Ecstasy V Alcohol

Most people get stuck on weed and find it way more addcitive than ecstacy and coke.

On that theory alcohol was my gateway to all drugs.

I interviewed one of the most senior drug cops in Europe and he said precisely that - the vast majority of people who end up using hard drugs started with alcohol.

Alcohol is a dangerous substance, yes, of course it is, people have died from consuming excessive alcohol whether directly or indirectly. BUT, when alcohol is consumed in moderate and reasonable amounts, then it is quite safe.

There is a big difference between alcohol and drugs, you hammerhead.

Ecstasy is a dangerous substance, yes, of course it is, people have died from consuming excessive ecstasy whether directly or indirectly. BUT, when ecstasy is consumed in moderate and reasonable amounts, then it is quite safe.

See how that works?

I love the way anti drug/pro alcohol apologists always try to compare the effects of moderate drinking to out of control drug abuse to prove their flimsy point.

Moderation is the key with nearly everything in life. Anyone with common sense realises that.

Pot is unbelievably insidious in the way the addiction just creeps up on you. I'm sure some posters defending its use here are using 3-4 times a week in the belief that they could stop anytime. Sadly, its not true and they will probably wake up to that fact in a few years time. Hopefully their brain won't be too messed up by then.

As long as you're only smoking at the end of the day and don't get to the stage of smoking all day from the minute you get up I've found stopping isn't too much of a hassle.

The first night you can get a few cravings but that's just a mental thing because you're used to having a smoke to wind down. As long as you have a bit of self discipline it's pretty easy to get over the first couple of days and then all cravings pretty much disappear.

Hardcore stoners are a different proposition though. Once you're in the habit of having multiple sessions every day it can get pretty tough to break the cycle.

Its near impossible to die of just ecstasy. You can well and truely ____ your brain up if you pop like 15 or so pills, but you wont (shouldnt) die.

Stats will show only 7 per 1,000,000 users of ecstasy will die from use. That is due almost entirely due to either drinking too little/too much water which leads to hypothermia, coma n all that. Alcohol has something like 750 deaths per 1,000,000 users, as it does alot more physical damage to your body and it organs.

I used to do E once or twice a week. But only for about a 3 month period. I read this post on the forums of the nightclub onelov and it really changed my perspective on it. I'll post it here and i really reccommend people reading it.
The poster is called Hollywood (Link: http://www.onelove.com.au/forums/viewtopic.php?f=45&t=39898).

Okay with one of the more successful threads in the history being on pingazz in the fanclub section I feel compelled to bring some long term side effects of pinga abuse to your attention...... I am not gonna quote medical research articles and all that shit..... what I am gonna talk about is the past 12 years of hitting the pingazzzz with my circle of friends....and where each has ended up.

When I say hitting the pingazz I am talking about guys and girls that may have taken only 1 a week to some that were hitting 15 to 20... yeah extreme but def not unheard of when you are talkn about partying Friday, sat and sunday night.

One of many many degrees i hold is in psychology ( self plug for my extensive education that is now a waste of time cause I cant remember anything anymore) ...... talking to depression. Generally speaking depression runs in the family. Particularly chronic depression. Yes there are many instances of it being a one off in a family but that is an exception.

So before I start lets discuss the basics...... how pingazz work. Active ingredient MDMA... though I guarantee most of what you are getting these days would be lucky to be 50 to 70% pure........ MDMA releases a hormone called serotonin in the brain. The gland is at in the frontal lobe of the brain. The problem is each time you hit a pinga the serotonin is released. If you hit enough of them eventually you will deplete this gland to a point where it will not be producing serotonin at all. serotonin is a mood controller. Yeah thats right is ____n important.

So these 6 people 4 kents and 2 ttb's I will be specific to.

Kent 1 Profession (doctor...yep a GP)........... no family history of mental illness. After 3 years of hitting them hard out of no where had a full blown panic attack. If you dont know what a panic attack is look it up. He got so bad he was on sick leave for 1 month. He could not leave his home. He lived in fear. He was subsequently put on antidepressants..... things spiralled down hill for him pretty quickly from that point. Particularly depression kicking in. Very low moods. He now does not have panic attacks but believes he will be on antidepressants for the rest of his life

Kent 2. Profession (tradie).......... no family history of depression. Started to get low moods. Got to a point where he could not get out of bed in the morning. Lost his job. Ended up in a mental institution with chronic depression. He was in there for 3 months......... again if you dont know the diff btwe chronic depression and depression check it out. Chronic depression is completely debilitating

Kent 3. ( Law student).................. this kent just lost the plot. ONe of those cases where things just escalated out of control........ an example of how a well educated kid who came from a great family destroyed his life. He loved his pingazzz..... 10 plus on a standard night 2 to 3 nights a week. Then one night he ended up at some dealers house and they were smoking weed from a bong apparently. what he didnt know was that the mix had heroin in it. Long story short he got hooked on smack and has been in and out of rehab for 10 years.... he is still alive but a junkie.........

