Do you hand make anything?

Jams is real good. Strawberry is so easy. Have a little plot in the garden. weigh, same amount of sugar on slow heat. thats its.... really easy and so so nice.

http://au.lifestyle.yahoo.com/b/better-homes-gardens/2961/microwave-jams
easy as:thumbsu:
Best tip I ever got was
put something be it fruit or even roasted capsicums in an old clean jar.
Put the lid on if its fruit add a little water or sugar depending on tastes and dryness.
Roasted Capsicum add vinegar or oil what ever you like.
Putthe lid on and microwave it till it boils and the lid goes up a little,
Let it cool and you have jarred what ever that lasts for years
It wont explode give it a try
I do roast capsicums,apricot halves,tomatoes,pasta sauces

I've made a few blackthorn sticks - like this one, though it's not mine.

41Fjiads-yL._SL500_AA260_.jpg

This is my elephant headed stick

16humtg.jpg

Looks more like a cross between an elephant and a boar

I have built a house, a few pergolas, a few verandahs,a couple of fountains,fences, gates, doors, cupboards,a few roofs,bed heads, landscapeing paveing,sculpting,painting, sun dried tomatoes, sun dried chillis, tomato salsa, yoghurt,and a million more things I cant think off.
I have an academic background but love doing things with my hands.
Pick up virtualy any trade by haveing a little look and asking a few questions.
Plumbing, Carpenter, Cabinet Maker,Electrician
I am jack of all master of none

Some nice things

I make little plush toys and pincushions out of felt and sew really simple things. Some things I've sewed recently include cushion covers (not as nana as it sounds :eek:) and a case for my external HDD. Also make my own jewellery every now and then out of fabric-covered buttons. I can also cross-stitch and have been learning how to crochet. Not very good at it though...

I have built a house, a few pergolas, a few verandahs,a couple of fountains,fences, gates, doors, cupboards,a few roofs,bed heads, landscapeing paveing,sculpting,painting, sun dried tomatoes, sun dried chillis, tomato salsa, yoghurt,and a million more things I cant think off.
I have an academic background but love doing things with my hands.
Pick up virtualy any trade by haveing a little look and asking a few questions.
Plumbing, Carpenter, Cabinet Maker,Electrician
I am jack of all master of none

Nice work mate. I'm a bit the same although can't say I've as much as you. I sit at a desk all day and just love to use my hands (and tools!!!) whenever I can. I just watch all the DIY shows and just watch the pros and ask lots of questions.

We're finally renovating the house so its been everything from landscaping, timber screens, water features, plastering, wiring etc. Also just demolished the kitchen and re-installed some of the old cupboards in the laundry. Re-did the pergola (all rotted through) when installing some new laserlite and finally fixed up my toolshed with some extra bench space.

Also love cooking so the new kitchen is getting a good working over at the moment. I'll give any recipe a go, nothing daunts me...:D

No, but I'd love to.

I was given a whole lot of decent quality tools for my 21st ("Son, I got tools for my 21st, and I still use them today" etc, etc) that have been sitting around doing nothing for the past 2 years. I wouldn't mind putting them to use, especially making some simple furniture (like a TV stand).

Not only would i like to save a bit of cash, I would like the knowledge/skills, and the feeling of competence that comes with that.

Any of you DIY types got an advice for people just starting out?

Start small and don't be afraid to ask questions from the people who know. I've found Bunnings are good place to start (during the week when the qualified tradies are working). They have loads of free brochures on basic DIY projects.

If you can afford it, having the right tools for the job helps immensely. They don't have to be proffessional quality to start out with (and don't let anyone fool you into thinking you do) and you don't need everything. I've found though that more than anything else I use my cordless drill and the circular saw.

Do you hand make anything?