Dolla Beal

Yeah nah these are atrocious. The only absolute star to come from a converted background was Scott Pendlebury, but his football started a lot earlier.

As far as I'm aware, Pendlebury was doing both as a junior... and could have moved into the elite level with either... but decided on AFL. Not really a convert. Stynes is a legit example of a star convert though.

Sean Wight was another convert that I thought was a terrific player. Dunno if you could have called him a star, but he was certainly very, very good. Keneally was another great convert.

Who needs them all to be stars though. There aren't that many absolute stars in the AFL, but there are a hell of a lot of guys that play every weekend.

Please no, the Wildcats need him far more than the Eagles do!

Has one of the best pull up jump shots in Australia right now. Not quite sure how that'll translate to football though...

This.. more important to keep him at the Wildcats. Although i can understand their interest in a bloke built like a brick sh*thouse when they have fairies like Gaff and Masten running around.

Zac Clarke was a basketballer no?

Think he played lots of basketball as a junior, but started playing footy late... couple of years playing for Calder (?) I think, with Hannebery. Not much before that I don't think.

Will need to check my facts.

EDIT: Was Oakleigh. And just one year with them before he was drafted. VERY late start.

Its the idea I like pursuing not the actual player.

I believe we should be working harder in this area to try and uncover a decent player.
It costs nothing but time.

In this players instance there was never any hope he would make it but its a damn good publicity stunt.

Remember its the idea im pushing not the man.

Beal will not make it as an AFL player.
Body type completely wrong so could only play forward or defense and will take him far too long to come to grips with the basic skills let alone reading the play.
Also agree with someone earlier who said he didn't like his attitude of thinking he could easily switch.
My guess is he saw how many crabs were playing in the NBL and probably thought it would be the same in AFL.
AFL players are a lot more professional than the NBL guys.
Takes more than just great skills to get games these days.

Its the PR, marketing exercise and awareness raising getting your name and brand out there.

Freo needs to keep up with the Dark Side. It was free publicity.We are all chasing limited corporate bucks and kids, immigrants who have nba\nbl and soccer to support these days.

Stop giving the f'ing filth freekicks. An hr free press.

Bring Le Bron or Dwight Howard over at 20-21 year olds, and it might be a kick in the guts if they were discarded without looking. But you can't call it a kick in the guts in this case.

I remember an eagles supporter of mine talking about how they aren't great athletes in the NBA, and Nic Nat was a better "athlete" than LeBron (This was pretty soon after Nic Nat's dunk)

On topic, as a basketball junkie myself he has nothing to lose really. Isn't good enough for NBA so if he wants to try to earn some coin in the off-season go for it I say. It's probably too late for him but it's good to see an American basketball player showing interest in our game.

I remember an eagles supporter of mine talking about how they aren't great athletes in the NBA, and Nic Nat was a better "athlete" than LeBron (This was pretty soon after Nic Nat's dunk)

On topic, as a basketball junkie myself he has nothing to lose really. Isn't good enough for NBA so if he wants to try to earn some coin in the off-season go for it I say. It's probably too late for him but it's good to see an American basketball player showing interest in our game.

You Eagles mate like most weagle fans have no idea. Nic Nat would be an average athlete in the NBA.

Yeah nah these are atrocious. The only absolute star to come from a converted background was Scott Pendlebury, but his football started a lot earlier. Understanding the game is the simple most endearing and useful attribute. If Nick Suban didn't have it he'd have nothing. And how Lachie Neale can be a short arse in the tallest midfield in the competition and still fit in. It's why Menegola will probably never play a single AFL game despite being a total freak of an athlete.

Pass. Not interested in these novelties. Not interested in the gall of this prick either, expecting to convert to a sport on a whim and believing he deserves a trial on the basis of being alright at another? It's like Gary Ablett wanting a gig at Arsenal.

Ablett would walk into the Arsenal team !

Dolla Beal