Dane Swan

I'm baffled by this thread. I thought Swan was one of few players that worked on friday night. Can't do it all on his own. We have much MUCH bigger problems than Swan ffs. Makes us look like a pathetic bunch of whining supporters.

I am not baffled by this thread and it is not his play that worries it,s his attitude the people who see nothing wrong with him really need to look a lot closer,one of the mod,s was right when he said when you have decided in your own mind you are going to retire are you really giving your all.

We know he can get the ball he always has but as one of the posters said you have to expect better from your experienced players and he is providing no leadership whatsoever and if you don,t believe it just watch him,both he and Thomas are doing their own thing.

Both Swan and Thomas are better players than Luke Ball but we will miss Bally a lot more for the leadership he provides and deny that if you can.

Can't believe this thread Dane swan wins a brownlow and you simply now say that he is not trying watch the second quarter and see how he runs up and down assisting the back line boys even last week he grabbed a couple of marks in the back line. The mention of tarts is ridiculous half the players in the afl have them. Saw this thread a few weeks ago can't believe it is still going, I assure you he is not thinking about possessions he wants another grand final especially for his mate tarrant. You obviously know what he is thinking you obviously don't like the guy so back off he played better than the first game each game his getting better if he doesn't carve up port Adelaide like he has done in the past or doesn't try and chase then comment, he is not simply interested in possessions he likes to win.

I couldn't care less if he got 50 possessions the way he has turned it over this year. Like many have said on here we know he can get the ball alot but look at some of his efforts not the amount of times he gets his hands on the ball. He hasn't been chasing , no tackling and just lets his opponent run around by himself in acres of space.

Yes he won a Brownlow but doesn't excuse some of the poor efforts he has shown in the first three matches.

I couldn't care less if he got 50 possessions the way he has turned it over this year. Like many have said on here we know he can get the ball alot but look at some of his efforts not the amount of times he gets his hands on the ball. He hasn't been chasing , no tackling and just lets his opponent run around by himself in acres of space.

Yes he won a Brownlow but doesn't excuse some of the poor efforts he has shown in the first three matches.

I honestly can't believe some people are still defending him. Have a look at him give up the handball to Garlett, who runs a hundred metres and kicks a goal. Dawes and Clarke chase. Swan just trots along behind them despite being one of the only guys quick enough on the team to have a hope of catching him...and it was his horrible turnover. But there are way more ordinary efforts. He runs through the contest and tries to take the ball with him and trying to avoid any body contact. I do not hate the guy at all. I used to love him and he was close to my favorite player, but this drop off, this lack of commitment is glaringly obvious for all but the people who refuse to see it.

I absolutely agree mate.

It seems as though because he has won a Brownlow and three Copelands he gets a free ride and can do whatever he wants on the field. That's bullcrap imo. Like you I love Dane Swan and the way he plays. But this season it's not the Dane we've come to love and watch play footy. There's something amiss about him. What it is I got no clue. He could easily come out against Port and do what he has done the previous 4-5 years. But if he doesn't questions have gotta be asked.

Sorry Pauly but you're being purposely obtuse right now.

Dane Swan has had the biggest form drop I've ever seen on a top player, let alone a brownlow medallist.

He's playing selfish, soft and unaccountable football, and anyone who sees otherwise isn't actually watching our games. Unless its through beer goggles.

Swan, Jolly, O'Brien and Dawes all need a massive kick in the ass. The last time I saw a ruckman out marked by a far smaller player was when Josh was out marked by Peter Bell. Jolly not taking that grab on Simpson was one of the more embarrassing moments, if not THE most embarrassing moment in Jolly's short career at Collingwood.

Dane Swan is playing rubbish footy, I don't know how a player can change so quick. He looks disinterested and his kicking has got a lot worse. I hate when players get treated well based on achievements. If he has two more terrible games then drop him.

The last time I saw a ruckman out marked by a far smaller player was when Josh was out marked by Peter Bell. Jolly not taking that grab on Simpson was one of the more embarrassing moments, if not THE most embarrassing moment in Jolly's short career at Collingwood.

:eek:I blushed just recalling the Fraser/Bell marking contest!:eek:

seems like everyone wants him to have 30 first class possessions and kick 2 goals a game without blinking.

