D3 Ammos

Elsternwick were impressive yesterday beating OW. They contested hard against the breeze in the first qtr, took the game away in the second and retained that lead for the rest of the game.
Hunter and Grace were well held by OW but E’wick had enough winners over the rest of the ground for that not to matter. #14 for E’wick (think he’s their captain, can’t remember his name) has learnt how to handpass, go the first option and bring his teammates into the game which has made him a much more dangerous player and one of their best yesterday.
E’wick are very confident at the stoppages, particularly those in their forward half of the ground. Their ruckman (Jack someone?? 6’6’’) doesn’t lose many taps and either gives a big knock into space where a couple of blokes have broken away early or gives it to an on-baller in close who will give a big handpass into space where blokes have broken away early. Not sure if this is front running, but if you’re winning most of the stoppages it’s probably just good play. They play the sort of footy where if they’re playing well they probably score a lot by running into open goals. In the second half OW tightened up at the stoppages and this had a flow on effect to E’wick’s scoring and play making.
Good contest by both teams was only marred by a disappointing performance from the umps who seemed to be barracking for E’wick in the first half and OW in the second. This didn’t alter the result, just made for some frustrated players.
Back to the drawing board for OW.

mcglede said:
Interesting concept Old Warrior.

How about giving away the Old Westbourne 'gameplan' too?

Poor form.

Who do you barrack for in the AFL Mcglede? Do you complain whenever Dermie talks about your team's strategy during the half-time break.

Thoroughly irrelevant Old Warrior (just so you can sleep tonight it's Sydney), it smacks of sour grapes that you don't post gameplans when your team wins but do when your team loses?

If you're going to post Elsternwick's game plan then why not those of Kew and Monash Gryphons?

Appreciate that they cost your boys an undefeated season in 2004 (saw that game at Elsternwick - best game I saw of D4 all that season), however there's no need to post what you did and for the reason that you did.

How many times did Jukka lead to the right (watch, he does more than to the left)? Why not note Hamish frequently ignores the first option?

If you want to be consistent, then call it on both sides.

Dermie does.

Besides, mentioning that two players were well held, two played well and E'wick had players running forward of the ball at stoppages is hardly dissecting their gameplan. If I really wanted to get under the skin of the Wickers I could post info on their on ball rotations, forward structure and kick-out play. But I won't.......... maybe

mcglede said:
If you're going to post Elsternwick's game plan then why not those of Kew and Monash Gryphons?

Look back through the posts mcglede. You'll see that after the Kew game I did give a run down on the game itself as well as some of Kew's ins and outs. I don't know many of the Gryphons boys so I didn't bother with them.

There's nothing stopping you from posting info about OW on this thread - it is after all a D3 thread.

Why would someone from Old Westbourne post misleading information about Elsternwick after EAFC defeated them?

Makes no sense.

All I am suggesting is that the purpose of the match report appeared to be structured to opposition clubs with ideas of stoppages/ruck tactics helping coaches out when it comes to the Elsternwick ruckman.

To do that after a loss, and while not posting about his own team, suggests to me sour grapes, which is poor form.

I would have thought that it might help out teams that OW might be fighting with for a spot in the 4?

Oh and I guess we now know the umpires game plan this year then.

Chill out mcglede, a few things that he saw during the game is not a game plan.

mcglede said:
Why would someone from Old Westbourne post misleading information about Elsternwick after EAFC defeated them?

Makes no sense.

All I am suggesting is that the purpose of the match report appeared to be structured to opposition clubs with ideas of stoppages/ruck tactics helping coaches out when it comes to the Elsternwick ruckman.

To do that after a loss, and while not posting about his own team, suggests to me sour grapes, which is poor form.

You seem to have a real sensitivity issue mcglede take a tissue and give those eyes a wipe. If Old warriors comments give away any of EAFC's game plan... good, as any coach worth a pinch of salt would be able to pick such things up in a very short time. Elstwck like to run forward of the ball and if it works for them good luck, I observed the game on saturday and they outplayed OW on there junior ground, they tackled well in close and used there bigger body's as an advantage, don't think it's secret knowledge that OW prefer more space to make use of there strengths, which are skillful running midfielders if you can close them down and not give them space your half way there. Also note take a sides CHF & FF out with injury and your structure is quickly depleted, that's not an excuse at this level it is just too hard to find adequate replacements.

Sensitivity versus consistency.

If Old Warrior writes those comments every week and posts about OW, then he's consistent.

In his post he bemoans that the umpires weren't consistent, then fails to be when posting.

That's inconsistency!

Be consistent, and there'll be no dramas. :)

mcglede said:
Thoroughly irrelevant Old Warrior (just so you can sleep tonight it's Sydney), it smacks of sour grapes that you don't post gameplans when your team wins but do when your team loses?

Appreciate that they cost your boys an undefeated season in 2004 (saw that game at Elsternwick - best game I saw of D4 all that season), however there's no need to post what you did and for the reason that you did.

How many times did Jukka lead to the right (watch, he does more than to the left)? Why not note Hamish frequently ignores the first option?

If you want to be consistent, then call it on both sides.

Dermie does.

are you just talking about that game 2 years ago?

think you find when a bloke kicks 100+ goals in a season he can lead left, right, up down and everywhere, jukka didnt play on sat and that hurt OW structure, no excuse the wickers where better on the day but take out the best FF in D3 from any side and it hurts, as for hamish he doesnt even play for OW anymore.

McGlede, I think you have missed the point entirely about this thread. It is for discussing D3 and the teams and players who participate in it.

