D4 2013

Mmmm, okay, this week I'll make sure that I bold the correct teams - yes a little slip-up last week !

North Brunswick vs Dragons
Chadstone vs North Box Hill
West Brunswick vs Hawthorn
Point Cook vs Manningham
Eley Park Sharks vs Northern Blues

been following the results and finally had my first chance 2 spectate so i went to watch the dragons v nth brunswick game over the weekend and was shocked to see the demolition of the dragons. havent seen them play this season but saw them in the praccy game and they looked like a totally different team with different cattle. nth brunswick looked a much better unit and dragons looked soft! i was looking forward to seeing yap in action again and witnessing another bone crunching bump like last time but he didnt even play. i heard he went down badly the week before against maningham.. anyone from the dragons know how long he is out for?

comparing the dragons from what they had to the 1 now is hilarious, wtf is goin on!!!! the senior boys have all gone walkabout haha, wheres Pang, Sanga, Clappers, Yap, Machine???? Im guessin they all wish they were still within the lovely surroundings of the southern burbs where the action is at ey?

Your ego must really be hurting! Lol!

yap left? not sure if srs or smoking too much of the crack-pipe...

I'd also like to know whether it's normal practice not to have a single player, coach or official go into the opposition rooms for a drink, chat or whatever as the dragons did on saturday after the match. Both games were played in very good spirit and it's the first time that I can remember this happening in the 5 years i've been at nth brunny, it was a poor reflection on the dragons as a club. We are encouraged to go into opposing clubs rooms after a away game, win lose or draw and most clubs do the same to help each other out financialy. Would love to hear from JP as to why this didn't happen saturday.

Hi Foxtel, it's not normal practice to not stay behind at all. I apologise as I had to go at half time had some family matters to attend to. The players obviously were in a hurry to get back to this side of town and without some encouragement have forgotten their obligation. Rest assured during the game we have frequented your lovely canteen and I have seen a fair few of our supporters and players stay and eat and watch seniors. No excuses, I will address to the guys. Thanks.

A couple of games that could go ether way here with the top of the table clash surprisingly featuring teams that both failed to salute last week.
And yes, we have the classic 8-pointer game as well !

Manningham vs Northern Blues
Box Hill North vs West Brunswick
Dragons vs Point Cook
Mt Lilydale vs North Brunswick
Hawthorn vs Eley Park

Wow, has everyone abandoned this thread ?

Box Hill North vs Mt Lilydale
Dragons vs Chadstone
West Brunswick vs Manningham
Hawthorn vs North Brunswick
Northern Blues vs Point Cook

Results from the weekend as expected. Just over midway through the season - where does everyone see the rest of the year playing out? Forum has gone particularly quiet. THere was a lot of Dragon bashing early but i think the bashers have disappeared. Why don't we do a quick pole for the best canteen???? I like Chadstone's. Always been pretty good. I think the Dragons do ok for their lack of facilities. Only disappointment is lack of a stubby after the game.

Hi.
New here.

Just curious to know about finals for 2013.
Can someone point me in the direction or explain, if they know, how the finals will work this year.
Can't seem to find any info on the VAFA website and 2013 finals series.
Top 4? Top 5? Dates?

Hi.
New here.

Just curious to know about finals for 2013.
Can someone point me in the direction or explain, if they know, how the finals will work this year.
Can't seem to find any info on the VAFA website and 2013 finals series.
Top 4? Top 5? Dates?

It's a pretty stupid finals system, especially for Div 4.
It's a final 6 with the first week of finals having 1 v 6, 2 v 5, 3 v 4.
Lowest 2 losers go out. Assuming 1, 2 and 3 win, 1 plays 4, 2 plays 3 for a spot in the granny.

It's a pretty stupid finals system, especially for Div 4.
It's a final 6 with the first week of finals having 1 v 6, 2 v 5, 3 v 4.
Lowest 2 losers go out. Assuming 1, 2 and 3 win, 1 plays 4, 2 plays 3 for a spot in the granny.

Seems like a pretty stupid finals system, you would think that they would give the top 2 sides the week off if they were going to go with a top 6? Speaking of, does anyone think the final 6 is going to change too much? Will the blues and Dragons keep there spots or will the Bulls sneak in? West Brunswick v Eley Park next week is a huge game with that almost sewing up a top 2 position for the winner.

With the current top four sides all appearing safe for a finals berth, the game out at Ruthven Reserve could go a long way to seeing if these two teams can get the break and establish a finals spot.

