News Dani (Dean) Laidley arrested in St. Kilda - "spared a conviction and placed on an 18-month adjourned undertaking"

yep let’s take a culture like the Japanese and use it.

suicide the leading cause of death for males between 20-44, women between 15-34.

It literally borders on a crisis level. There’s a high level of individuals who if they lose their job commit suicide, after that there is a notion that some individuals end their lives once they retire. Their whole work life balance is completely flawed and revolves around them providing for family and feeling inadequate if they don’t.

In terms of utilising a specific culture and their ability to handle mental health issues - the Japanese are probably the last you would use!

Japan is an odd one in terms of suicide though, culturally it's a lot more... Accepted?
It's been a long time since I've done any reading/research on Japanese culture, but from memory it's attitude to shame (both self shame and shaming of others) and suicide run very counter to our own values in many ways. There are also circumstances where they see suicide as the desired outcome, and I don't mean in terms of euthanasia.

None of this is really on topic though. Kind of just wanted to say that I don't think KC was necessarily wrong about about how perhaps the western mindset is often a bit too inwardly focused and that we can potentially look at practices from other countries and cultures to address that, but I also wanted to point out that Japan is really a very strange place on top of the two aspects mentioned (work culture and suicide), and I mean that overall in a nice way, there are a lot of desirables and things I appreciate from their culture. The number of cultural differences do make it hard to attribute differences in suicide rates to single variables, though I certainly recognize and agree with you that their work culture is a driver of suicide there.

More on topic though, other than news regarding the photos taken, it will probably be fairly quiet in regards to JYD for the next few days, his first court hearing won't be until the 11th. Can't help but wonder if we might hear about more police officers being suspended beyond the second one. I believe it was 6 which were in the group chat, have to wonder how many forwarded the pictures on or anything.

Japan is an odd one in terms of suicide though, culturally it's a lot more... Accepted?
It's been a long time since I've done any reading/research on Japanese culture, but from memory it's attitude to shame (both self shame and shaming of others) and suicide run very counter to our own values in many ways. There are also circumstances where they see suicide as the desired outcome, and I don't mean in terms of euthanasia.

None of this is really on topic though. Kind of just wanted to say that I don't think KC was necessarily wrong about about how perhaps the western mindset is often a bit too inwardly focused and that we can potentially look at practices from other countries and cultures to address that, but I also wanted to point out that Japan is really a very strange place on top of the two aspects mentioned (work culture and suicide), and I mean that overall in a nice way, there are a lot of desirables and things I appreciate from their culture. The number of cultural differences do make it hard to attribute differences in suicide rates to single variables, though I certainly recognize and agree with you that their work culture is a driver of suicide there.

More on topic though, other than news regarding the photos taken, it will probably be fairly quiet in regards to JYD for the next few days, his first court hearing won't be until the 11th. Can't help but wonder if we might hear about more police officers being suspended beyond the second one. I believe it was 6 which were in the group chat, have to wonder how many forwarded the pictures on or anything.

You expressed it much better than me, thank you.

I should have zeroed in on comparing respective psychological approaches (quieting the mind vs long term self-analysis) rather than citing cultures or individuals as that distracted the intent.

A few posters took it and ran with it in the other direction as if it was an endorsement of the entire Japanese culture (long bow but my fault, I left it open for that interpretation) or worse, a premise that men are soft for going through therapy (that was their own straw man as I never suggested that).

Burke

Fascinating story. The damn missed moments of time
I thought it was and then changed because of Bourke St.

I'm currently reading the biography of Edward Eyre, who went North from Adelaide in 1839/40, found nothing and then took his team west to Albany instead. Horrific journey in some parts.

suicide the leading cause of death for males between 20-44, women between 15-34.

It literally borders on a crisis level. There’s a high level of individuals who if they lose their job commit suicide, after that there is a notion that some individuals end their lives once they retire. Their whole work life balance is completely flawed and revolves around them providing for family and feeling inadequate if they don’t.

In terms of utilising a specific culture and their ability to handle mental health issues - the Japanese are probably the last you would use!
You couldn't better define Australian society for men than that.

Guys like Schwass talk about men opening up, but unfortunately it's just talk. The reality is that it's still totally unacceptable in our society and that is why the suicide rate continues to be high.

I disagree a lot with this. I reckon I've got 2 close mates alive today because they got the message that it's ok to talk.

Took a while to sink in, but it's because of people like Schwatta, events like Movember and organisations like Beyond Blue that the message is getting out there.

I'm sorry if it's you or a close friend you are referring to LFB, but I promise the acceptance is out there mate.

I disagree a lot with this. I reckon I've got 2 close mates alive today because they got the message that it's ok to talk.

Took a while to sink in, but it's because of people like Schwatta, events like Movember and organisations like Beyond Blue that the message is getting out there.

I'm sorry if it's you or a close friend you are referring to LFB, but I promise the acceptance is out there mate.
Yep I concur. Ive been part of a couple of interventions at the request of the wives of some close friends .
Just grabbed these guys and sat round with some other mates and just asked them what was going on.
The look of relief in their faces to get it off their chests and the knowledge that we would still be their friend no matter what was priceless.

Dont think my mates and I would have done that back in the 80's or 90's

The ADF is totally the opposite of what you describe society to be.

We finally recognised that not all injuries are visible. The loss of a soldier due to mental illness (esp. suicide) is a loss of capability, no different than if they had stepped on an IED.

Get them help, and 99% of the time they overcome the problem and return to work. In my organisation, you would have a very short career as a commander at any level if you don't take this non-judgementally and seriously.

Yeah I have a mate who says now that he's still alive because one of his closest high school friends literally asked ARE YOU OK on RUOK Day and he said he wasn't.

Well suicide is also culturally different in japan (as is job loss) rooted in feudal society and bushido. Traditionally a job is a job for life, and so job loss has different significance than in our society,,,by no means am I an academic expert on Japanese history and culture, but having shared over half my life with a japanese other half; have come to deeply respect their culture and ways of thinking and conducting themselves, which is still very different to typical western ways prevalent in our society.

Christ, all I am claiming is that every time I see the bloke he is talking about mental illness and little else.
Bullshit, you said he was so obsessed it concerned you.

Or maybe you just exaggerate every time you post. Which actually makes sense considering what a narcissist you are.

The ADF is totally the opposite of what you describe society to be.

We finally recognised that not all injuries are visible. The loss of a soldier due to mental illness (esp. suicide) is a loss of capability, no different than if they had stepped on an IED.

Get them help, and 99% of the time they overcome the problem and return to work. In my organisation, you would have a very short career as a commander at any level if you don't take this non-judgementally and seriously.

Is it the Brits who now ensure nobody goes straight home from theatre, and instead send them somewhere like Cyprus for a fortnight to try and deal with any mental health issues that have arisen from the tour.

News Dani (Dean) Laidley arrested in St. Kilda - "spared a conviction and placed on an 18-month adjourned undertaking"