Dennis Commetti 'isms'

DC is a deadset legend.

My personal faves

about Libba "He went into that pack optimistically and came out misty-optically"

"Never moon a werewolf" - was this in reference to Kenny McGregor's looks?

+ many others

I think Dennis also came up with this gem a while back.
-not sure who about. someone had got a bit of the ball and Dennis said something about a leather magnet and added "and before you say there is no such thing, you should see my wife and my wallet"

also Freo v Ess last year I think.
Freo had been spying on Essendon's training session from outside the ground and supposedly a car pulled up under the tree with members of the underworld inside it. They had mistakenly believed the Freo staff were rival gang members. This was mentioned in the pre-match. At the first bounce, Dennis said something along the lines "welcome to the match between Essendon and the Russian mafia" or something along those lines. That was a side splitter for me.

At the start of each match call Eddie introduces DC as the best commentator in the game(which he certainly is)........ but then proceeds to totally dominate the call. :mad:

Denis is lucky to get 25% of the game, thanks to the motormouth.

Lance Uppercut said:
Heard that and loved it! How the hell does he describe what he see's so well?

He has all his one liners written down on a page in front of him. He then just waits for the right time to use them. As with any great comic, it's all in the timing!

mav said:
He has all his one liners written down on a page in front of him. He then just waits for the right time to use them. As with any great comic, it's all in the timing!

I reckon you're right, mostly. It is the timing and I can see him having his list. But they can't all be written down. Specially that Tokyo Subway one, as it was so specific to what was going on.

Lance Uppercut said:
I reckon you're right, mostly. It is the timing and I can see him having his list. But they can't all be written down. Specially that Tokyo Subway one, as it was so specific to what was going on.

They're all written down, have a mate who has been in the box with him. He is so well prepared and that's what makes him so good. He looks at every part of the game, the tactics, the players, the umps, possible situations, and then he comes up with lines for them. He might not use the line that week, or that game, but they will come up sooner or later.

a crows game where someone gave away a free kick for a high tackle on andrew mcleod
"the umpire comes in and his message would be 'hey, you, get off of Mcleod'"

scooter600x said:
No. He meant if you don't respect your opponent you'll get bitten on the arse.

I just found it funny that he dropped that line when McGregor had the ball. Kenny wouldn't have needed much hair added that day to look like a werewolf. I think Kenny was having a good night at the time though.

i think it was a brisbane game when he said this and they were getting flogged im not exactly sure but i remember after someone kicked a goal for the side getting beaten he said "the wheel's still spinning but the hamsters dead"

Bourky23 said:
i think it was a brisbane game when he said this and they were getting flogged im not exactly sure but i remember after someone kicked a goal for the side getting beaten he said "the wheel's still spinning but the hamsters dead"
He says that too often these days - LOL @ that Cologne salesman one

speaking of rap lyrics, towards the end of the '92 grand final I remember him saying that the Eagles 'were to legit to quit'. MC Hammer was quite big back in those days.

BTW this thread is almost part of AFL history now. I wondered where that list of quotes came from. Its even come up in one of my Uni lectures. Mystery solved.

Anyone get this one when the 2 ruckmen jumped a bit early for a contest in the Crows Dees game?

"Premature elevation".

None of the commentators picked it up as well.

Sorry a little late fellas, but just watching last weekends Crow v Dees which was a great game btw. Heard this one as Robertson kicks a goal after a ripper mark.

'It's Russell-mania!'

Not great, but i'm very easily pleased.

Gets! said:
Anyone get this one when the 2 ruckmen jumped a bit early for a contest in the Crows Dees game?

"Premature elevation".

None of the commentators picked it up as well.

I remmember having a bit of a laugh at that one :thumbsu:

From the 3rd Quarter of the Melb v Adel game. I liked the following so much I wrote it down, just forgot to post it earlier as I had some computer problems for a couple of days.

Wheatley had a big 3rd quater. I think he had 9 disposals after a poor game the previous week. Dennis said, "I don't mean to get political, but Wheatley had a downer last week, and these possessions are helping him forget.":)

Seems to be running into form.
Hawthorn chip it sideways & backwards,Dennis comes out with

"Its like a bad sobriety test,no-one's going in a straight line"

Then,as Carlton kick in:

"Teague,short to the pocket,to Betts who's short,in the pocket"

Keep em coming Den

Seth.

Can't remember the exact line, but Williams of Hawthorn had hold of a Carlton player by the arm, nbut the line went close to:

"Williams, applies a Chinese burn to (insert carlton player here.)"

Of course if i knew the exact line and the carlton player in question it would be a whole lot better, but perhaps someone else who was tuning in knows the line i am talking about. Amusing none-the-less.

Dennis Commetti 'isms'