Chris Ligris for VAFA D1 Best and Fairest LOCK...IT...IN

Don't say I didn't warn ya....

The Lig Unit to fire under James Taylor

Reds for the Flag

What ever. Stop talking your self up. Just be carefully of Bull Ants this year. Looking to have a huge one.

I wonder if Big Chris Ligris has some fond memories of the 2006 Grand Final!!

One of many to have egg on their face that day....with their premature celebrations and all!!!

Ah well...... will be interesting though when some of the boys meet again this year im guessing......One of the games of the year i rekon

I wonder if Big Chris Ligris has some fond memories of the 2006 Grand Final!!

One of many to have egg on their face that day....with their premature celebrations and all!!!

Ah well...... will be interesting though when some of the boys meet again this year im guessing......One of the games of the year i rekon

I'm sure he has better memories of this year's GF
I'm picking Big Chris might be over 2006;)

Somehow i don't think you can ever be over losing a Grand Final.....Let alone lsoing one when you are up by 66 points at 3/4 time

Those sort of losses can't be easily covered...especially when you have to stay in the same division to eventually win one

Why can't Fitzroy Reds ever move out of a divison in which they have constantly been one of the better sides......is it that they are a little worried that they maybe won't make the GF if they moved up and actually tried to better there U 19's.....Premierships are great, but not if they have to be won in the same divsion year in year out, that is the whole point of the VAFA setup, that once you achieve a GF berth in one grade you move up and try and better your club by moving up the next grade.

Well see if they make the move to Division 3 19's next year....although i won't be holding my breath.

Somehow i don't think you can ever be over losing a Grand Final.....Let alone lsoing one when you are up by 66 points at 3/4 time

Those sort of losses can't be easily covered...especially when you have to stay in the same division to eventually win one

Why can't Fitzroy Reds ever move out of a divison in which they have constantly been one of the better sides......is it that they are a little worried that they maybe won't make the GF if they moved up and actually tried to better there U 19's.....Premierships are great, but not if they have to be won in the same divsion year in year out, that is the whole point of the VAFA setup, that once you achieve a GF berth in one grade you move up and try and better your club by moving up the next grade.

Well see if they make the move to Division 3 19's next year....although i won't be holding my breath.

now Westy, this has been covered before, but for those of you that are a little slow......................the Reds REQUESTED to go UP a grade in 2007 and were in SECTION 3 up until about 2 weeks before the start of the year, after several teams, one being BT were unable to field sides in North. The Reds only then were dropped back to North to make up the numbers. IT WASN'T OUR CHOICE TO STAY IN NORTH. WE WILL BE IN NORTH ONE NEXT YEAR. Now, read carefully because I may well confuse you here................there is no more section 3 next year, there is Premier section, North 1, North 2, South 1 and South 2. So, (still with me pal?,) the Reds will effectively GO UP 2 sections, and are happy to do so. (Did I mention we WILL be fielding 2 teams in '08?) That's not "may be" but definitely fielding two sides. So please don't get confused when you see the Reds dominating North section next year, we will be in the higher grade as well. Does that make you feel better buddy?

Then tell us this... how does a club go down a grade (c to d1) when it has so many players to choose from?

Mate, don't try and dumb it down for me

The pure and simple fact remains that in 2004 you won the Premiership by a country mile in Red Section.....Yet REFUSED to go up citing some bullshit reason

Again in 2006 you finished on top but unfortunately for yourselves stumbled at the final hurdle in Red Section......And what do we see again you don't make the jump up to the next grade

Your full of excuses mate

The pure and simple fact remains that in 2004 you won the Premiership by a country mile in Red Section.....Yet REFUSED to go up citing some bullshit reason

Again in 2006 you finished on top but unfortunately for yourselves stumbled at the final hurdle in Red Section......And what do we see again you don't make the jump up to the next grade

I dont give a stuff about U/19's... who cares. I'm talking senior footy.. how does a club that has to choose from 90 players go down a grade??

Out of 90 people you would think you could find 22 half decent footballers..