Kent 4. profession worked in a bar)......................... this is the saddest.......... again he was a weekly 6 or 7 year veteran of the pingaz...... what we didnt know was that he had chronic depression.
He was found one sunday morning in a park in Richmond hanging from a tree. He lynched himself.

TTB 1 . MY x gf.............. one of the few girls i have ever met that became a big time dealer. This girl hit it hard. Real hard. Harder than any kent I have ever met. Long story short she got cancer...lyphoma. Her body immune system was in such ruins when she was diagnosed that she did not have a chance from the start..... her body was just not recovering or respoding from chemo... yeah sure it was quite advanced by the stage she was diagnosed but still you wonder. Dead in 9 months

TTB2....... Again long term pinga abuse..weekly for year........ long story short severe anxiety attacks and depression......... has been on antidepressants for years plus xanex daily...... and that is some shit with some evils all of its own. trust me.

i cant be ____ed giving you kents more detail. And I am not preaching or claiming to be an expert. Just understand that what you do will most likely effect you in some ways to varying degrees in the future. Drugs sap your motivation for life, you usually only end up hanging around with people that take drugs because people who are ant-drugs dont wanna know bout people who take them and that effects on your mental health............

Sure you can come back and give a million otha variables that may have caused some of the symptoms but I know deep down in was the drugs.......

So do what you want. A you will. It just concerns me that some of you ____as talk bout taking drugs like taking the dog for a walk in the park...........thats plain ____ed up.

I have one word

MODERATION

In everything in life. Admitingly it is a word I have never been able to get my head around.

And finally another bit of advice

" In life if you avoid the highs you avoid the lows"

Its a decent thread to read. In describing his past excessive use one poster described it as a dark existence with the ocassional firework. I thought that seems like a good way to put it.

Pot is unbelievably insidious in the way the addiction just creeps up on you. I'm sure some posters defending its use here are using 3-4 times a week in the belief that they could stop anytime. Sadly, its not true and they will probably wake up to that fact in a few years time. Hopefully their brain won't be too messed up by then.

Absolutley agree with you here mate.

It's so damn easy to get hooked on weed as opposed to pills,speed etc. etc.

Sure you can go out and get on the amphetamines every weekend but they don't get you hooked like weed. Weed is the drug that makes boredom seem manageable and IMO that's why so many people get hooked on it.

Sitting at home bored with nothing to do...____ it just have a cone and the boredom will disappear. That's how it started with me. 10 years on and I'm still smoking,albeit nowhere near as much as I was in my heyday but I still do it a fair bit.

Not to mention the mental side effects that develop with prolonged weed usage. I can quite comfortably sit here and say,as a marijuana smoker of 10+ years that weed ____s with one's brain pretty much more than any other drug.

Now I'm sure if you were popping 1 or 2 pills every day for 2-3 years your brain would be shot too but that's not really a realistic option. Most people that do pills have one or two big nights a week on the stuff and that's it. They're not getting on it on a Wednesday night sitting at home watching DVD's.

Absolutley agree with you here mate.

It's so damn easy to get hooked on weed as opposed to pills,speed etc. etc.

Sure you can go out and get on the amphetamines every weekend but they don't get you hooked like weed. Weed is the drug that makes boredom seem manageable and IMO that's why so many people get hooked on it.

Sitting at home bored with nothing to do...____ it just have a cone and the boredom will disappear. That's how it started with me. 10 years on and I'm still smoking,albeit nowhere near as much as I was in my heyday but I still do it a fair bit.

Not to mention the mental side effects that develop with prolonged weed usage. I can quite comfortably sit here and say,as a marijuana smoker of 10+ years that weed ____s with one's brain pretty much more than any other drug.

Now I'm sure if you were popping 1 or 2 pills every day for 2-3 years your brain would be shot too but that's not really a realistic option. Most people that do pills have one or two big nights a week on the stuff and that's it. They're not getting on it on a Wednesday night sitting at home watching DVD's.

Weed is the hardest drug to give up, i've even heard ex heroin users say it's harder to stop than heroin.

You do know that the vast maority of Oasis' stuff was writen by the Gallaghers when they were coked to the moon and beyond yeah?

Written by one Gallagher champ, the majority of their first 3 albums were written before defintely maybe, so that was before the million dollar drug habit, yeah champ? Noel used to write a lot when he was drunk, but that was just lyrics.

No recordings in the first 2 albums were ever made when they were coked up, yeah, you got that far champ, yeah.

The drug taking came after they'd finish their days work.

Anyway, so ____ing what.

That was years ago, the drugs are all but gone.

It really is quite funny to see people in here kicking and screaming trying to say that taking drugs is the same as alcohol. When people have this logic and reasoning you wonder just a bit.

Weed is the hardest drug to give up, i've even heard ex heroin users say it's harder to stop than heroin.

