The Dr

Jun 20, 2007
G'day Swannies

two quick ones: 1. How did Dylan McNeil go this year, and is he likely to be retained as a rookie or even elevated?

2. Same for Lewis - how's he going and what's his future looking like?

Cheers - good luck for the Dogs game :thumbsu:

Re: Dylan McNeil, Lewis Johnson

Dill has been regularly in the bests for the reserves, and is a certainty to be retained, if not elevated.

Lewis had put on a lot of weight (muscle) going into the season, but then had to lose it all again by the time the season started for injury reasons. As such, he has been playing basically as a flanker for the ressies rather than as a genuine key forward, and things just haven't really clicked into place. Expect him to hit the gym hard in the off/preseason, get up to genuine key position size, and push for seniors next year.

*Johnston.

Sorry.

Both should be retained for next year, as both are highly promising players.

Both should get senior exposure next year as well. I seriously hope that Lewis Johnston doesn't have the go-home factor burning and stays with us.

From all reports Dylan McNeil has had a fantastic year in the 2's, i think he would have really pressed for senior selection if he wasn't so small. Im originally from albury too, i saw him out on the town one night and he is a petite man indeed. Will need to bulk up a bit but if he continues how he has i would expect him to debut next year.

Johnston - i personally am a bit disappointed with his year, he is a high draft pick and an undoubted talent. with bradshaw out all year and White struggling at times i would have thought he would at least play a game or two of AFL. I think Roosey mentioned at one stage during the year that he isnt training hard enough, which is troubling. Though we have to give him more time because KPP take longer to physically mature.
Hopefully he doesnt turn into another vezpremi. Highly talented player who cant quite put it all together.

Johnston was injured for the last few weeks of the year- was down for hip surgery but never ended up going (as far as I know, anyway).

He is playing in the ressies preliminary today

Loulou will be fine just needs a chance

He is playing in the ressies preliminary today

Loulou will be fine just needs a chance

I know he is playing but not sure where he is at surgery wise. Not too sure whether he knows where he is at either. Seems to be all good now.

Im originally from albury too, i saw him out on the town one night and he is a petite man indeed.
I am too. Had a bit of a yack to him. He's got a really good head on his shoulders. Definite leadership potential. I remember liking Johnston in the U18's as well, so I reckon you're onto two winners here :thumbsu:. Hopefully they get to see some senior action next year!

Johnston played like an absolute spud today in the ressies. Had none of his usual spark, he was slow, he was constantly playing behind, and was kicking like shit. Hoping it was just the hip injury though, as I saw him play earlier in the year and he was fantastic, a completely different player.

McNeil was very good again, though his disposal let him down on more than one occasion.

Thanks people.

I lived in Albury for three years and saw a fair bit of Dylan playing with the Bushies, loved his no-nonsense approach to footy, and he's such a great kid too, so hopefully he makes it.

Only know LJ through videos of under-18s etc and just reckon he's got heaps of talent. I wonder if it's his attitude, or injuries, possibly holding him back at this stage?

Guys are the details of Johnstons contract known(specifically the term)?

ie. has he re-signed with the Swans following his initial 2 year term?

Someone else may have to answer that question, but regardless I dont think we'd entertain any offers for him

Maybe you're right.

Here's my counter offer:

James Frawley for Ed Barlow?

Dylan McNeil, Lewis Johnston