Diamond Valley Footy

Wayde Petersen said:
I know it's a bit harsh, but that's what they did at the Shepparton RSL for a while after a fight broke out before the Green/Mundine fight, but with Diamo's ground, you've got the pub next door, and it's pretty easy to sneak grog in through the fence.

But, there's no doubt about it, the authorities needs to overhaul the DVFL, because there's far too many people within the league that look at thing through club coloured glasses, and not doing things that are beneficial for the league as a whole.

Peter Floyd needs to retire, I know that his time at the helm has overall been good (expansion of junior & senior clubs), but the comp NEEDS NEW BLOOD, basically they need to do what the Eastern League did and looked outside for a CEO/President, and a new board, with blokes who have retired recently or have good business acumen/connections.

First off, they need to split Division Two in half, to make a Division Three, plus reduce the number of clubs in Division One to 8 or 9, because the weakest team in Divsion One is very weak compared to the other clubs.

Don't make promotion/relegation compulsary, they used to do it this way, but now, they force clubs that don't want to move up a grade (Hurstbridge) no other option but to get flogged every week, let's face it, only Lower Plenty & Greensborough want to move up a grade, no one else does, especially Mernda & Whittlesea (they will eventually, when those areas become more developed).

The Website, what a joke, christ it looks like something done up on a Commodore 64 circa 1985.For the calibre of league the DVFL is, surely they can spend a bit of money to get a decent website, because it's like a window to the league and it says that "these these blokes are amateurs".

And another thing, why can't the DVFL force clubs to wear alternate strips ?, when I saw Panton Hill play Mernda, I could barely tell them apart, especially from a distance, with the number of clubs in division two (there isn't any major colour clashes in Division One, except North Heidelberg & West Preston/Lakeside), surely the league can arrange something.

But when look at how well the leagues are run up in the Goulburn Valley and you compare that to the Diamond Valley, there's no comparison.

I agree with you that the DVFL needs new people in to run the joint, but fair dinkum who would want the job.

For $70K and a car - plus your missus on the payroll - who wouldn't want the job?

Seriously, they have the means to attract someone with some decent qualifications.

sounds like you are putting your hand up for the job Wayde. some good points but also some bad points, I think anyway.

Good points: I think the league does need to look outside of its own for a new president, somebody who can make unbiased decisions and not favouring certain clubs. We would like to think this doesnt happen but over the last month we have seen to many inconsistencies in their decision making.

Bad points: I dont agree with a third division, I think the league would be better off making a final eight instead of a final six, giving the teams that are sitting around 7-12 on the ladder a chance to make finals ( thats what everbody plays for ) I think it would encourage these 5 or 6 teams to keep pushing in games towards the end of the year if they still have a chance at making finals thus promoting a healthy compitition.

bobcobb said:
Good points: I think the league does need to look outside of its own for a new president, somebody who can make unbiased decisions and not favouring certain clubs. We would like to think this doesnt happen but over the last month we have seen to many inconsistencies in their decision making.

Bad points: I dont agree with a third division, I think the league would be better off making a final eight instead of a final six, giving the teams that are sitting around 7-12 on the ladder a chance to make finals ( thats what everbody plays for ) I think it would encourage these 5 or 6 teams to keep pushing in games towards the end of the year if they still have a chance at making finals thus promoting a healthy compitition.

I totally agree with you bobcobb.:thumbsu: Here Here!!

Wayde Petersen said:
I know it's a bit harsh, but that's what they did at the Shepparton RSL for a while after a fight broke out before the Green/Mundine fight, but with Diamo's ground, you've got the pub next door, and it's pretty easy to sneak grog in through the fence.

But, there's no doubt about it, the authorities needs to overhaul the DVFL, because there's far too many people within the league that look at thing through club coloured glasses, and not doing things that are beneficial for the league as a whole.

Peter Floyd needs to retire, I know that his time at the helm has overall been good (expansion of junior & senior clubs), but the comp NEEDS NEW BLOOD, basically they need to do what the Eastern League did and looked outside for a CEO/President, and a new board, with blokes who have retired recently or have good business acumen/connections.

First off, they need to split Division Two in half, to make a Division Three, plus reduce the number of clubs in Division One to 8 or 9, because the weakest team in Divsion One is very weak compared to the other clubs.

Don't make promotion/relegation compulsary, they used to do it this way, but now, they force clubs that don't want to move up a grade (Hurstbridge) no other option but to get flogged every week, let's face it, only Lower Plenty & Greensborough want to move up a grade, no one else does, especially Mernda & Whittlesea (they will eventually, when those areas become more developed).

The Website, what a joke, christ it looks like something done up on a Commodore 64 circa 1985.For the calibre of league the DVFL is, surely they can spend a bit of money to get a decent website, because it's like a window to the league and it says that "these these blokes are amateurs".

