D3 Ammos

You don't need a clearance anymore, you only need to register and your in. New rules came in this year, which were probably an attempt by the VAFA to improve player depth across all of their clubs. It work at my club, we had 40 new players sign this year.

that's not quite correct.. while the rules are certainly more relaxed you defnitely do need a clearance.Many clearances have been knocked back this year, though this needs suitable evidence or submission from the original club. There is no way a player can play legally without a clearance, so Doona, if you truly know the player played wihtout one, let the ammos know.

oc37 said:
that's not quite correct.. while the rules are certainly more relaxed you defnitely do need a clearance.Many clearances have been knocked back this year, though this needs suitable evidence or submission from the original club. There is no way a player can play legally without a clearance, so Doona, if you truly know the player played wihtout one, let the ammos know.

Know for a fact (accodring to results and team lists) the player in question has played 1 senior and 3 reserve matches for a D3 club after his clearance was rejected by his VCFL club.

mcglede said:
I don't usually see the Reserves Old Warrior, so you'll have to help me out a bit! Number 24?

Not wanting to get personal, but this comment has really made you look a bit silly mate. #24 was the club's premiership skipper and backbone of the Warrior backline, a true legend of the club who only relinquished the captaincy this season due to family reasons.

And as for not knowing of Boycey, well I guess that confirms that a) you have not been around the lower grades for long enough, or b) you are just trying to throw us off your scent.

Bull's trunks said:
It seems that ELSTERNWICK - C.MAHONY and ELSTERNWICK - D.GRACE are the only representatives from D3 in the A-D4 rep squad, certainly poses the question, it is easier to make the team if you club is based at the vafa headquarters, good luck to them I say.

I believe every club is offered by the ammos to nominate players from there club. I would imagine that most clubs put there ego's aside and consider the club bigger than the individual, but elstnwck maybe not. C.Mahony a pretty good midfielder, but ? must be on D.Grace as to why you would even bother, if he gets in well then there is defianetly a foul stench between the ammos and EAFC.

I cant believe that the Panda cant get a game for the OWestys firsts. Surely a man with his footy brains and love of the club can contribute. Can someone tell me is it just a matter of his knees or his late night escapades keeping him out.

Miller is all class off a flank generally. A loyal servant and helped the rise of the club.

Chris Sharp and Robertson from bentleigh sould have been nominated from D3

Marty39 said:
I believe every club is offered by the ammos to nominate players from there club. I would imagine that most clubs put there ego's aside and consider the club bigger than the individual, but elstnwck maybe not.

Is D. Grace any relation to the coach?

Tibia said:
And as for not knowing of Boycey, well I guess that confirms that a) you have not been around the lower grades for long enough, or b) you are just trying to throw us off your scent.

You are bang on there with both calls, Tibia (or should that be metacarpals?).

And as for the Rep side - NO doubt there are plenty of players who should be in there but aren't. Very tough to pick an interleague squad from only one grade, and therefore a lot harder across several.

I know of players who were selected and wouldn't be bothered again with
a. the politics; and
b. the extra training on top of the club workload

Mainly the politics though.

I know very well who number 24 is. Leon is an excellent footballer. The only reason I said it was to get a rise out of the Westbourne boys. It worked. Leon, my apologies - was all meant in good forum fun. I trust no offense was taken. :thumbsu:

As for why I won't name myself, it's quite simple. If I were an umpire or match official, I would be heckled badly, if a player I would be targeted behind the play while if I were a spectator I would be physically threatened.

Don't say it wouldn't happen. I've seen it happen to others, even elderly spectators.

Sorry, not going to put myself up to that. I'll stay 'mcglede' for now.

Dubya said:
N
I think their key to this season seems to be the Big guy up forward - Bullock I think is his name.

From what i hear this Balloch hit form last week after gradually finding his touch. Such a shame though that the "D3 Enforcer" will not be available for this weeks match, will be interesting to see how well OW's forward structure operates without him.

both are forwards and neither could fit in a side with Loats,Frost, Boundy, Parton,Casboult, Bromley, Grace.
Undeniably they are very good footballers, but Loats v Sharp, Frost or Bromley V Robertson, i know who i would take.
Also many sides did not nominate players because the side did not recieve notification that they needed to..

Is the Jeremy Bourke listed as an employee of the VAFA (general manager) by any chance the same fella who played at Seymour and I think Old Haileybury?

word on the street is that OW no.24 has gone a bit soft with the birth of his daughter and is struggling to hold his spot in the side. A reliable source tells me that his reputation is the only thing keeping him in the seniors. It has been said new and improved player Scott Hewitt thinks the CHB position should be his.

depends which level of evolution you are on .. .Maybe in some metacarpals are closer to the tibia than the metatarsals.. and i can tell that you can see more than one pun in that statement.. :)

oc37 said:
depends which level of evolution you are on .. .Maybe in some metacarpals are closer to the tibia than the metatarsals.. and i can tell that you can see more than one pun in that statement.. :)

Perhaps the level of banter in this forum is of a higher intelligence than McGlede might have you believe?

No real surprises this week in D3, Although the margin in the OW v Swin game wasn't what many tipped it to be...

Has the Elsternwick train been derailed, or has it just been delayed?

E'Wick certainly gave the Bloods a run..The Bloods though finished off much better at the death, some inaccurate kicking but 3 late goals blowing out the margin of what was a pretty good game.

Interesting result seeing WBR beat ELW by 7, STH v WBR in 2 weeks promises to be a ripper.

OWB margin over the SWN no surprise to me, they travel poorly, and have only played 1 contender so far in ELW, who beat them easily. Next few weeks promise to be disappointing for the Warriors me thinks when they play some quality...

Round 5 finishing order prediction - STH, WBR, ELW, BEN, OWB, KEW, SWN, MON, STM, UHS.

Watched south on friday night and being an ex player i would say the side they heave at th moment would be the best "team" south have produced for a while. Seems the new coach has everyone playing together and there is a good feeling around the club.
According to a few down there, they rate themselves as a premiership team.
Been a long time between drinks so would help the club alot.

saints said:
Watched south on friday night and being an ex player i would say the side they heave at th moment would be the best "team" south have produced for a while. Seems the new coach has everyone playing together and there is a good feeling around the club.
According to a few down there, they rate themselves as a premiership team.
Been a long time between drinks so would help the club alot.

Do you know if some guy called Baade or Badde (or similar) is still playing for them?

I saw a game where he got about 65 kicks and 3 handballs against Powerhouse once. Apparently the only time he got votes

Was at the Swinnie v OW game on Saturday. Am surprised to hear from an earlier post that Swinnie didn't show much in their game against Bentleigh because if they had one thing going for them it was they tried their heart out at every contest. It ended up being a cracker of a game with quite a few lead changes throughout the day. OW up at qtr time by three goals, Swinnie up by a goal at half-time, scores level at 3 qtr time and OW just getting over the line after kicking the last three goals of the game. Murchie didn't play for Swinnie, Higgins did however and kicked about four. Will be surprised if they don't provide an upset or two at their ground.

knackers_2 said:
Do you know if some guy called Baade or Badde (or similar) is still playing for them?

I saw a game where he got about 65 kicks and 3 handballs against Powerhouse once. Apparently the only time he got votes

Trent Baade. Reserves premiership with the bloods in 2001. Left a couple of seasons ago, handy type.