Universal Love David Teague

If Teague doesn't survive and we're going for experience, I'd have Buckley.
Only problem for Bucks is - does he want the stress and pressure of going from one currently dysfunctional, basket case club straight into another one? Probably not. Ditto Clarkson.
Williams for mine if he's interested. Voss or Leppitch snr. asst.

I can see him coaching GWS if he decides to go straight back into coaching.

objectively, Nathan Buckley is one of the most impressive footy brains potentially available.

the question is would he have us? I doubt it, I reckon he needs a year in the media to decompress and recharge.

I do. So much. But I have to get over that. I'm not giving away my team over a coach. Gonna hope he has learnt from past mistakes. I'm a believer that we can and do change our spots over time. Hated every minute Malthouse was coach. I'm determined to support whoever coaches us next as I have David. Also.
A lot more desperate now after so long in the desert.
So so thirsty.
We need water. We are withering on the vine.
Plus ...cheats being everything we were supposed to be
Great assistant coaches and I guess Rutten must be bloody great too.
Pretty much open to anything right now.

I think the bombers are in a purple patch.. Like we had I think I 2016.

They identified some talented players and have fast tracked them. Some will probably be out of the system in 3-5 years, some will flourish and some will be serviceable over the journey.

But their assistant coaches are vastly better credentialled than ours.

Caracella - Geelong 10-16 then Richmond until last year. Had fwd line responsibilities.
Giansiracusa - Bulldogs under Bevo - won a flag then coached a VFL side in his own right.

correct me if I'm wrong but at least 1 other bombres assistant has been a VFL senior coach.

One of the two above, or Adem Yze type or a Scott Burns/Michael Voss etc is who'd I like to look towards long term. A succession arrangement with a Ross Lyon etc would be fine. (Provided Ross was told to butt the **** out of recruitment/trading/drafting)

Would be Ross, his deflections on his views on coaching again and up-talking on our list on SEN, FootyClassified in recent days shows he's in the running in my books.

Our list is in a position that would be right for him. Plus it's more talented than the freo side he had.

Only problem for Bucks is - does he want the stress and pressure of going from one currently dysfunctional, basket case club straight into another one? Probably not. Ditto Clarkson.
Williams for mine if he's interested. Voss or Leppitch snr. asst.

I reckon he would. We're not a broke club with a burgeoning salary cap and crap list. We are underperforming on-field with a finals-standard list. It's not the most unattractive gig going around.

In the ironic theme of Buckleys career I could see him winning a flag at his next club considering it's not Collingwood.

objectively, Nathan Buckley is one of the most impressive footy brains potentially available.

the question is would he have us? I doubt it, I reckon he needs a year in the media to decompress and recharge.

Maybe, maybe not. He's a competitive prick, can't see a cushy job in the media to pump himself up for a year would be appealing to him.

I reckon he would. We're not a broke club with a burgeoning salary cap and crap list. We are underperforming on-field with a finals-standard list. It's not the most unattractive gig going around.

In the ironic theme of Buckleys career I could see him winning a flag at his next club considering it's not Collingwood.

Maybe, maybe not. He's a competitive prick, can't see a cushy job in the media to pump himself up for a year would be appealing to him.
absolutely he is.
and he's just been "sacked"/asked to resign or come to the conclusion that his time at the club that's been home for the last 30 years is over.

regardless of whether he thinks he needs time away, he really does need separation from Collingwood.

He can take up macrame, origami, do some work with disadvantaged youf, further study in transcendental meditation or build a house with his bare hands.

I think he needs time away.

Before anyone says malthouse had a year out and look where that got us... they are very different personalities. Buckley has far more self-awareness, self-discipline etc. MM was in it for vengeance... in hindsight it's pretty clear, vengeance and superannuation.

absolutely he is.
and he's just been "sacked"/asked to resign or come to the conclusion that his time at the club that's been home for the last 30 years is over.

regardless of whether he thinks he needs time away, he really does need separation from Collingwood.

He can take up macrame, origami, do some work with disadvantaged youf, further study in transcendental meditation or build a house with his bare hands.

I think he needs time away.

Before anyone says malthouse had a year out and look where that got us... they are very different personalities. Buckley has far more self-awareness, self-discipline etc. MM was in it for vengeance... in hindsight it's pretty clear, vengeance and superannuation.

Yeah maybe. I guess it's up for him and his shrink to figure out.

I'd snap him up if he was available and mentally clear. Otherwise I'm keen to see Teague with new assistants.

It’s the messiah path again but I think if clarko is a chance we need to jump. If he’s still hungry, he’s a no brainer.