And another thing, why can't the DVFL force clubs to wear alternate strips ?, when I saw Panton Hill play Mernda, I could barely tell them apart, especially from a distance, with the number of clubs in division two (there isn't any major colour clashes in Division One, except North Heidelberg & West Preston/Lakeside), surely the league can arrange something.

But when look at how well the leagues are run up in the Goulburn Valley and you compare that to the Diamond Valley, there's no comparison.

Couldn't agree more with all of those points Wayde. I'm only an outsider but the Valley has got a bad name when it's bloody good footy. If they want to attract new people and stamp out the things that have been prominent on this thread then change needs to happen.

A lot of players that live in the Diamond Valley area drive to GV clubs on the weekend to play a similiar standard of footy. And it's not all about money.

It's crazy for a local league to have 16 teams in it. Three divisions is a much better way to go.

FootyLover06 said:
Can anyone help me here anyone know anything about them

Jai Miles is a quality player who's first 5 games at Laor have been fantastic,running off half back and setting things up.Toby Bray while not being as influential has been serviceable but will miss tomorrow with a crook shoulder.We're hoping they can keep improving each game and become permanent fixtures at thr Bloods.

listen here matchwinner i dont know what the hell you are on but you are kidding yourself if you think that lower plenty have done well... they are a woeful side.. they are struggling in div2 . They will be playing div2 footy for a long time to come. Your saying they are going for youth, there kids are duds. Have a look at monty they have about 8-9 KIDS playing for them at the moment.. now im telling you something they will be going places in the next couple of years.

just on the diamond valley i really think its time for the president peter floud to take a long walk off a short pier hes robbed the league long enough and has produced nothing we need fresh faces i believe from outside with substancial businees and marketing backrounds to turn the league back into the number 1 metro league and to give ya the mail good luck to you and the lalor crew in what should be a good hit out if both teams where i think if switched on you can get the points

matteroffact said:
Jai Miles is a quality player who's first 5 games at Laor have been fantastic,running off half back and setting things up.Toby Bray while not being as influential has been serviceable but will miss tomorrow with a crook shoulder.We're hoping they can keep improving each game and become permanent fixtures at thr Bloods.
did Toby Bray play for Hoppers Crossing?

matteroffact said:

Can any Lalor Supporter tell me who the in's & out's are for tomorrow's game???

Is Benny Kinnear back in???

Mr Rule said:
listen here matchwinner i dont know what the hell you are on but you are kidding yourself if you think that lower plenty have done well... they are a woeful side.. they are struggling in div2 . They will be playing div2 footy for a long time to come. Your saying they are going for youth, there kids are duds. Have a look at monty they have about 8-9 KIDS playing for them at the moment.. now im telling you something they will be going places in the next couple of years.

My point was that in their short history they have done well to even get to division 1, and to stay there for as long as they did. The chances are we may be in divi 2 for a few years, but we have learnt a lot from our time in division 1 which will hold us in good stead in future years. The kids we have coming through aren't duds. They may not be up with Mont's kids, but Lower hasn't has a junior system in place for years like Mont have.

TigerTales said:
How come West Preston never get a mention on this forum?
West Preston will finish last this year and end up being relegated to division 2. At the moment they do not look like winning a game. the only avenue they have to goal is grainger and he is nearly elidgble for senoirs discounts at the local RSL.
There was a young kid that played in the backline for them over the last couple of years. I think they called him brodie or broady, played on him a couple of times, he was built like a rake but could run all day and knew how to get the footy.
Does anybody know what happend to him?

To this weekend's tips:

Div 1: Lalor, Montmorency(*), North Heidelberg, Northcote Park, Heidelberg

Div 2: Lower Plenty, Wallan, Hurstbridge, Whittlesea(*), Thomastown, Greensborough, Reservoir, Watsonia.

(*) - Match of the round.

Divvy 1: Lalor, Mont(*) , Epping, North Heidelberg, Heidelberg

Divvy 2: Panton hill, Wallan, Hurstbridge, Whittlesea(*), Thomastown, Greensborough, Reservoir, Fawkner park.

bobcobb said:
West Preston will finish last this year and end up being relegated to division 2. At the moment they do not look like winning a game. the only avenue they have to goal is grainger and he is nearly elidgble for senoirs discounts at the local RSL.
There was a young kid that played in the backline for them over the last couple of years. I think they called him brodie or broady, played on him a couple of times, he was built like a rake but could run all day and knew how to get the footy.
Does anybody know what happend to him?

When discussing relegation, my money is on the Panthers.

mont,h/berg,north,lalor,n park. wats,slime,p hill,mernda,t/town,whit,wallan and who knows, you wont see it through the fog,bridges by heaps.

WPL will definately be in the mix for the relegation stakes, the pressure will be on the bottom sides later in the year.

West Preston got over Lalor by 15 pts, Lalor lost their last 2 by close margins could of been 4-2 but are 2-4. Bundoora just beat Mont. would have been a cracker.