I don't know what's going on with him, but if he does bounce back its going to be huge. If he doesn't, then it might be him just gliding through. But, we'll just see.

No one would be more embarrassed of their performances than the players themselves, so lets not get up on our high horse about it.

Disposal is pretty crap all round the competition at the moment as well. Carlton were superb and had almost no pressure put on them when carrying the ball, meaning that their disposal and delivery was great. However, we are fighting for every possession and struggling to find a target, let alone kick accurately to it.
Dane likes to kick, and his handball numbers are up, which indicates that theres something not quite right

Funny that Dane is one of the players rumoured to not be happy with Bucks, yet Mick has just taken a shot at him.

lol. Nice Dane, nice.

Bucks isn't there to make friends, time a few of the players got that through their heads, if they don't like it, leave.

Where has all the love gone.
Carlton came out very hungry, Swannie tried all night, sure mistakes were made but if we had that effort from another 10 players maybe the result may have been different.
Three games in, at least 6 senior players unavailable, some underdone, stop eating owu own.

Funny that Dane is one of the players rumoured to not be happy with Bucks, yet Mick has just taken a shot at him.

lol. Nice Dane, nice.

Rumour started by WAYNE CAREY.

Enough said.:thumbsdown:

Yeah, what poor old Wayne needs to remember is why are the players signning on for another 2,3,4 years? Swanny knew Bucks was going to be coach last year when he signed, if he doesn't like Bucks then why the hell did he sign? Goes for the others.

Well Bucks likes his players to train hard and flogs them and Swan just likes to take it easy at training that's actually the reason I heard. If its actually true then Swan be dropped. It's a professional sport and if you are gonna sook over that then you need to grow up and harden up.

I actually just commented in the Injury thread about if the players are on heavy training loads in the early part on the season. Bucks and Swanny never hit it off in the early days of Swnny being there, but why did he sign on agin knowing Bucks was going to be the coach and knowing how Bucks trained. He's not going to change dhis style for one player.

It has been said a few times that Swan isn't the best at training but when it comes to game time he steps up. If he is having a sook because he has to train hard (which i doubt) then he shouldn't be playing.

Bucks isn't there to make friends, time a few of the players got that through their heads, if they don't like it, leave.

Yep. Bucks has a chance to really stamp himself. Dropping Swan and Harry O a la Dal Santo at the Saints would be a good way to start.

Rumour started by WAYNE CAREY.

Enough said.:thumbsdown:

Actually I mentioned the rumour Carey spoke about word for word long before Carey mentioned it. Don' tforget, a lot of these 'journos' read BigFooty. Including Eddie himself.

Either that, or Carey still speaks to people at the club because the person I got the rumour from is the relative of a fringe player at Collingwood.

Yep. Bucks has a chance to really stamp himself. Dropping Swan and Harry O a la Dal Santo at the Saints would be a good way to start.

And who would we bring in? Which player in the ressies is ripping it up and deserves to be in the side before Harry?

Actually I mentioned the rumour Carey spoke about word for word long before Carey mentioned it. Don' tforget, a lot of these 'journos' read BigFooty. Including Eddie himself.

Either that, or Carey still speaks to people at the club because the person I got the rumour from is the relative of a fringe player at Collingwood.

Bully for you.

And who would we bring in? Which player in the ressies is ripping it up and deserves to be in the side before Harry?

Bully for you.

You miss the point, dropping a star player puts the whole team on notice, yes it will probably hurt us for the one game, but the benifits could far outweigh that long term, Swan needs to do more than get 30 touches, he's a senior player in a young team, when the young players see him jogging around like he doesn't give 2 ****s it rubbs off, i know Swanny has a laconic way about him naturally, but i've noticed it a hell of a lot more this year, just IMO.

I get the feeling that doubt has invaded Swan's mindset. There's a psychological component to high performance, and it seems that Dane Swan (& Pendlebury) are playing without the same blind faith in their ability to win.

In Swan's case many supporters are misinterpeting this doubt to be a "don't care" attitude IMHO.

I don't see the point of not playing your best team, especially when we are crippled by injury.

I didn't suggest we drop anyone yet, but if things don't improve over the next few weeks we may have too, personally i would give Jolly one more chance, and would be having a serious to chat to Dane about his passion for the game, i would also be having a chat to Daisy.

Dane Swan