While Old Warrior may have leanings toward the Warriors, and as such forward postings with a Westbourne influence, he has never made a point to disguise the fact and is merely offering his opinions on what he has observed. All readers, including youself, should take such postings at face value, and he certainly should not be berated for offering his opinions.

I for one, would hope people from all clubs do the same, and should not be discouraged from doing so.

To me, you come across as a very insecure and petty person who has some serious concerns about your side's ability to maintain its early season momentum, as i did in 2004. It is the only reason I can come up with for your ridicule of the Old Warrior.

There is a long way to go in the season, and I look forward to other D3 readers to post their observations.

Be very careful Tibia, I have already stated I am not involved with the Elsternwick club. I think you treated them a bit harshly in your posts and have said so.

Would have been exceptionally easy for Old Warrior to mention Horsburgh didn't play - again, I question why he mentioned nothing about OW.

Agree with you on Horsburgh's talent however. An exceptionally good athlete for his size, which makes it hard for opponents to match-up on him. I'd suggest very few clubs under C Grade would have a capable match-up for him.

Hodgson has left? That's a blow I'd suggest. Watching the long blonde number 88 fly out of the centre was excellent to watch. From memory the season he had in 2003 (I think) where he split time with the under 19s and seniors showed his potential as you could almost work out which games he played in the under 19s given their results.

So long as Gavan Flower's baby-boy (Horsburgh) isn't out for too long, I suggest OW are a top-two/three side. I look forward to seeing them in the near future (haven't seen them yet this season).

Tibia said:
McGlede, I think you have missed the point entirely about this thread. It is for discussing D3 and the teams and players who participate in it.

While Old Warrior may have leanings toward the Warriors, and as such forward postings with a Westbourne influence, he has never made a point to disguise the fact and is merely offering his opinions on what he has observed. All readers, including youself, should take such postings at face value, and he certainly should not be berated for offering his opinions.

I for one, would hope people from all clubs do the same, and should not be discouraged from doing so.

To me, you come across as a very insecure and petty person who has some serious concerns about your side's ability to maintain its early season momentum, as i did in 2004. It is the only reason I can come up with for your ridicule of the Old Warrior.

There is a long way to go in the season, and I look forward to other D3 readers to post their observations.

I think we may be all missing the point while we sit here bickering about OW and EAFC, Souths are quietly laughing at us all as they go on there merry way comfortably defeating all in there path. Hopefully for OW sake saturday was a good shock for them and they realise alot of work needs to be done with a little bit of luck for them to be in the top couple of sides. I really hope mcglede stops carrying on like a little girl and becomes a bit more open minded about other peoples points of view.

mcglede said:
Be very careful Tibia, I have already stated I am not involved with the Elsternwick club. I think you treated them a bit harshly in your posts and have said so

Well mate if you don't, then you should. I reckon they would make you their No.1 ticket holder the way you go on about them.

Agree Marty, SM have certainly snuck under some of our radars and have shown they are one of the D3 powerhouses this season.

As for Jucka at OW, he is like losing Matty Lloyd for Essendon to the Warriors.

Should be a great game this week as well between West Brunswick and the Wickers.

Hello Gents,

Interesting reading today. For what its worth i think the more postings on here relating to form, tactics, players, game styles etc the better.
What club would really give two hoots about an anonamous punter giving a run down on his/her thoughts on the game, including tactics and intersting goss.
As long as we keep it clean and don't abuse individuals!
You have to take it all with a grain of salt.
Good Luck!

I must admit, it's great to see the names one is called when people can work behind psyeudonyms!!

Interesting post Tibia. I'd suggest that I have not 'gone on' about them the way you have tried to talk them down.

Here's a challenge Tibia. Have I given write-ups to any Elsternwick players? Am sure I just posted something talking up Horsburgh and Hodgson.

And who did I tip for the D3 GF? Were Elsternwick one of the teams? Old Westbourne?

Amazing, all I ask for is consistency and I'm howled down.

Boys it's all good and friendly banter (well, it should be), but given some of the return posts, I hope you all feel the consistency you want here is satisfied on the field when an umpire gives a free against your full back in the goal square next time! :)

McGlede, get over it.

Just to change the subject a little... I saw WB Vs Gryphons on the weekend, a decent game in pretty good conditions given the Friday night weather. Gryphons were a decent bunch, though there reserve strength belies their first team. Leads one to wonder whether a selection shake up might change anything.

Anyway they put up a good show but WB didn't seem too troubled. The magpies will have to improve to trouble the top sides though. Should be a good test Vs Wicks this week (even if Warrior has given away those crucial top-secret game plans; get men running forward from stoppages! Genius! I wish I'd thought of it!).

Reddy I'm well over it.

Can't believe so many people get shirty when someone asks for consistency. :)

Elsternwick will need to be at their best to win out at Brunswick (if the game is out there), however I'd suggest the St Mary's - Kew clash will be on from the bounce - the loser goes 0-4 and will give most people the impression they're relegation bound.

mcglede said:
I'd suggest the St Mary's - Kew clash will be on from the bounce - the loser goes 0-4 and will give most people the impression they're relegation bound.

Kew not as good early on as was first considered by many... I thought they were going to be one of the shakers and movers of D3.

I believe there are many "Richmond" style performances in lower grade footy where half a dozen losses on the trot aren't as rare as one would expect.

Lions Den said:
Is Murchie still playing for Swinburne? I haven't seen his name in the results
He was all talked up for another big year during the summer - no idea whether or not he actually trained at all, but there were reports he was as keen as ever to pull the boots on.

You would expect him to have kicked at least one goal, even if he has played only a solitary game