D1 2009

It's a good sign that our supporters care mate. Better them still having a crack when where getting flogged than kicking us while where down and maybe not turning up to watch. I think that us fighting it out to the end and getting a few goals late is a better sign than giving up and losing by 180 points.

Didn't hear to much from the Werribee blokes in the early game did we?

Onto the game Tigers play a very exciting game, they just ran us off our legs all day. Very unselfish side who reward the runners. SMD had every player down today, so we know we can only get better and we will.

hanging ur hat on a reserves win? wow, good to see where south are at.

surely ur 2's full forward will play seniors this year?

hanging ur hat on a reserves win? wow, good to see where south are at.

surely ur 2's full forward will play seniors this year?
no one at smd is 'hanging there hat on 2'nds win' at all yesterday was a woeful performance by the 1's and im sure everyone involved feels the same way....
in sayin that werribee were great yesterdaykirk has them very well drilled they back themselves and reward ther mates are a very good running side and will be very hard to beat this year...
with a strong week on the track and a cpl players back in next week im sure we can turn things around......

It's a good sign that our supporters care mate. Better them still having a crack when where getting flogged than kicking us while where down and maybe not turning up to watch. I think that us fighting it out to the end and getting a few goals late is a better sign than giving up and losing by 180 points.

Didn't hear to much from the Werribee blokes in the early game did we?

Onto the game Tigers play a very exciting game, they just ran us off our legs all day. Very unselfish side who reward the runners. SMD had every player down today, so we know we can only get better and we will.

Keals, that is a pretty ordinary post. Congratulations on your win in the early game.

Its pretty funny that comment actually. that would be like the NAB cup winners hanging it on the AFL Premiers. Taking your sister to the dance sort of thing.

Go Tiges.....

Keals, that is a pretty ordinary post. Congratulations on your win in the early game.

Its pretty funny that comment actually. that would be like the NAB cup winners hanging it on the AFL Premiers. Taking your sister to the dance sort of thing.

Go Tiges.....

After the year our 2's had last year we were really happy for them to have a win. While the 1's were terrible the 2's were very good. I think if both sides had of lost by 100 points then where are the positives. I think you will find that sides that are successfull have a good 2's side. So thats where I was coming from. A football club is not just your seniors team its every senior side that plays.

And why is it an ordinary post, because I acknowledged that our fans support us the whole game no mater the score? the fact I was happy for our reserves team to have a win? that I acknowledged that our firsts were not good enough and the tigers play a good standard of footy?

Hmmm....just wondering saints, at what point did you think the Tigers' took control of the contest? Early in the game, well perhaps in the first 10 minutes, it was an even affair. Most of the vocal Tigers' fans were still settling into their viewing positions in my opinion at the time the SMD boys were actually firing a few shots. After halfway through the 1st term your lads folded like a card table.

Face facts, if none of your senior 22 can get themselves up for the first game of the season, there's something very wrong going on.

PS - if you wish to get excited about the performances of your reserves' team, maybe you should join them yourself?

I think the 2nd and 4rd quarters is where the Tigers did the damage. First quarter was only a couple of goals in it and the last we did well. As I got injured very early I could listen to the supporters and our fans had a crack all day and thats all you can ask for. It's called not being a fair weather supporter.

And I wil be in the 2's on my return in a couple of weeks and thats how it should be.

I see your a Big Footy newbie, I hope that your not an above mentioned fair weather supporter. I know a few of the werribee boys have been here through the good and bad

I think the 2nd and 4rd quarters is where the Tigers did the damage. First quarter was only a couple of goals in it and the last we did well. As I got injured very early I could listen to the supporters and our fans had a crack all day and thats all you can ask for. It's called not being a fair weather supporter.

And I wil be in the 2's on my return in a couple of weeks and thats how it should be.

I see your a Big Footy newbie, I hope that your not an above mentioned fair weather supporter. I know a few of the werribee boys have been here through the good and bad

i was not referring to ur supporters mate, they were fine.

it was 1 or 2 of ur players, calling one of ours a '*******' as he slotted through his 5th goal, and then calling us a bunch of 'rangas', all while 100pts down - hilarious

i was not referring to ur supporters mate, they were fine.

it was 1 or 2 of ur players, calling one of ours a '*******' as he slotted through his 5th goal, and then calling us a bunch of 'rangas', all while 100pts down - hilarious

Lets be honest. "rangas" with the Taylors in the side is not really having a crack, more just stating the bleeding obvious.

Keals, the thing I found ordinary was that your smart A$$ tone to your " didn't hear our supporters in the early game" comment. its a bit rich after you got absolutley flogged. not just a touch up, but fully bent over.

I think you will find Keals, that at most games of footy, that supporters of either side, dont get too involved with the magoos, and get involved with seniors as after all, they are the main event. I would have thought that even you would know that....

You have got to be kidding me.......

However, we cannot question your optimism. lol!

Im sure SMD however wont be putting up a performance like this again.