Manningham vs Hawthorn
Mt Lilydale vs West Brunswick
Northern Blues vs Dragons
Point Cook vs Box Hill North
Eley Park vs Chadstone

Wow, how %#@! of a club are the dragons? all this spruiking at the start of the year and now have a look at them. Can someone tell me one good thing about this club??? The worst ground(s) to play on in div 4, poor canteen, not showing up in opposition rooms after games, thugs on the ground, thugs on the sidelines. Show how poor a standard the SFL must be if this club could win a Flag. To kangbangpow, and bentliegh and anyone else who said they would go straight up (and up another grade next year), you are all a bunch of gooses. Nice to see the other new club Northern Blues show a bit more respect to this league. And the best part is they will take your spot in the finals. The dragons football Club. Watching the 2013 Vafa finals from the sidelines. HAHAHAHAHA

Wow, aren't we a judgemental bunch. Why do people walk around thinking they're king d*** and look down on other people? Thugs? Has it crossed anyone's mind WHY the Dragons react the way they do? Does everything think the Dragons are out there to cause trouble on purpose? I would assume no player would act out on the ground unless there is a reason to be. Even so, if there is a reason, I understand players need to control themselves, need discipline, but don't tell me there is no other club out there that doesn't react that way when their team mates are being verbally abused or thrown cheap shots at. Tell me that other clubs out there just ignore all the crap that's going on and play happily with a smile on their face. Tell me that other players can get cheap shots like a knock to the head or a knee to the back, and get back up and shake the opponents hand and say "all good mate". In a contact sport like this with testosterone and adrenaline everywhere I highly doubt it. Don't be so quick to judge.

Look, I'm the Dragon club president, and I will not be on this forum and let it all fly, but your spray at our football club is unfounded. First of all, I will assume that your club president has not informed you the situation with our home ground, because we certainly have informed every president. The Kingston council has resurfaced our playing ground over summer and this season they have promised us week in week out it will be ready, this caused us to change home game venue almost always just before the Saturday home game, which in turn effected everything, from canteen (no facility at Namajira) to alcohol (no license at Namajira), to no club rooms, and shitty facility.

Your remark on what's good about the Dragons is ridiculous, since our start, we have introduced Australian Football to over 100 young men who have never played footy before, their families and friends started to take an interest. Over this time, we continued our efforts to promote cultural diversity, footy and mateship, all with limited volunteers, all admin staff are players too, coming from our diverse cultural background, we have a battle getting our parents and spouse to the ground let along ask them to run the canteen or scoreboard. Do you get that? I doubt it.

That's all I'm going to say, I will defend my club everytime. You have a good look around how hard it is to keep your club running, and you may just appreciate it a bit more. Dragons will rise!

That's all I'm going to say, I will defend my club everytime. You have a good look around how hard it is to keep your club running, and you may just appreciate it a bit more. Dragons will raise!

JP - from someone who has been involved in club administration, hats off to you & your boys who keep the club running.

If anyone is involved in a club that is made up of angels I haven't come across them yet. (And don't want to.)

Not sure whether you’re on here to provoke us (like countless trolls in the past), or whether you actually believe your own shit. Either way, you’ve announced to the world that you’re an absolute flog!

Not sure who PeaceBrother is, a bit too hunkydory for my liking, but he does have a point. Not sure about you, but if one of my clubmen is hit behind play (or even two instances this year where our key forward had his neck broken & hasn't played since, and when our former captain was taken to hospital suffering spinal nerve damage), then I’d certainly expect my mates to fly the flag. The funny thing is that in neither instance did umpires report the offending opposition player, but only Dragons upon retaliation. And then they in turn file a report against our crowd for ‘abuse’?!! It also doesn’t help when we overhear umpires (one of whom regularly umpires our games) laughing to each other saying “Let’s f* em up”.

No excuses, we have been beaten by far better sides this year (and hats off to the professionalism of EP, West Bruns, Hawthorn), but to compare our 2013 personnel / injury-ravaged team to our premiership team of 2011 is bloody disrespectful.

It’s unfortunate that you’ve received a decent response based on your trolling, but JP and I thought it would be good to set the record straight to others on this public forum, because we have respect for everyone here – apart from flogs like you.

Time to come back to the SFL sainterrr? Can't say that the Dragons were ever treated like this in Div 2 :)

Cheers Fish, but we're largely fine with our decision to move to the VAFA. We're probably more aligned with VAFA in terms of our club resources and how we're structured, but it is unfortunate we have experienced a few small hiccups in our first year. We'll be all better for it next year. On the whole though, we've appreciated the support of most other clubs (similar to the SFL), bar a few which are pretty obvious to all.

Good luck for the rest of the year chief.

Cheers Fish, but we're largely fine with our decision to move to the VAFA. We're probably more aligned with VAFA in terms of our club resources and how we're structured, but it is unfortunate we have experienced a few small hiccups in our first year. We'll be all better for it next year. On the whole though, we've appreciated the support of most other clubs (similar to the SFL), bar a few which are pretty obvious to all.

Good luck for the rest of the year chief.
Care to name the dissapointing clubs in your eyes?

We’ve spoken, and will speak, to said clubs in private. No point airing dirty laundry on a public forum such as this. Likewise, if any other clubs have issues with us, then feel free to hit up JP or myself directly. Don’t be a pussy by hiding behind BigFooty; you just simply make you & your associated club look piss weak.