FTA-TV Dark - Netflix

Very frustrating that I'm so late to this. Just finished s1 so went for a bit of a Google dive but ended up with all sorts of family trees that were done after s3. I was hoping for a bit of clarity and now I'm spoilered (even if I don't understand the spoilers!)

So good but. My algo is going to be wrecked, I reckon the last 4 series I've watched have all been subtitled.

Very frustrating that I'm so late to this. Just finished s1 so went for a bit of a Google dive but ended up with all sorts of family trees that were done after s3. I was hoping for a bit of clarity and now I'm spoilered (even if I don't understand the spoilers!)

So good but. My algo is going to be wrecked, I reckon the last 4 series I've watched have all been subtitled.

I used this family tree. It mostly just covers S1 and doesn't give spoilers for S3

Finished just now, Masterpiece, GOAT show contender without doubt.

Mesmerising convoluted but always poignant throughout and with an ending everyone will understand it's simply brillant.

The entire team involved in making this series did justice to time travel.

Amen to that. The best TV show since, I don't know when. Should win awards by the bucketful if there is any justice. The level of detail that went into it, the soundtrack, the casting...

Lots of charming little details,too, like I loved that Woller's eye turned out to be a big fat McGuffin!

The penultimate episode is a thing of marvel.

The origin world is a bit of a deus ex machina, but I'm cool with it because of who it hinges on. The Jonas Martha arc is all-time great.

Outstanding piece of television, and probably Netflix's best original programming. Between this and Babylon Berlin I hope we get more German series, hopefully with some familiar faces.

Yes, an ep or so into S3, and I was thinking (like many, I suspect), is this further complication really necessary? But in the end, quite justified.

Outstanding indeed.

My wife and I finished it last night.

Love S1 and S2. Watching the majority of season 3 we thought it seemed too convoluted. To the point that the season wasn't as enjoyable because every single scene needed to be dissected and analysed to the nth degree to understand what the heck was going on.

Considering how many threads the story line had, they nailed the ending and wrapped up all of the arcs quite perfectly. It was very enjoyable watching it all come together. It's definitely on the recommend list.

I imagine a second viewing of the three seasons would clearly reveal the brilliance of the whole story.

Also side note - If you liked this show I would recommend the show 'Counterpart' with J.K Simmons. While it's a different tone of show it shares quite a few similarities.

Absolutely brilliant. It’s hard to believe that someone could write something so complicated and so brilliant.

I can’t even begin to imagine the story board on the writer’s wall.

Like the poster above, I did feel a bit bogged down in the middle 3 episodes (4-6) and needed to read re-caps etc to understand what was going on. That’s probably my failing though.

The last 2 episodes are just pure perfection. The writers just pulled all the threads together brilliantly. The feels in that last episode rivalled those of The Leftovers finale. Beautiful and heart breaking at the same time.

This series to me is one of my favourites of all time. I know it’s not for everyone but it’s brilliance deserves a much bigger audience.

Absolutely brilliant. It’s hard to believe that someone could write something so complicated and so brilliant.

I can’t even begin to imagine the story board on the writer’s wall.

tumblr_o16n2kBlpX1ta3qyvo1_1280.jpg

I thought it was ok.
Loved:
The soundtrack, Ben Frost's original score especially.
Hannah's ****
The redhead was cute.
Seasons one and two.
Some clever writing, ie: the way the show would tell you that something would happen, and then you would see it happening and it would still be interesting even though you knew it was coming.

Didn't love:
Season 3. Felt a little rushed. I would have liked to have seen some characters fleshed out a little more, and the cover of "Wonderful World" in the final scene made me cringe hard. I hated both Jonas and Martha by the end and wanted them to die a horrible death.
Some iffy writing ie: I don't buy the idea that Jonas couldn't commit suicide because Adam existed, that's just bullshit, and I couldn't figure out how the bunker with the time machine that burned kids eyes out was conceived when Jonas' time machine was created in 1920.

Would still recommend, I like Counterpart and Stranger Things better.

Also side note - If you liked this show I would recommend the show 'Counterpart' with J.K Simmons. While it's a different tone of show it shares quite a few similarities.
Yes, Counterpart is very good show and has similarities to Dark, although there you know from the start that there are two simultaneous worlds and it's reasonably straightforward to follow the duplicated characters. In fact it's easy compared to Dark!

Dark is probably the most convoluted show ever screened.

He could've killed himself but he didn't, that's why Adam existed.
Didn't Little Noah say he couldn't die? Then he tries to shoot him with a gun but it jams and Little Noah says the gun jammed because Adam is alive.

Also, another question or two for everyone:
1. Claudia. Gets shot by Noah, then "breaks the cycle" to tell Adam to go to the origin world and tell person not to invent time travel..? How. She's dead isn't she. Or is there an unlimited amount of Claudias because time travel?
2. Did anyone else say the word "PARADISO!" heaps of times after the finale, I did. PARADISO!
3. Jonas. Sees Adam kill Martha and then gets angry because Adam kills Martha and decides he doesn't want to become Adam because he doesn't want to shoot Martha. So there's about a million things he could do to avoid becoming Adam, but then decides to start his own sect/church/whatever it is called "SIC MUNDOS" because that's exactly what the Adam he didn't want to become didn't do :drunk:

Didn't Little Noah say he couldn't die? Then he tries to shoot him with a gun but it jams and Little Noah says the gun jammed because Adam is alive.
If the gun doesn't jam and Jonas dies Adam wouldn't become reality, what we see is what happened, the gun jamming isn't magic, that's how it always happened.

"It's how it always happened"... Sweet!

Makes me wonder why the characters keep telling their younger selves to follow the same path as they (the older selves) did. No need to get "the pieces are in the right order", because once it's happened once it would always happen again.

Ripper!

Finished it last night. Probably the best dubbed program I've ever watched. Really well done.

Pretty satisfying ending. Glad they didn't go for a 4th season.

Most disappointing thing was not hearing what happened to that bloke's eye. I did laugh though when you first see him in the other world and just as you're thinking oh good for him he has both eyes in this reality the camera pans out to show him missing an arm. 🤣

I just finished it and against the trend, I found this season to be a real grind. So many scenes of characters standing around explaining concepts to each other, just totally lacked the atmosphere of the previous two seasons.

BUT it did finally start to pick up from ep 6, that penultimate episode was brilliant the way it jumped around, and the finale they just absolutely nailed. Wow.

What a wonderful world made me cringe too tho lol.

If I'm understanding you correctly it wasn't his kid. It was him. His child, adult and geriatric selfs.
According to the family tree he fathers a child (Tronte). His existence was irrelevant anyway, right? Even though they thought all along that he needed to be prevented from being born.

ebu87rnhyt951.jpg

According to the family tree he fathers a child (Tronte). His existence was irrelevant anyway, right? Even though they thought all along that he needed to be prevented from being born.

ebu87rnhyt951.jpg
Okay that's weird. I haven't seen this diagram before. I don't recall him ever being named as Tronte's father but I could easily have missed it. Not sure what the point would be though..

FTA-TV Dark - Netflix