*******?? i cant imagine an SMD bloke using such a politically incorrect term! Rangas however... fair game, and it was pretty humorous.

Awesome footy from the ****armers on sat. Were switched on from the start, and never let up.

Good luck for the year. Look forward to the return leg at lindsay hasset. Hopefully i, and the rest of the boys, turn up for that one.

Aquinas had a good win today agst St Leos, tight 1st half but the bloods superior fitness saw them run out 5 goal victors.Great win for the bloods as St Leos don't lose very often at home.And after reading all the dribble on the thread about how bad Aquinas is a very satisfying win with some handy players watching on for the bloods.

Cant go quiet just because we lost as much as Id like to

We are all very disappointed at Leos - Aquinas just wanted it more and deserved the win.

IMO we could have put it away earlier but werent good enough to do so.

Bring on next Saturday because like a lot of teams Im certain we can play better than Round 1.

Cheers

Good enough for the 4 points, plenty of room to improve also. wouldn't be expecting Old Mentonians to be making the top 5 though after Saturday - i'm sure they will improve also as the season progresses.

Seeing i tipped 2/2 last week i thought i might as well have a crack this week

Aquinas V SMD
The great thing about amateur footy is most grades are pretty even, far more even than country leagues. SMD's character will be on show this week after their performance against the tigers. No disrepect to Aquinas a win at St.Leos is a ripper, but i have a feeling SMD will bounce back just by 9pts. If they dont they are in for a long season.

OM v Werribee
Based on the "Tigers" form they perhaps may need and go and play for Terry. OM's ground is a delight to play on so if conditions are good Werribee by 40

Rupo v Fitzroy
We play at home with the ground in the best condition in 16 years. Given a fast track i expect the up and about Ruppppo boys to win by 24pts

Prahran v St Leos
Hard to pick on Round 1's form, will run with the animals by 12pts

Whitefriars v NOBS
Jacks boys would be seething from last weeks loss at home. They would be looking to win at home more often than not, i expect them to be too strong for NOBS despite their good win last week

Good luck to all, can't wait for the weekend

Westy warned me and I must say I am very impressed. Werribee will be very hard to beat this year. The cleanest, fastest footy I have seen in the D grades, well done to all involved at the poo farm.

KB is right, South will hit back hard but Aquinas at single mum central are a tough assignment and the result will be close. Interesting match note this week sees SMD coach Gerard Jess up against his Uncle Barry Jess' club Aquinas. Word has it that a line has been drawn down the main street of Ararat with half the town painted Red and White and the crap half painted Red, Green and Black!

Bloods 22, for a chuckle this week you'll have to travel to Ferndale Park Glen Iris. I'm in the Clubbies!

Westy warned me and I must say I am very impressed. Werribee will be very hard to beat this year. The cleanest, fastest footy I have seen in the D grades, well done to all involved at the poo farm.

KB is right, South will hit back hard but Aquinas at single mum central are a tough assignment and the result will be close. Interesting match note this week sees SMD coach Gerard Jess up against his Uncle Barry Jess' club Aquinas. Word has it that a line has been drawn down the main street of Ararat with half the town painted Red and White and the crap half painted Red, Green and Black!

Bloods 22, for a chuckle this week you'll have to travel to Ferndale Park Glen Iris. I'm in the Clubbies!

and for good reasons too Harps!! Last time i saw you play you fumbled in the goal square with noone within 20 metres of u!!
With the results on the weekend is it the best thing that has happened to the club you not appointing yourself as reserves coach?? Had to check the results a few times to check if maybe they got the ressies and snrs results mixed up!!

Guessing you wont make the long drive down to the royal ringwood area? Typical, you owe me a beer too i think!!

I was watching the old mentonians game last week and i was very curious as to why David Bardoel was playing ruck as he is very good forward and would bring alot reward to the old boys. As he is quite strong and his aerobic ability is very good. Also ive noticed he has been working many hard hours at the gym in improving his strength. I think he will be a chance to take out the best and fairest for the old boys this season.
baz

I couldnt agree more Bazza; Bardoel appears to be a likely type!
Staying with the OM's theme, can anyone tell me what has happened to their forward line. No.s 2, 9 24, 25 missing from last year's best line-up. Im no mathematician but i think their omissions equate to roughly 140 goals... That's a big difference to make-up. Besides Bardoel, are there any more options up front for the OM's?
There were big wraps pre-season last year on Chris Sinclair. Rumour has it he's currently injured. Can anyone confirm? When is he likely to be back? Is he the answer to the OM's offensive worries?

OM boys. Instead of talking rubbish about players, why don't you just go get a kick first. Its all well and good talking rubbish about a player who can't get a game in the reserves (Chris Sinclair) why don't you go find the ball and get a kick on match day. Maybe then you might stand a chance to win on the weekend.

When your winning games and actually not choking at the finish line, come back to me then....

Whilst the delights of the Salesian College Sunbury grounds may be windswept and rugged tomorrow (not dis-similar to the fields of Fromelles and Ypres), the Fitzroy faithful will trek out there tomorrow keen to lock horns with the competition favorites.