Firstly, I'm not your mate and secondly, I can't dumb it down much more other than to say there are excuses, and there are REASONS. I have given you reasons in plain English, if you can't comprehend that, it's not my problem.
I will draw you a picture in stick figures if it makes it easier for you

Firstly, I'm not your mate and secondly, I can't dumb it down much more other than to say there are excuses, and there are REASONS. I have given you reasons in plain English, if you can't comprehend that, it's not my problem.
I will draw you a picture in stick figures if it makes it easier for you

Would be interesting to know how many players from that under 19 GF would be expected to play seniors in 2008 for both sides? I would think that if it were 3 or 4 or 5 per side, that would be a really positive sign for both clubs. Both need strong feeder (junior) teams to push up the ladder.

Extraordinary result aside, once you are in the seniors, under 19 results of 2 years ago have an ever diminishing relevance...

I dont give a stuff about U/19's... who cares. I'm talking senior footy.. how does a club that has to choose from 90 players go down a grade??

Out of 90 people you would think you could find 22 half decent footballers..

I'm new to the club and i can see why. Like a lot of clubs teams fall away after the top 6 or so player, if they gt hurt during the year its hard to find replacements that will stand up week in week out.

We've picked up a few players (myself inc.) some of us have played a much higher level of footy & judging by the numbers (and how we're lookin) at pre-season this early I think we'll be very hard to beat.

At this level of football it is sometimes harder for the players who have played a higher level of footy to adjust. At higher levels you get into the right spot you get the ball where at times at this level you wont get it.

Every side thinks they will be hard to beat this time of the year but we will see at about round 6 or 7 who is a serious threat or not.

At this level of football it is sometimes harder for the players who have played a higher level of footy to adjust. At higher levels you get into the right spot you get the ball where at times at this level you wont get it.

Every side thinks they will be hard to beat this time of the year but we will see at about round 6 or 7 who is a serious threat or not.

Round 6 doesn't give you much. Rovers were written off at 2-4 by round 6 in 2007 and went into the GF as favourites. Wait til you've played everyone at least once before you start spruiking.

Yes but if your 0-6 your leaving your run to late, if your 2-4 thats alot different. Ill post after round 6 the top 5 and i bet you i get it right.

I think now there are only 5 teams in it..

South Melbourne, Reds, Bullen, Old Geelong, Old Mentonians...

I think now there are only 5 teams in it..

South Melbourne, Reds, Bullen, Old Geelong, Old Mentonians...

Prahran are pertty stiff not to rate a mention. Very consistent all year. Were blown away in the Bulleen game and the first final, but otherwise won a lot of games and were very competitive in the other games they lost.

they would be next in line, but are just too old. They dont have many young players and I think run out of legs late in the season. They might prove me wrong but I think the younger teams will be to fit this year on fast grounds. South, Reds, Bullen, OM's, all based around young players.

OG's are a team that have been like OM's strong in the reserves, I think they might be the team that stuns everyone.

If we went through each team who are some key recuits?
Also which players will be key from all clubs?

If we went through each team who are some key recuits?
Also which players will be key from all clubs?
heard the districts have picked up john lindsay multiple premiership and bnf winner in wrfl and edfl could easily play vfl snrs but wanted to return to his jnr club

they would be next in line, but are just too old. They dont have many young players and I think run out of legs late in the season. They might prove me wrong but I think the younger teams will be to fit this year on fast grounds. South, Reds, Bullen, OM's, all based around young players.

OG's are a team that have been like OM's strong in the reserves, I think they might be the team that stuns everyone.

Can't agree with that. They lost 1 game at home all year. Don't think they were so old that they'll drop off in 2008.

And OG's won't be a "stun" to us if they come good. Arguably the best side we played in the H&A season.

OM's would have to be the early frontrunners. Especially if Boris The Blade can get himself right for the full season.

Can't agree with that. They lost 1 game at home all year. Don't think they were so old that they'll drop off in 2008.

And OG's won't be a "stun" to us if they come good. Arguably the best side we played in the H&A season.

OM's would have to be the early frontrunners. Especially if Boris The Blade can get himself right for the full season.

Talking to a mate from OM's they say they are going to roll out some big recuits for 2008. Should be interesting to see who they are.