• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

D4 D4 2008

Great hitout for us (SFX) yesterday against Syndal. Played 6 Qrts, which was only decided 5 mins before the 2's first 3 qrt game, due to syndal being dis organised......Who knows??? But not impressed!!:mad:

The 1's played the last 3 qrts and it was a good 10 goal win for us in pretty bad conditions. 14 goals to 4. Always good to beat the old mob!!!!

Bring on Rd 1!!!

Great hitout for us (SFX) yesterday against Syndal. Played 6 Qrts, which was only decided 5 mins before the 2's first 3 qrt game, due to syndal being dis organised......Who knows??? But not impressed!!:mad:

The 1's played the last 3 qrts and it was a good 10 goal win for us in pretty bad conditions. 14 goals to 4. Always good to beat the old mob!!!!

Bring on Rd 1!!!

It sounds like syndal had one team play the full 6 quarters... which woud explain a win in the ressies and a blowout in the seniors.

SFX sounding very impressive.

Bring on Rd 1!!!

Wow someone took a couple of angry pills, we were told as of tuesday we would be playing a 6 quarter game, and we were at the ground pretty early if you wanted to discuss it. Anyway thanks for having us down and look forward to playing you again, when everyone will know that there are 2 games and no one can complain about it.

Uni High by 5 goals. Good hit out for both sides. VAFA should have a good look at themselves after umpires not turning up for senior game despite being booked 3 weeks ago.

that is ordinary - no umpires- was it good or bad for the game given the quality of some umps in d3/4 ?
could it be a pre emptive strike by the umpires in anticipation of muttsy's return to swearing i mean playing ?

that is ordinary - no umpires- was it good or bad for the game given the quality of some umps in d3/4 ?
could it be a pre emptive strike by the umpires in anticipation of muttsy's return to swearing i mean playing ?

Muttsy didn't bong pocket. The greet man Ackers umpired both the seniors and the reserves and did a very good job.

Let's take a quick look, Spell Police;

i know a couple of the old school sharks who say things are bleak at sharkpark
-YOU OBVIOUSLY DO NOT.

the ground is worse than ever
- THE BEST GROUND IN D4, likely the best surface in the VAFA at present, IT'S BRAND NEW AND NEVER HAD A GAME OF FOOTY PLAYED ON IT.

and the list is lighter than ever
- HORRIBLY WRONG

lost your captain i hear. retirement.
- 1 CORRECT. Well done... but don't be surprised if he pops up for a few games and likely takes 3 votes each time.
amongst others
- DOES ANY TEAM GO FROM YEAR TO YEAR WITHOUT LOSING (note correct spelling) PLAYERS?

We shall not elaborate as your post could have no intention other than for some at Shark Park to start talking on here. This is the best you'll get. Hope you enjoy it.

i went to see bulleen v old westbourne. lets put it this way, old westbourne under-estimated bulleen, granted o/b probably had some players missing so did bulleen but there is an air of confidence coming out of the cobra camp. i warn people not to write off the cobras in 2008. by the looks of things bulleen will not be the easy beats they were last year.

Wow someone took a couple of angry pills, we were told as of tuesday we would be playing a 6 quarter game, and we were at the ground pretty early if you wanted to discuss it. Anyway thanks for having us down and look forward to playing you again, when everyone will know that there are 2 games and no one can complain about it.

Maybe you should speak to Manny. We had 2 diff stories, one person was saying yes, 2 games, then when we tried to confirm with Manny, the response was, "I dont know" sorry but I dont know, is NOT an answer.

Look, really, I dont care, my Syndal Days are over!! Hopefully you can get 2 teams together by the start of the season!! And also personal taunts on a ex player is Bl..dy low, But I suppose you cant help stupidity!!!

Ye look forward to Rd 11!!

old westbourne under-estimated bulleen, granted o/b probably had some players missing so did bulleen but there is an air of confidence coming out of the cobra camp.

I wouldn't say they underestimated the Cobras, it was a mixed OW sen/U19/club18 side with quite a few sitting out or unavailable. The third quarter of the ressies showed that, when Bulleen put on some stronger players and had the run of the paddock over OW.

I'm not sure how many Cobras players went for all six quarters, there were some tired boys out there towards the end, full credit to them for toughing it out.

Impartial observation - backline discipline. I don't know if they were a mixed side who hadn't played together and weren't used to each other, but bagging your teammates for miskicking or fumbling isn't conducive to team morale. I reckon something was said after the second quarter because it stopped. And getting frustrated with umpire calls when things aren't going your way late in a praccy game is all well and good, but get out of the habit before round 1 and the zero-tolerance policy starts getting applied. You're not defending if you're off the paddock for a few minutes.

Other than that the game was played in good spirit and both sides walked away with a few things to work on - which is exactly the point of having a praccy.

Maybe you should speak to Manny. We had 2 diff stories, one person was saying yes, 2 games, then when we tried to confirm with Manny, the response was, "I dont know" sorry but I dont know, is NOT an answer.

Look, really, I dont care, my Syndal Days are over!! Hopefully you can get 2 teams together by the start of the season!! And also personal taunts on a ex player is Bl..dy low, But I suppose you cant help stupidity!!!

Ye look forward to Rd 11!!

It wouldn't have taken much to notice that we only brought about 30 odd players, if you had of looked you would have realised that two games was never going to happen. As for the personal taunts, if your going to open your mouth (and TRY to throw your weight around) expect a bit back, especially against your old team when your acting like an idiot.