Last time we were out there, it was a rather one-sided affair with the home side's running machine clicking into gear early. Hopefully a decidedly different line-up to 2007, combined with the unfavorable conditions will result in a tighter affair.

If any more incentive were required for an upset victory, look no further than the Royboys desire to mark the passing of the 100th game in the red, yellow and blue by one of BF's favorite sons, Damian "Mappa" Hannam. Despite no mention of it in this week's Amateur Footballer (I think we wanted to make sure he got to the ground and played the game first before marking the occasion), hopefully next week's milestone will be written on the back of a resounding victory for this former Salesian Sunbury Collegian. A regular goal-kicking machine, website administrator, club committee doyen and social commentator, Mappa's contribution to Fitzroy in the past 7 or 8 is difficult to summarise in a mere paragraph or two. He's also an example of how players can re-invent themselves in the latter stage of their careers (Harper take note).

Congratulations Mappa, and here's hoping we can bring home the bacon in both games for ya.

Cheers

Frase

Whilst the delights of the Salesian College Sunbury grounds may be windswept and rugged tomorrow (not dis-similar to the fields of Fromelles and Ypres), the Fitzroy faithful will trek out there tomorrow keen to lock horns with the competition favorites.

Congratulations Mappa, and here's hoping we can bring home the bacon in both games for ya.

Cheers

Frase

Well not sure if Toorak Park will resemble the ANZAC challenges of the Western Front - too many leaves blowing in from Orrong Road - but I'll have a crack at some tips

All games should be tighter in the rain/wind sets in but here goes:

Aquinas over SMD - some good kids at Aquinas and based on last week SMD havent hit their straps

Rupertswood over Fitzroy - they are equal comp favourites in my books and should win at home

Werribee over Old M - they are my other equal favourites and they will win this week

Nobs to bounce Whitefriars at home - NOBs last quarter last week was dynamite - too pretty good sides here though I think

That leaves ESL to hopefully notch up 4 points over Praharan and I think we can.

Cheers

Looking forward to tomorrows clash with Fitzroy, should be a beauty.

Whilst on the subject of milestones,well done to Mappa. Congrats also to our own pudgy little number 7, Brad Whitehead. This week 'Sangers' takes the ground for his 150th senior appearance for Rupo. A terrific player and great clubman who has overseen the development of many of our outstanding junior players over the years. Good on ya Sang ! :thumbsu:

Last time we were out there, it was a rather one-sided affair with the home side's running machine clicking into gear early. Hopefully a decidedly different line-up to 2007, combined with the unfavorable conditions will result in a tighter affair.

If any more incentive were required for an upset victory, look no further than the Royboys desire to mark the passing of the 100th game in the red, yellow and blue by one of BF's favorite sons, Damian "Mappa" Hannam. Despite no mention of it in this week's Amateur Footballer (I think we wanted to make sure he got to the ground and played the game first before marking the occasion), hopefully next week's milestone will be written on the back of a resounding victory for this former Salesian Sunbury Collegian. A regular goal-kicking machine, website administrator, club committee doyen and social commentator, Mappa's contribution to Fitzroy in the past 7 or 8 is difficult to summarise in a mere paragraph or two. He's also an example of how players can re-invent themselves in the latter stage of their careers (Harper take note).

Cheers

Frase

Word is Fitzroy are pretty good with some exceptional recruits. Now i can sense an air of excitement about our famous scribe. As we are both openly excited what about a 6 pack on the result. I will happily pass over as Jack did some very cold ones (we have a great fridge) if the roy boys take the points tomorrow. Jack's beers whilst not real cold (the friars fridge needs turning up) tasted fantastic as i trekked to Ettttttihard to watch the sainters against the hapless freo lads.

Well done to the great man "sangers" on his 150th, a man who has true "fabric". Has been there every minute of our existence and represented our club brillliantly over our 10 years. Well done mate, i hope the boys bring the 4 points home in your milestone.

I'll try and improve from 2/5 this week.

Tips for this week:

Aquinas should be able to account for SMD by 16 points. Watch out for Matty Aver...he can take a grab!

Werribee are looking the goods early after demolishing SMD last week. Will be much of the same this week, should win by 30. Will be a long trip home if they don't win.

Rupertswood at home will be too strong for Fitzroy. The weather may bring this game closer than it ordinarily would have been. Rupo by 11 points.

ESL should bounce back after a poor performance last week, and should take home a 20 point win.

Whitefriars will need a better performance aswell to hold off the NOBS...hopefully they can. Otherwise they could be looking at sliding straight down into D2. I'll tip them again...but I don't know why. Friars by 2 points.

Good luck

[
KB is right, South will hit back hard but Aquinas at single mum central are a tough assignment

Single Mum Central : this raises many possibilities, it worries me a bit as our young brigade who are mostly single have an eye for the girls, i hope they don't run the canteen or run water, that could put us off.