• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Darwin Football Association Part 2

Towna has won a truckload of club Band Fs and a Darwin one as well and is hard at it allright, tha above names were great players for sure, add Sheep Smith although really a Natone LeGEND, Johny Potts,Noel Murray, Ado Dolting, a century goalkicker in Trent McCulloch and of couse Gaza Young and Troy Pile

troy pile would have to be the softest player getting around, plays reserves football and c grade cricket in order to stand out and make a hero out of himself!

Mate come on? You serious? Im sure Robbie Lavell and Michael Hayes would be up there with Souths all time greats? What about Colin Loring? Easily one of Burnies best footballers of ALL time and he coached South for 3 years and won DFA BF? Dick Townsend wouldn't be allowed to clean Colins boots mate! Terrible post.....
3 premierships, 6 club B&F's, 1 league B&F, 300+ games for the Brown and gold, Former club captain, Coached on more than 1 accasion. I think Richard Townsend has done and acheived more at the south burnie footy club than Colin Loring!

Mate come on? You serious? Im sure Robbie Lavell and Michael Hayes would be up there with Souths all time greats? What about Colin Loring? Easily one of Burnies best footballers of ALL time and he coached South for 3 years and won DFA BF? Dick Townsend wouldn't be allowed to clean Colins boots mate! Terrible post.....

why doesnt simon mummery, gary quirk, ray peters, gavin field and matthew imms get a mention in souths greats. come on guys look past the flair and take a look at the stars underneath

I know some ppl at cuprona not a bad bunch of blokes but i think they have spoken far to soon!!!! compare these players to natones top 10
Tim baldock, very skillful and good goal kicker
Milo jones and moppa Rawnsley absolute guns
Martin Cooke and James Triffet most under rated big men in the comp
Brad milhouse ben carpenter and Josh Keep very consistent players.
Jery Bacon and Stuart Rattray good players but over rated.
These are current players at Natone now add
bJ miller Ben and Max Fisher Mitch Oliver and matty Gardner:thumbsu:
hope i haven't spoken to soon either. but go the magpies

why isnt shane smith on your list. the boy puts in a team effort over the bar where the men are sorted from the boys

Looks like it might be a long season for Queenstown.
The roo boys sure need to learn how to play footy. The saints sure gave them a lesson again today. Poor old chalky should have hung up the boots. He looked very ordinary today so sure got the yap taken out off him today. The saints sure turned it on in the 3rd quarter the same as they did in the grand final against to roos.

toolshiner is gold! i'l use it myself! I do believe that even dick townsend would tell you himself how good loring was though. Loring probably should never of even played dfa to be honest.
Off the subject now, flogging a dead horse.
How good was it to see Collingwood get done in front of 90k today! I wet myself! The only down side to it was that medhurst never broke a leg f#!k it!

well the season finally got underway earlier today guys, the winners being south by a country mile,the sainters by a fair old wack considering the opposition, the demons by 7 goals and yes ladies and gents the team we have been waiting for-those mighty magpies won by 38 over the old french kisses(yeoman that is)

No real surprises here, although i thought the game between ridgley and sset would be closer, and i thought that yolla would possibly beat cuprona by more than 7 goals.
Moppa rawnsley was simply awesome tday in leading the maggies to a win, the docker boys in fisher and miller were very good also, in saying that frenchie should be happy with how his youngsters went too as they were up against a side that is hopefully heading towards a top three spot come seasons end.:thumbsu:
Those orrible hawkers and saints are clearly the top two sides to beat tho,with the maggies,roos and demons the comp for 3rd 4th and 5th positions.

yeoman look to be a step above where cuprona and queeny are at i think so they look to be the best team outside of the top five.

I noticed an earlier post on here asking me for my comments on two natone boys harris & townsend and what i thought of their abilities and them leaving natone for cuprona.
Well as for townsend, personally i was sad to hear that he left for greener pastures because he had been a reasonable player for us over the past cple years,but good luck to him down the road at heybridge-personally i have my doubts if chipper would have played him in the ones this year anyway, as for harris, well he has a lot of potential but i persoanlly never seen much of it with us because im not even sure if he trained with us and was suspended before he ever really got going last year lol:D
Both would ve been likely twos players at maggie land this year so they in some ways might be better off at cuprona playn senior footy.
As for cuprona-good to see that godogs talking up of cuprona has been safely laid to rest now that the first game is outa the way lol :D, the dangerous midfield of braslin,riley,brown,ellis,harris,kaine and townsend was surely overwhelmed by the even more potent demon midfielders today in their 7 goal loss,hahahahahhahaha
Now to be fair i should state that apparently the bulldogs were only 3 goals down at 3/4 time, so their efforts possibly werent too bad.
you never know they might even avoid the wooden spoon by finishing second last above queeny lol.

I went to watch Ridgley play yesterday, very impressive. Has anybody seen their forward line? Fellows, Mouse and Willcox although Wilcox doesn't get a look in with Fellows and Mouse. Their midfield is fantastic but it IS starting to age and has never been exactly pacy, this may be exposed after the loss of the Braslins. Somerset was very average I must say though, skills were not on at all, but they are quicker than Ridgley bar Chalky. If Somerset can get their skills up then they should go well again. As a side note even though Ridgley is starting to age they have a fair few kids playing in the twos, hopefully Desi can do his job and develope some good players out of them. Somerset twos are pretty sharp, why is N. House number 41 playing reserves though?? He was a gun.

