Dream Team Specific Television Show

Harry Freis Tash

Feb 5, 2006
Brisbane Lions
If there was a show on free to air television that was specifically about AFL Dream Team once a week, would you watch it?

How much would you rely on it/ use it for putting your team together?

What sort of information would you want/ require to make it must see tv?

What would be the best night of the week for it to be on?

Really interested to hear some feedback

Cheers
HFT

Not sure you would have enough material to make a weekly series out of it.. would have to pad it out with a few skits ala DT talk podcast style..

There'd be heaps of info to keep a 30 minute series running

Plenty of stats - look at the threads on here.

If there was a show on free to air television that was specifically about AFL Dream Team once a week, would you watch it?

Cheers
HFT

have you checked this show out yet?

http://www.peanutgalleryfooty.com.au/Peanut-Gallery/The-Project/FOOTY-YouTopia.html

The guys at DT Talk have a pretty good video segment going.
They are all hard-core DTers with cred (debatable) and their offbeat comedy is actually pretty funny and engaging.

The lame-arse efforts from Schwass and co. on the AFL website have been cringeworthy at best. That type of format would never establish a following due to the poor DT advice/knowledge and low-brow humour.

Don't really see a TV show ever taking traction as the diehards are probably online most of the time.

The Internet is probably the best medium for Dreamteam related video content.

TFS - only need 23-24 minutes of stuff, as the rest is filled with ads. I have a number of DVDs of TV series where an episode would go for 20-23 minutes, yet on normal tv they fill up a whole half hour.

Pretty easy to put something together IMO. Have a few sections on:
- rookies coming through
- players in hot form
- players in cold form
- injured players (and who will take their spot/role)
- value players
- few interviews and such
- general education (trading, picking your captains, using cash cows, etc)

Also have a bit of a panel of presenters and go through their weekly result like they do on the DTTalk videos.

I reckon you could fill a half hour easily.

Would people even watch it though? Probably not - as much as fantasy is a growing thing, theres probably only 300-400k people who actually play. Half of them probably still wouldnt both to watch, a quarter wouldnt have access to one (or fox) or would generally be unavailable to other committments which leaves you with a level of playing fantasy players who might watch at a level that wouldnt make it worthwhile or feasible IMO.

Im pretty sure theres a short show like this run on AFL.com.au in the season anyway...

TFS - only need 23-24 minutes of stuff, as the rest is filled with ads. I have a number of DVDs of TV series where an episode would go for 20-23 minutes, yet on normal tv they fill up a whole half hour.

Pretty easy to put something together IMO. Have a few sections on:
- rookies coming through
- players in hot form
- players in cold form
- injured players (and who will take their spot/role)
- value players
- few interviews and such
- general education (trading, picking your captains, using cash cows, etc)

Also have a bit of a panel of presenters and go through their weekly result like they do on the DTTalk videos.

I reckon you could fill a half hour easily.

Would people even watch it though? Probably not - as much as fantasy is a growing thing, theres probably only 300-400k people who actually play. Half of them probably still wouldnt both to watch, a quarter wouldnt have access to one (or fox) or would generally be unavailable to other committments which leaves you with a level of playing fantasy players who might watch at a level that wouldnt make it worthwhile or feasible IMO.

Im pretty sure theres a short show like this run on AFL.com.au in the season anyway...

Let's do it - Lakey - you can be the one with all the brains, stats and credibility.

I'll be the guy who links the show together and makes innuendo about how many franklin scored on the weekend

Half an hour of content wouldn't be a problem. If we had more time, we would definitely be a lot more informative. Like posts (such as Calvins Captains or Chooks Rooks) would become segments. Thrown in with some regular skits or parodies of topical things, it would be a winner. A player guest each week would be good. Like Hodgey. He loves it And is a funny dude.

Sign us up! Haha.

We will start our first hour long live show next week. Stat tuned!

Let's do it - Lakey - you can be the one with all the brains, stats and credibility.

I'll be the guy who links the show together and makes innuendo about how many franklin scored on the weekend
Ok, Im in if you:

- have got a spare 50k
- a few weeks of time
- enough cash on the side for a return trip to perth for me
- will do all my uni work while we put it together
- can hook me up with some brains, stats and credibility from somewhere? Im a tosser afterall!

:p :D

Cheers
HFT

No, because more than likely they have never played or done crap, just like I never listen to FF Hawks show.

Should get the DT Talk guys to extend their show to TV exclusively. They have a good following, and a very good show. they're very marketable obviously. Put it on before/after the footy show maybe. I think AFL DT is fantastic, and it continues to grow year-by-year. But yes, are there enough die-hard DT'ers who would follow the show?
There's potential.

Dream Team Specific Television Show