Just putting a post out to see whether there is any club looking for a practice match next Saturday the 5th against Latrobe Uni (d3). We were double booked for a practice match and came off 2nd best from that double booking. Would prefer to play away if possible but can accomodate a home game if the club doesn't have access to a ground. If any club is keen please send me a PM.

It wouldn't have taken much to notice that we only brought about 30 odd players, if you had of looked you would have realised that two games was never going to happen. As for the personal taunts, if your going to open your mouth (and TRY to throw your weight around) expect a bit back, especially against your old team when your acting like an idiot.

Ye we did notice the P.ss poor turnout from you blokes.

I'll throw my weight around if I want, I do it fairly, BUT I will not take crap and personal taunts about my fam from d.ckheads like Flemo and Burnsy. I dont know who u are but I reckon your either no 1 or no 5. Think your a bl..dy superstar!!!! Good luck to you. Go back to Salesion mate!!!

If you knew the history between myself and that w.nker Andrew Burns, then a little love hip and shoulder is nothing. And also I know Manny instructed you blokes to get into me at the start, if that was the best you have got, then it was very p.ss weak!!!! Cant be easy getting flogged by 10 goals every week.

And FYI I have some good friends at that club, so get over yourself!!

I'll throw my weight around if I want, I do it fairly, BUT I will not take crap and personal taunts about my fam from d.ckheads like Flemo and Burnsy. I dont know who u are but I reckon your either no 1 or no 5. Think your a bl..dy superstar!!!! Good luck to you. Go back to Salesion mate!!!

If you knew the history between myself and that w.nker Andrew Burns, then a little love hip and shoulder is nothing. And also I know Manny instructed you blokes to get into me at the start, if that was the best you have got, then it was very p.ss weak!!!! Cant be easy getting flogged by 10 goals every week.

I'd tell you guys to go get a room but I'm enjoying it too much :)

This is soooo cool. The Bold and the Beautiful in D4. Who would've thought... :D:D:D

huru

This is soooo cool. The Bold and the Beautiful in D4. Who would've thought... :D:D:D

huru

I heard Bulleen had plenty of players on the track. Good to hear. Good job recruiting guys!

Numbers are good at the moment. But you need 60+ to be competitive with injuries & unavailabilities hurting all clubs at times at this level. We're close to that number, so hopefully we can play the season with a bench in the seconds & no players doubling up. That'd be utopia compared to last year..:)

Richmond Central is also looking for a team to play this weekend. If you have a ground available we'll show up whenever! PM me if you're interested. We lost (the ground for) our practice game this past weekend... :(

Haha, it's not that i dont know the personal history it's more that i dont care, it's just football mate. I really dont think i'm a superstar, if i did do you reckon i would be playing D4 footy?? As for Manny's instructions i must have missed that meeting cause we couldn't give a rats who you are, or who you used to play for, or who your family is or how s**t your hair is or whatever other stupid reason you came up with for us "getting into you" we were there to play footy no-one cares who you are.
In any event if you bothered to read the post i was trying to pay your side a compliment, really well drilled and apart from you a good bunch of blokes, also number 1 and number 5 must have made an impression if you remembered them specifically, they can play a bit cant they!!!!
And FYI I Could tell you had some GREAT mates at syndal from the way they all spoke soooooo highly of you!!!!

Muttsy didn't bong pocket. The greet man Ackers umpired both the seniors and the reserves and did a very good job.

I thought the umpiring was quite good really, there were a couple of players from uni doing it as well as ur bloke, and they seemed to let us play and only call the really obvious free's. Was a nice change, as far as im concerned id love to have those umps each week!! (no offence to last years refs intended!)

Thought it was a good game, the ground was fantastic too, was like playing on clouds.

Let's not put a dampener on what was a fine day of football! full credit to you blokes for pushing through the six quarters in what was pretty ordinary conditions was appreciated by the club. Number 5 was your standout, pretty impressive to play at that level over six quarters, league b&f smokey.

In regard to the Taskmaster incident, of course it is a given that a little banter and argy bargy will go on with a former team mate, but one sledge in particular which was loud enough for the whole of Beaconsfield to hear was probably up there in one of the more ordinary things I've heard on a footy field. I know if a bloke from our team said that he'd be told to pull his head in. Some things are no go zones and that was definitely one of them. I think most of us would probably act like an "idiot" as you say, if that was said to us.

All that aside looking forward to playing you blokes next time as other then that incident the game was played in great spirits and the skill level was particularly good i would of thought for D4.

Any chance you could give us an indication as to what was said that should be considered taboo??

I guess anything personel is more or less taboo - especially in a praccy match.

I'm not sure how many Cobras players went for all six quarters, there were some tired boys out there towards the end, full credit to them for toughing it out.

Impartial observation - backline discipline. Other than that the game was played in good spirit and both sides walked away with a few things to work on - which is exactly the point of having a praccy.

Bulleen had a few guys missing (one of the players birthdays on Saturday night & the party was planned prior to the change of game from Saturday to Sunday), but those who played really enjoyed the hit-out & the coaches got a fair bit of benfit from it.

As for the discipline issue; I'm pretty comfortable most clubs have one or two that are better at giving orders than taking them. The coaching staff have a big input into how that is managed during the year & I'm absolutely comfortable that our coaching staff are capable of handling those issues through the year.

Kudos to the OW guys; they were a really good bunch of guys who played the game in the good spirit. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Any chance you could give us an indication as to what was said that should be considered taboo??

I guess anything personel is more or less taboo - especially in a praccy match.

sorry OZZA,too much respect for Dappers to even consider saying it on a public forum. the bloke who said it needs to have a good think about things, something a year nine girl with sh1t on her liver would come up with not a grown man,embarrassing for him.