I noticed an earlier post on here asking me for my comments on two natone boys harris & townsend and what i thought of their abilities and them leaving natone for cuprona.
Well as for townsend, personally i was sad to hear that he left for greener pastures because he had been a reasonable player for us over the past cple years,but good luck to him down the road at heybridge-personally i have my doubts if chipper would have played him in the ones this year anyway, as for harris, well he has a lot of potential but i persoanlly never seen much of it with us because im not even sure if he trained with us and was suspended before he ever really got going last year lol:D
Both would ve been likely twos players at maggie land this year so they in some ways might be better off at cuprona playn senior footy.
As for cuprona-good to see that godogs talking up of cuprona has been safely laid to rest now that the first game is outa the way lol :D, the dangerous midfield of braslin,riley,brown,ellis,harris,kaine and townsend was surely overwhelmed by the even more potent demon midfielders today in their 7 goal loss,hahahahahhahaha
Now to be fair i should state that apparently the bulldogs were only 3 goals down at 3/4 time, so their efforts possibly werent too bad.
you never know they might even avoid the wooden spoon by finishing second last above queeny lol.

arrow, top 3 spot hey!, with the amount of big gun players and no doubt the cash splashed round you would be very dissapointed if that wasn't the case , mind you though the last few years natone has promised the world , but no finals action!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, can't wait till ya get a reality check against ridgley and south, no impact in the finals this year and the club will go into recievership and duffy will be coaching penguin high school!!!!!!!

I didnt actually go along saturday but very dissapointed when i saw the result today maybe i did speak too soon:rolleyes: did anybody watch this game if so can they fill me in?

Looks like it might be a long season for Queenstown.
The roo boys sure need to learn how to play footy. The saints sure gave them a lesson again today. Poor old chalky should have hung up the boots. He looked very ordinary today so sure got the yap taken out off him today. The saints sure turned it on in the 3rd quarter the same as they did in the grand final against to roos.
I was there and Chalky was humble as always, he has great respect Ridgley and was not yapping only at Clayden whom most of his teamates do not like either.Chalky carriedan injury in and wanted to come off as they were 10 goals down anyway, kiked 85 last year and was on the best defender in the league in Azza on Saturday and was not helped by poor delivert either.Ridgley will be better than last year with their inclusions, Cooper, Franmcombe, Kurt no 3 Young, Temby, Adam Walker and Fellows.Our boys will improve and bridge the gap to some degree, they beat us by 95 first round last year

C'mon Moocher, Chalky was slower than slow out there on Saturday. From the sidelines he looked like the only time he got excited was when they were going off at half time.
And as for Azza, I don't think there will be many players kicking goals on him this year!

C'mon Moocher, Chalky was slower than slow out there on Saturday. From the sidelines he looked like the only time he got excited was when they were going off at half time.
And as for Azza, I don't think there will be many players kicking goals on him this year!
Yeah, he was pretty ordinary, I actually had to line him up with a light tower to see if he was moving.He probably thought it was full time at half time and was getting a sherbet- he will bounce back, loose in the backline to get a kick maybe !

I went to watch Ridgley play yesterday, very impressive. Has anybody seen their forward line? Fellows, Mouse and Willcox although Wilcox doesn't get a look in with Fellows and Mouse. Their midfield is fantastic but it IS starting to age and has never been exactly pacy, this may be exposed after the loss of the Braslins. Somerset was very average I must say though, skills were not on at all, but they are quicker than Ridgley bar Chalky. If Somerset can get their skills up then they should go well again. As a side note even though Ridgley is starting to age they have a fair few kids playing in the twos, hopefully Desi can do his job and develope some good players out of them. Somerset twos are pretty sharp, why is N. House number 41 playing reserves though?? He was a gun.
House actually won the B and F in the twos for the Darwin last year but has lost his licence and doesnt train much-will be considered this week I reckon along with Farrow and Lewtas and Budnick

arrow, top 3 spot hey!, with the amount of big gun players and no doubt the cash splashed round you would be very dissapointed if that wasn't the case , mind you though the last few years natone has promised the world , but no finals action!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, can't wait till ya get a reality check against ridgley and south, no impact in the finals this year and the club will go into recievership and duffy will be coaching penguin high school!!!!!!!

we will see old stag,yes the maggies under duffy this time around(07,08) have under performed massively considering the players recruited etc but this year things appear to have been done a bit smarter and we will be pushing the top teams this season buddy.
At least that is the promise that chipper and moppa have been firing out all summer with the recruitment of the well advertised docker boys,scooter dann,matty gardinier etc etc.
As for the club going into recievership-not a hope in the proverbial buddy,Natone with the backing of the locals will be around a lot longer than other local clubs, as for duffy,well if he doesnt pull of things this year his coaching career could be in trouble i admit that,because as stated above, no finals appearance under duffy the past couple years,so another failure would go down as well as your barn catching on fire and burning to the ground lol:D
CAR'N THE MAGGIES

i noticed at ridgley training tonight that desi wasn't there, i heard he got busted on saturday and ended up in hospital, is he badly injured????

Darwin Football Association Part 2