of last year and doesn't want to get there hopes up just to be disappointed?
Have to keep the lid on firmly, the less said about us the better for me.....
Whats everyone else feelings at the moment?????

Now I'm over the moon the way we are traveling now, and I'm fully wearing every bulldog thing I have every chance I get (membership hat everyday).
But I'm still not counting my chickens before they hatch, not even thinking about finals, just loving ever win we have.
Is it me or is everyone else still worried about what happened at the end of last year and doesn't want to get there hopes up just to be disappointed?

If not just you, then very few people would still be worrying about what happened last year. There were so many factors as to why that happened that have been rectified, one way or another.
As far as getting hopes up? Well, I have learned to deal with that over the years!

Totally different side to last year.

Firstly a coach who only has to coach, not worry about peripheral issues such as which players to send to which engagements or meet with disgruntled sponsors over things like players not being seen in Diadora stuff in public etc...

A decent ruckman who relishes a contest & doesn't mind getting his hands dirty.

Welsh who is able to give Johnno a chop out up forward.

Aker, showing what he's capable of.

Murphy & Hahn playing with full confidence in their knees.

Addison & Callan adding a touch of hardness.

Most players completing a full pre season, including Cooney who's in career best form.

Stronger bodies across the board. Able to hold their feet & not get knocked off the contest so easily.

Multiple avenues to goal, including a tall target in the square, where it's much more difficult for the opposition to negate.

A very different 2008 outfit!

If we can beat Hawks in Tassie then I think we are top 4 and then I'm going to think we are the real deal, loving what I'm seeing so far, would love to see us beat the record wins for the start of the season!!

Firstly a coach who only has to coach, not worry about peripheral issues such as which players to send to which engagements or meet with disgruntled sponsors over things like players not being seen in Diadora stuff in public etc...

Most players completing a full pre season, including Cooney who's in career best form.

Stronger bodies across the board. Able to hold their feet & not get knocked off the contest so easily.

Multiple avenues to goal, including a tall target in the square, where it's much more difficult for the opposition to negate.

Nice post TCD.

We beat the Saints again in round 9, we should be 2.5 games clear of whoever is 5th. Top 4 is looking mighty good.

To be honest at the start of the year (Pres season time) I said to myself, mates and big footy posters that we will definitly make the 8 this year because we are to good a team filled with talent and it would be very disapointing not to make it.

Now that we are off to a flyer and sitting in the top 4 with 2 games clear of 5th I think. I am not trying to put to much pressure or be cocky but I would like to make the top 4 and be contenders for once and not pretenders.

At the start of the year I was speaking to my bosses sub contractor who mind you is a Carlton fan. I asked him where he thinks the dogs will end up this year and his exact words were... " Mate the dogs are a team of loses"
Now being a 1st year apprentice I didn't want to upset him or get in anybodys bad books for debating what he said.

I just said to him... Mate Bill We are to a good a team to not make the 8 and have talent to burn. We have new recruits to fill key roles and blokes that where injured such as Murphy, Griffen, Hahn etc will be back to full fitness. You can expect major improvement from players such as Cooney, Griffen, Ray, Murphy, Aker, Morris and co so It wouldn't surprise me if we made the top 4 depending on injuries.

I haven't seen him since and look forward to seeing him in the upcoming weeks hopefully :thumbsu:

We are flying but lets not get to cocky about things. We haven't in all honesty been cocky so lets keep a lid on things and slip under the radar for another month or so :thumbsu:

Go DOgs :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

A big difference in this year to last year is injuries but mostly last year we could never get in any sort of rythem even when we were winning and that is why we could not win more than two in a row, but this year the team is playing with fluency and similar to the team of 97' but with more class. Have to keep a lid on it but if we keep the injuries down we will be hard to beat this year, the belief will be growing in the camp after beating our three bogy sides Adelaide, Saints and Sydney.
Go Doggies.

My exact feelings. Plus I'm still bothered by how bad we played against Essendon and the Tigers.

You can't beat winning form. As Eade has said we still can improve and a four quarter game is yet to be played. Look out when it does get played. Mentally the test will be after the break if our form and confidence continue with teams now taking notice and trying to shake our players. Can't wait for the North game as it will be long wait to see a live game. Can't wait to see some off the young guns in Everitt, Williams and Ray get there chance.

Injuries are the key to top 4. No injuries and we are a top four candidate.

Each week our confidence is growing and Wight, Ward, and Addison are becoming better players. Once they believe they can play at this level look out.

Couldn't agree more TCD.
Not only is Rocket solely focussed on coaching the team and preparing for upcoming matches but I think your post also alludes to the important role James Fantasia is playing behind the scenes.
We are all delighted with the efforts of Adelaide recruits Ben Hudson & Scotty Welsh so far, but Fantasia may prove to be the best recruit of 2008 for our club.

There are some really noticable differences to last year. Apart from the addition of a great ruckmen and a solid forward, we have blokes like Hahn, Murphy, Crossy, Griffen, all fit and on the park unlike last year. Then you have someone like the Coondg who has put on weight and is not only quick and skilful but is winning a truckload of contested possession. Add to that Minson who is taking a tall forward and making a contest and also Aker who is obviously less restricted than he was last year and the signs are starting to show.

The thing that would stop us this year is obviously long term injury to key players, and this would hurt any side. The only other issue is effort. When we are up and about we are putting in the hardball, contested effort. When we are lax in quarters it comes down to our effort. If Rocket keeps them up and about then we should push the top 8 and maybe a top 4.

Current Form