• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

D4 D4 2009

Noticed the Cobras had a win the the 2's on the weekend. Eley Park have a pretty good 2's team - so its a good win - Cobras showing a bit more depth this year. Melbdocker must have starred!

Two close losses in the seniors OZZA. Your guys must be itching for a win? Swinburne this week... tiny ground, you guys could give them a good run I reckon.

Certainly are itching for a win, mate.

We certainly have had our chances in both games so far and I think the big ground at Kew suited us.

There's been good improvement but there is still heaps to work on - Dave Pizzari would be a handy addition also - hopefully he is back soon.

Don't get him started. He had a hand in the last two goals of the game that got the Cobras up.

In terms of depth, we've been struck early by injury but yeah, definitely we've improved the numbers. We still have around half a dozen blokes that haven't kicked a ball in anger yet so the days of doubling up in the reserves and seniors are well behind us now. (Thank God, I had troubles walking on Sundays back in 2006).

Certainly are itching for a win, mate.

We certainly have had our chances in both games so far and I think the big ground at Kew suited us.

There's been good improvement but there is still heaps to work on - Dave Pizzari would be a handy addition also - hopefully he is back soon.

I wouldn't call Kew a big ground (although a 5 goal wind up to the top end may have made it seem longer)....wait until you get out to Latrobe :eek:

north brunswick have improved heaps from last year...a win is not far around the corner for them i suspect.

I wouldn't call Kew a big ground (although a 5 goal wind up to the top end may have made it seem longer)....wait until you get out to Latrobe :eek:

north brunswick have improved heaps from last year...a win is not far around the corner for them i suspect.

Its not a particularly long ground - but its wide and the big wing areas mean there are plenty of room for the runners.

Spot on Ozza, If you go wide then it is quiet large. I see the little maestro kicked 7 for Bears. After watching him over the last 3 years it is amazing how he can get on a roll and kick goals pretty quickly and from anywhere.

Daniel Penny (BOX HILL NTH) 13
Nathan Nuske (RICHMOND) 12
Craig Horne (KEW) 12
Attila Yaman (SWINBURNE UNI) 12
Shane Mottram (STH MORNINGTON) 10
Rhys Mcconville-Brain (STH MORNINGTON) 10
David Viola (ELEY PARK) 8
Brendan Murnane (ALBERT PARK) 8
Nicholas Wood (STH MORNINGTON) 8

4 players on track to kick 100 for the year... some big bags kicked early this year! I reckon there wasn't so many kicked this time last season.

Gutted to lose that game. Kudos to manningham for pegging back the half time margin though.

Spot on Ozza, If you go wide then it is quiet large. I see the little maestro kicked 7 for Bears. After watching him over the last 3 years it is amazing how he can get on a roll and kick goals pretty quickly and from anywhere.

Yeah Horne had a few patches in the game that killed us. I think he kicked 4 of Kew's first 5 - and then 3 in 3 minutes to start the last quarter that hurt. Obviously a quality player - I don't think he played against us last year - but very smart and great finishing skills.

watch out for the Sharks....picked up some good players, will surprise a few, Mitcham may well be a depleted club, Tigers in general are not having a good run:)

I noticed that MTL picked up two handy types from Donvale, both senior payers, didn't play against us in the pracy match. I'm told that one by the name of North was also with Boc Hill Hawks, maybe Manny can confirmn, good pick ups if true:(

Guys I do not know the 2 players in question, but after making inquiries at the club it appears that both players didn't play last season and one maybe coming off a knee injury. As far as North being at BH Hawks could not confirm or deny.

Ozza....how did my old mate Levi play on Saturday?

Manny

Manny

Did every game have a 5+ gale blowing on Saturday?

Our game finished in the rainy, dim light at 5:10pm. Usually about the time the second beer was going down!

haha just doing my bit forward or back, if a few of the eley park boys thought we went over the top at the end sorry it was only our 3rd win in the last 38, but hopefully a few more to come

know exactly what you mean, melbdocker... before this year, we had only won 4 in 36!! already 2 on the board so im hoping there will be plenty more singing of "its a grand old flag" in the weeks to come!! :thumbsu:

When was the last time you played in a winning side and saw your Dockers win on the same weekend?

Also Richmond Tigers got up with Richmond Central support :)... Was a good weekend for the strugglng AFL clubs.

I've only played about 25 reserves matches and won just once... against BHN... a long time ago!

I notice Pullen received 2 matches for striking - was this the incident against Cookson?
Anyone care to elaborate now the tribunal has completed its verdict?

Chinese whispers say off the ball, elbow up and completely uneccessary?

I notice Pullen received 2 matches for striking - was this the incident against Cookson?
Anyone care to elaborate now the tribunal has completed its verdict?

Chinese whispers say off the ball, elbow up and completely uneccessary?

2 matches is pretty light for striking that results in a broken jaw?

You get 2 matches for swearing! So there must have been no evidence...

Round 3 Tips:

AP @ SM - HUGE away game for Albert Park. The tigers are playing super footy at the moment and will rate themselves a big chance at home. If they win they will be underdogs no longer! In saying that, I don't think SM are quite there yet... AP by 5 goals.

LTU @ MANN - Latrobe are on fire, beating two of the premiership contenders in the first two rounds. Mann are coming off a disappointing home loss, and will struggle with the speed of Latrobe's younger players. LTU by 7 goals.

RC @ MTL - No love lost between these two sides... ML have had the wood on RC the past few years and they will go in favourites again I'd say. (RC by 1 point)

NB @ SWIN - Upset alert, NB are building and are due for a win. The small ground will keep this game close all the way. Toss a coin - SWIN by 1 goal.

BHN @ KEW - BHN are sitting at the wrong end of the ladder, and it doesn't get any eaiser for them in the next few weeks. Kew haven't been in great form. I can't see BHN getting up though... Kew by 5 goals.

THE CHAD @ EP - EP are winning, CHAD are losing. Unfortunately for the Synners it seems a win may be losing by less than 10 goals? EP by 8 goals. EP dont play anyone from the top half of the table (last year) till round 6. They will be flying by then.