10k Posts
Nov 29, 2001
perth
freo
I played footy in Canberra during the 80s from 1st grade ACTAFL to 2nd div Monaro.

And i can tell you that drugs are nothing new from smoking cones to snorting coke and dropping speed.

Seen plenty of team mates do it.........whilst at the time it was alleged that plenty of players from the now defunct Belconnen club were shooting up smack......some well known brothers amongst them.

Anyway whilst not naming any names it probably is still common practice among some players at all footy clubs and is a bit of a storm in a tea cup ......

I played footy in Canberra during the 80s from 1st grade ACTAFL to 2nd div Monaro.

And i can tell you that drugs are nothing new from smoking cones to snorting coke and dropping speed.

Seen plenty of team mates do it.........whilst at the time it was alleged that plenty of players from the now defunct Belconnen club were shooting up smack......some well known brothers amongst them.

Anyway whilst not naming any names it probably is still common practice among some players at all footy clubs and is a bit of a storm in a tea cup ......
Storm in a tea cup!!:eek: Jeesus phil hate to know what you think is serious? I too wittnessed simlar b4 a rep game back in the very early 90s but no where what your claiming. This sort of extreme is the minority:confused:

As a section of society footballers are like everyone else, with a % partaking.

Before games is a whole different story. I played over 300 1st grade games and never witnessed anything like that pre games. Saw a fair bit afterwards though.

Storm in a tea cup!!:eek: Jeesus phil hate to know what you think is serious? I too wittnessed simlar b4 a rep game back in the very early 90s but no where what your claiming. This sort of extreme is the minority:confused:

I am not claiming that a lot of footballers did take drugs before games although i did see it......this is more socially ....and there was plenty of it.

The storm in a tea cup is the media frenzy.......whilst not agreeing with drug taking it is across the whole community and surely people dont think these players live in a cacoon only venturing out to play footy.

I am not claiming that a lot of footballers did take drugs before games although i did see it......this is more socially ....and there was plenty of it.

The storm in a tea cup is the media frenzy.......whilst not agreeing with drug taking it is across the whole community and surely people dont think these players live in a cacoon only venturing out to play footy.
The thing i don't agree with is the way in which the media hunts them down and then portraits them as the lowest form. How much have we read about the people who proffit from them. And given, if they don't use them, then it cuts down the market and demand. You could argue all day about the rights of what a high profile person doe's in their own privacey. Maybe what your saying Phil is it's been going on for years and it's been a rumor for a fair while now, but because they got aq scalp they'll milk for all it's worth.

agreed especially when it's a lot more than a handful doing it.... and it hardly seems fair that certain players cop it more because they are better football players.
Thing is also it is not just AFL players doing it - I think if you looked pretty closely at a very high profile NRL player....you would get just as much dirt as Cousins....and he wouldn't be the lonesoldier I can guarantee you that.
At the end of the day unless your from another generation- going out after a football game and indulging in recreational drugs is as common as having beer till you couldn't stand up any longer back in the 80s.
Whether you agree with it or not- that's what is happening.

agreed especially when it's a lot more than a handful doing it.... and it hardly seems fair that certain players cop it more because they are better football players.
Thing is also it is not just AFL players doing it - I think if you looked pretty closely at a very high profile NRL player....you would get just as much dirt as Cousins....and he wouldn't be the lonesoldier I can guarantee you that.
At the end of the day unless your from another generation- going out after a football game and indulging in recreational drugs is as common as having beer till you couldn't stand up any longer back in the 80s.

Agreed the NRL is as full of it as the AFL and any other sport for that matter.

The stories surrounding drug use is rife in the NRL on the street and some big, big names are always connected to the stories.

Bigger than the game maybe?

Agreed the NRL is as full of it as the AFL and any other sport for that matter.

The stories surrounding drug use is rife in the NRL on the street and some big, big names are always connected to the stories.

Bigger than the game maybe?

Spot on mate....I've seen footage of this particular person and seen him in person off his tree and it seems to be common knowledge....

A friends ex husband, no longer in the community due to his own "dealings" was apparently very acquainted with one particular star player and she hates sport and would have no agenda what so ever repeating this comment.

Unlike many who think they pump their own tyres up by cashing in on the noteriety of such stories, she said he used to "drop in to say hello" at least a couple of times a week.

You'd know plenty about both of these King of Funk! Brings back memories of Ijong St for some reason...:D

more green the better,**** the white and other crap, nothing better than running out on a saturday and feeling like a chook with its head cut off, ya just float around the field!!!
the aim is not too get lossed? it actually puts your mind more focused on the ball than your opponent.

Drugs in ACTAFL