Our entire footy department is a mess, clarko would come in and know how to run a successful program, he would be able to fix the holes we have.

Our culture needs a complete overhaul, clarko has the experience of getting everyone to buy in. The players will respect him and want to play for him.

We need to be more aggressive. Clarko brings this and will make it non negotiable.

We need someone with experience who has tasted success, he brings this.

He will help us attract quality assistants coaches who will want to learn from him.

What I find weird is that Teague in year 1 and 2 was very good and changing up the way we play during the course of a match. Coming back from huge margins time and time again. You'd see a difference during the course of a game in the manner we transition between the arcs depending on the opposition.

This season, it seems, he wants to stamp "our way" and not deviate. It seems his style of footy relies on two things, winning the one on one in defensive 50, particularly the aerial contest, and two: to win the ball from a clearance, which was a strength of our before this year.

It seems opposition teams are realising this and either attack quickly inside 50 from a break where they pull their tall targets together in a bunch that all our players will fly for the ball allowing the ball to hit the ground for an easy score. Or they methodically move the ball slowly and stretch our midfield across the ground for easy hit ups inside 50 as there is no one filling in the holes.

Whatever ends up happening with Teague, and I'm still in the camp of thinking he was never given adequate support structures to enable him to succeed, I hope that a lesson has been learned that the appointment of a coach should never be based on who the players and supporters decide that they want.

Our next coach needs to be the person considered best capable of leading us down a successful path. It shouldn't be a popular vote.

Whatever ends up happening with Teague, and I'm still in the camp of thinking he was never given adequate support structures to enable him to succeed, I hope that a lesson has been learned that the appointment of a coach should never be based on who the players and supporters decide that they want.

Our next coach needs to be the person considered best capable of leading us down a successful path. It shouldn't be a popular vote.

It was a major **** up not bringing in any new assistants at the end of last year.

Couldn't agree more. Sadly I think the 20 odd years the club has been starved of success is really starting to hurt. We don't have any good recent AFL brains trusts lining up for assistant coaching roles. That Carlton passion of the 90s was lost and hasn't been found in the coaching box. I know he's more of a supplement salesperson these days but just hearing someone like Kouta speak about his love for the club is what we need. Instead we pay 500k to this Andrew Russell bloke who does the "We expect him to be back in 2 weeks" injury reports

we were the laughing stock of what malthouse did to us, using our club to get back at Nathan like a scorned girlfriend.
Now we consider the scorned Girlfriend?

mate, its embarrassing enough being a blues supporter today. My detractors, don't know what a VHS is, if you get my drift.

I don’t know whether I’d like Teague to continue, but if not I’d seriously consider Brad Scott.
Did very well with a poorly resourced club and a average list.
Support him with a President like Tony Cochrane ( boy does that bloke ooze passion) and I’d be quite content.

Keep blaming sos. He will be Liddle and Lloyd’s scapegoat. The one person who stood up to the boys club and knew the coaches and development program were below par.
He didn’t bring in Williams Fogarty or Saad. Yes he had some fails but left plenty of money in the Cap for the mates club to stuff up. Pick 8 for Saad? Williams 6x850k? Fogarty?
Cain’s pick Betts?
Liddle wanted Ellis, SOS wanted Eddie back because he knew how popular Eddie is among the indigenous boys around the league and used him as a Judas goat to convince Martin to come to the club. SOS told Liddle where to head in on Ellis, and got Betts back. Liddle probably had Lloyd fudge up something that suggested a conflict of interest, and punted SOS. And in a fit of spite had BSOS punted as well.

Okay previous posts aside, assuming David Teague won't be coaching us next year (alas i feat is the most likely scenario) what are you/everyone's expectations for our performance next season and how long a period of grace our new coach gets?

Seems to me that coaching this footy club post Parko/Brittain era has become somewhat of an albatross.

Assuming Teague goes, I still think we should go for an Adem Yze type of untried assistant who has been in several successful clubs/systems as an assistant. Recycled Coaches rarely bring success to their new club.
One week… If he does‘t beat the tuggers by 10 goals, he’s obviously worthless and we should move him on for the next candidate.

Liddle wanted Ellis, SOS wanted Eddie back because he knew how popular Eddie is among the indigenous boys around the league and used him as a Judas goat to convince Martin to come to the club. SOS told Liddle where to head in on Ellis, and got Betts back. Liddle probably had Lloyd fudge up something that suggested a conflict of interest, and punted SOS. And in a fit of spite had BSOS punted as well.
Would not mind at all if Liddle moved on. Would love a savvy carlton person back at the helm. Especially someone who knows their strengths and limitations.

Universal Love David Teague