Davey

can we get him onto our rookie list for next year? (anyone know how the rookie list system works ala rookie drafting?)

Originally posted by danny rooboy
can we get him onto our rookie list for next year? (anyone know how the rookie list system works ala rookie drafting?)
yeah we could try to get him onto our rookie list, but by waiting until the rookie draft, all 15 other teams would have the opportunity to grab him. we will probably need a 3rd round pick in the national draft to pick him up.

Originally posted by danny rooboy

The rookie draft immediately follows the pre-season draft in December. Davey will be taken in the National draft in November for sure. He's got a few deficencies, which have become noticeable watching him on TV the last few weeks, but he'll go for sure,most likely third or fourth round, but Collingwood are reportedly keen and may even take him with their first pick which will be high teens.

Originally posted by ajackett110
Davey wants to be drafted to North ;)
it was interesting to hear him say that no club had spoken to him about being drafted yet. personally, i think thats a load of crap cos i believe 16 clubs would have had a word to him.

Re: Re: Davey

Originally posted by year of the roo
it was interesting to hear him say that no club had spoken to him about being drafted yet. personally, i think thats a load of crap cos i believe 16 clubs would have had a word to him.

Oh no I think that's probably about right. Plenty of time for clubs to talk to him prior to the draft. He'll most likely go to the draft camp and that's where he'll have all the interviews.

if collingwood are interested then its probly important how he played against williamstown today, any reports?

Originally posted by Petrie Dish
if collingwood are interested then its probly important how he played against williamstown today, any reports?

Just ok. Wouldn't have helped his chances of being drafted early on todays performance. Had some chances to kick vital goals but finished at 0.3 and one oof from my recollection. Apparently he starred against them early in the season and they were ready to jump all over him when he got the ball and,although his evasive skills and pace allowed him to set up some good play,they generally succeeded in nullifying his explosiveness. The guy on him (the other) David King ,though looking a bit overweight,actually had a bit of toe and was quite good. I think he should go 40+ on what I've seen as can spectate a bit and in the AFL pace alone won't work,drifts in and out so needs to build up his endurance. I doubt he could be anything other than an impact player off the bench at AFL level but at times will make you drool if he plays for you and tear your hair out if he doesn't. Definitely worth a shot.

Originally posted by Groucho
I doubt he could be anything other than an impact player off the bench at AFL level but at times will make you drool if he plays for you and tear your hair out if he doesn't. Definitely worth a shot.

haha sounds like another winnie abraham ;)

Abraham was very good for us. He was flashy at Freo, but he was very consistent with us - and people underestimate just how much defensive work he did in the forward line.

If either Davey or Davis end up at the Roos and work as hard as Abraham did for us, then we'll have a very good player on our hands.

Originally posted by Shinboners
Abraham was very good for us. He was flashy at Freo, but he was very consistent with us - and people underestimate just how much defensive work he did in the forward line.

If either Davey or Davis end up at the Roos and work as hard as Abraham did for us, then we'll have a very good player on our hands.

I agree with this. Watch that 98 season. Abraham had a ripper and he really added danger to our forward line. He was a real part of why we went on that ripper 11 game winning streak!

Originally posted by the fly
I'll never forget that hanger Winnie Abraham took in Canberra.

neither, i was sitting about 35 metres away on the flank and he managed to jump directly onto bredon lade's shoulders, incredible leaping ability

Originally posted by Shinboners

don't get me wrong i loved winnie, he had a fantastic first season for us, kicked about 45-50 goals or something, but he did seem to trail off a bit after that, injuries didn't help tho - if we could pick up a player with the impact of an abraham with a 3rd or 4th rounder i agree it'd be worthwhile

Haven't had the chance to watch Sunday's game yet, but i bet that their interest stems from the first game he played against them mid year.

I think it was his second senior game and certainly his first in Victoria. I remember it vividly because i came away more excited than i can remember being in a long time. He was dynamite that day. Completely broke the game open and did some freakish things and i was convinced i'd just seen the quickest bloke in the history of footy!

The way Dean put it when i asked him about Davey was that he's not sure he needs "another player who doesn't know how to get his own footy".

But geez, when you've a got a receiver who can move like this kid and use it, worth a punt dont ya reckon Dean?

he hasnt played afl yet so dont overrate him... he turn turn out to be another "flash in a pan" leon davis. im a fan of his so it will b interesting to see what happens with him in the draft

Originally posted by philthy
he hasnt played afl yet so dont overrate him... he turn turn out to be another "flash in a pan" leon davis. im a fan of his so it will b interesting to see what happens with him in the draft

No-one is overating him.

Most have reservations re his value at any pick in the draft.

I think we should, but only when Nifty Nev runs out of priorities from the TAC cup etc. IMO, he will be gone by the time we were willing to take the punt.

Re: Re: Re: Davey

Originally posted by Groucho
Oh no I think that's probably about right. Plenty of time for clubs to talk to him prior to the draft. He'll most likely go to the draft camp and that's where he'll have all the interviews.

You don't get an invite to draft camp unless five AFL clubs have expressed interest.

Davey