DT forwards 2010 (cont)

srv23, Tippett has more value in the forward line for mine (with Lobbe as bench) than in the ruck.

LeCras won't get extended midfield runs and, despite comments by Sumich over the off-season, he looks to be spending the vast majority of his time up front with an occasional stint in a Didak-esque role.

That being said, you'd think he would improve his PPG at least a little. Scored a ton in his last practice match against Melbourne, make of that what you will.

Is one of only five players who has been a lock for me since day one. He will have a HUGE year and could kick 80 goals. Goodwin thinks he has improved 25-30% over prea seaso and having signed a long term cotnract he is looking at becoming a franchise player.

Lock him in.
Talk about pumping ones tyres. Of course Goodwin is going to speak highly of his own team mate so i wouldnt read into anything team mates say about one another.Its also a bit rich to expect an 80 goal season from him as well.
He would do well to kick 40 -50 you would reckon and thats if he has a good year

Talk about pumping ones tyres. Of course Goodwin is going to speak highly of his own team mate so i wouldnt read into anything team mates say about one another.Its also a bit rich to expect an 80 goal season from him as well.
He would do well to kick 40 -50 you would reckon and thats if he has a good year

Kicked 47 last season, plus a pretty good finals campaign. I agree 80 is overs, but 60 isn't beyond Ktip.

i dont understand the big hype over dangerfield this year. i know he will improve but i cant see him averaging above 80

I think that Gray is the most overrated player on Bigfooty. He is injury prone and his scoring potential is still rather unknown. I also don't think it will be too much of a stretch to see him get tagged sometime during the season if Boak and Salopek suffer their customary injuries. I doubt he has the capacity to be a fulltime midfielder at this stage and he probably doesn't have the most effective DT game. Also Rodan is apparantly recovering remarkably well from his knee so when he returns Gray will probably find himself in the forward line more. I do see the upside but way too much risk for me for someone priced at an average of 70. I wouldn't want him in my final team.

Aren't you somewhat contradicting yourself here??

You say you don't see him becoming a full-time midfielder, doubt his scoring potential, which basically means ability to get the footy yet you think there is still a chance of him getting tagged??

I watched Gray last year and he reminded me of Gablett, i knew he was going to be in my team middle of last year!!

I've tracked his progress and nothing has deterred me.

In any case - MY QUESTION!

Which one for 6th/7th fwd??

Medhurst - back to full fitness, shown in his short time at Collingwood that he is capable of scoring and has had a great PS.

Tippett - massive hype and all the talk in SA. He looks good, but im not always favourable on KPP, especially early and especially when they are only 21/22.

Betts - Got hammered in PS by the coach after his misdemeanors, seems to have come back with a whole new level of fitness and looks like his role will change with the departure of Fev! Downside? It's Eddie Betts!

Ballantyne - had a good PS and talk of midfield time. Don't think he was ever much of a DTer in WAFL, even though he won the Sandover, think he relies a lot on goals for scores. A lot of hype, but injuries are a worry!!

Campbell - seems destined for a role change under the new coach and North look like doing alright this season. Ran laps after he played half a game a few weeks ago, so is bringing up his fitness level.

The only reason I'd get Tippet is if I had a risky second ruck, have Lobbe as your 4th ruck then it provides great cover. Other then that for scoring potential only there are others that will probably score about the same for much cheaper.

see I find this interesting. Not that you're necessarily wrong, but I am interested in the logic.

the players who are much cheaper, by definition have not proven they can score as much. they are cheaper just because they haven't done it, so its not as clear cut as that is it?

in this was its not about Tippett at all.

its about any 320K player vs any 220K player say. its not to say who def will end up better, but I wouldn't assume its a lock. after all, if the 220K player had averaged 80 or what have you, then they wouldn't be 220K.

Reivoldt hamstring tightness, apparently left training, then returned?

SEN have been running with the story this morning.

Does Chappy have a buddy now or what?

its about any 320K player vs any 220K player say. its not to say who def will end up better, but I wouldn't assume its a lock. after all, if the 220K player had averaged 80 or what have you, then they wouldn't be 220K.

... David Hille....

What does everyone think of Justin Westhoff? I have him in my team, and usually don't ask questions about players but I am sort of concerned. I am up for the risk of having him in the team if he is named in the ruck position as when he palys up the ground he has much more impact. What are everyones thoughts? His price is a bit arkward aswell, I would prefure if he was around the 230-250k mark...

Porps, I think there are better options this year.
Medhurst is set for a big year after having lots of injury troubles last year and Collingwood are looking strong. Hall has kicked 17 goals in the NAB cup in a booming Bulldogs side and is only 280k. Tippett is set for a massive year, he has improved so much over the NAB cup, in addition he has the D/P link with Lobbe. Robbie Gray is set to move ino the midfield this year after playing half-forward last year, this role change could have massive ramafacations on his scoring. Robert Murphy (A little more expensive) looks to play the lead up forward role this year, and after a good pre season he looks to be a good bet in an up and coming Bulldogs side after avraging 93 in 08.

I think all above are probably better options, Westhoff may go forward if Stewart is dropped. For now he is going to play around the ground, but I get the feeling he could really go missing during games. I.E 30 one quarter and 5 the next. For the record I do think he will increase his average, however I think others may do so by more.

Good luck :thumbsu:

Medhurst is set for a big year after having lots of injury troubles last year and Collingwood are looking strong. Hall has kicked 17 goals in the NAB cup in a booming Bulldogs side and is only 280k. Tippett is set for a massive year, he has improved so much over the NAB cup, in addition he has the D/P link with Lobbe. Robbie Gray is set to move ino the midfield this year after playing half-forward last year, this role change could have massive ramafacations on his scoring. Robert Murphy (A little more expensive) looks to play the lead up forward role this year, and after a good pre season he looks to be a good bet in an up and coming Bulldogs side after avraging 93 in 08.

I think all above are probably better options, Westhoff may go forward if Stewart is dropped. For now he is going to play around the ground, but I get the feeling he could really go missing during games. I.E 30 one quarter and 5 the next. For the record I do think he will increase his average, however I think others may do so by more.

Solid post there.

Thanks for the quality post mate, but I do have most of them players and can not afford Gray :/
I think I might take the risk of Hall or Warren. Warren seems to remind me alot of a Robert Murphy sort of player and Hall looks unstoppable this year.

Great post anyway. Posters will appriciate it. :thumbsu:

Someone please fill me in here. - Why is it that no one is mentioning Pavlich as a fantasy relevant player this year? I'm looking at his stats, and the man hasn't averaged less than 90 is his past 5 seasons. Further more, he hasn't missed more than 3 games in a season for the last 5 seasons. - That seems pretty durable. Now to me 404K seems like pretty good value for a player who should be putting up the same scores as Reiwoldt if not for playing with an average outfit.

What am I missing here? Does he have a chronic injury? Is Harvey planning to play him at fullback? What is it exactly that has made him such a forgotten man? :confused:

DT forwards 2010 (cont)