Tobacco and alcohol are far harder to give up, as are prescription drugs like benzodiazipines.

On weed - I think the Aussie habit of smoking bongs is key. You can smoke a joint or two every night and not get that full 'mull over' the next morning.

If you want to give it up you can.

Written by one Gallagher champ, the majority of their first 3 albums were written before defintely maybe, so that was before the million dollar drug habit, yeah champ? Noel used to write a lot when he was drunk, but that was just lyrics.

No recordings in the first 2 albums were ever made when they were coked up, yeah, you got that far champ, yeah.

The drug taking came after they'd finish their days work.

Anyway, so ____ing what.

That was years ago, the drugs are all but gone.

It really is quite funny to see people in here kicking and screaming trying to say that taking drugs is the same as alcohol. When people have this logic and reasoning you wonder just a bit.

So basically its ok for your heroes to do immense abouts of coke - and both Liam and Noel were deep into it - but not for folk to pop a goog on a Friday night?

Here's an education for you.

Cocaine is an addictive drug. Noel Gallagher is on record as doing it every day for a year.

Cocaine comes from the Andean region of South America. To get from Peru/Bolivia where coca is grown, through Colombia where it is processed, via Venezuela and the Caribbean, then Spain, then to Amsterdam, and finally to London, people die. Cocaine has blood on it. Be it peasants shot up by the FARC or right-wing paramilitaries in Colombia over turg wars, journalists and cops killed in the Carribbean for reporting on it, or 15 year olds in sarf Lahndahn shooting each other with Mac 10s on the orders of the big dealers, cocaine brings death at every step of its journey. And hey, I've done it, so I'm no saint either.

But for you to casually dismiss the fact that your heroes, who you have spent so much of this thread defending, did massive amounts of it, while laying into other folk who smoke a few bongs (grown by Viet gangsters in warehouses in Braybrook) otr have a pill (made in garages in Broady or Thomastown) is jtust idiotic hypocrisy.

But then that's what anti-drug types are all about - hypocrisy.

My own view is that any and all drugs should be legalised. The reason I don't take coke anymore is not because it stuffs you up - it really doesn't if you do a small amount every few months. Its because I can't square trying to be ethical in so many other areas of my life, but then paying gangsters for coke.

If there was certified Fair Trade coke, then yeah, I'd probably get a gram for birthdays and special occasions.

So basically its ok for your heroes to do immense abouts of coke - and both Liam and Noel were deep into it - but not for folk to pop a goog on a Friday night?

Cocaine is an addictive drug. Noel Gallagher is on record as doing it every day for a year.

Cocaine comes from the Andean region of South America. To get from Peru/Bolivia where coca is grown, through Colombia where it is processed, via Venezuela and the Caribbean, then Spain, then to Amsterdam, and finally to London, people die. Cocaine has blood on it. Be it peasants shot up by the FARC or right-wing paramilitaries in Colombia over turg wars, journalists and cops killed in the Carribbean for reporting on it, or 15 year olds in sarf Lahndahn shooting each other with Mac 10s on the orders of the big dealers, cocaine brings death at every step of its journey. And hey, I've done it, so I'm no saint either.

But for you to casually dismiss the fact that your heroes, who you have spent so much of this thread defending, did massive amounts of it, while laying into other folk who smoke a few bongs (grown by Viet gangsters in warehouses in Braybrook) otr have a pill (made in garages in Broady or Thomastown) is jtust idiotic hypocrisy.

My own view is that any and all drugs should be legalised. The reason I don't take coke anymore is not because it stuffs you up - it really doesn't if you do a small amount every few months. Its because I can't square trying to be ethical in so many other areas of my life, but then paying gangsters for coke.

If there was certified Fair Trade coke, then yeah, I'd probably get a gram for birthdays and special occasions

i reckon that would cost about $4,000 a gram.

*snip*

Excellent post.:thumbsu:

I was once young and stupid, did a lot of drugs and alcohol.
They're all bad for you. Weed gave me anxiety attacks and heart palpatations. Not that hard to give up. Watched H destroy a really good friends life. Watched alcohol make assholes out of many friends and family members and cost me three friends (beautiful and talented people) in a car accident. Went to a 40th a few years ago and of the old friends whose parents smoked tobacco many were dead from cancer, in some cases both parents.
Tobacco was the hardest to give up, and it's such a stupid drug. Makes you sick and STINK.
Alcohol turns good people into uncaring monsters who make stupid decisions.
Pills, Speed, Coke, this way lies madness as evidenced by the antics of some high profile footy players. Bad bad sh!t.
Off the illicit drugs for 15 years, off the smokes for 7 years and off the booze for 6 months (never was big drinker)
I wish I'd never done any of it. Complete waste of time and money.
It's your choice, be an idiot or not.

If there was certified Fair Trade coke, then yeah, I'd probably get a gram for birthdays and special occasions.

Firstly champ, how have i spent a "FAIR AMOUNT" of this thread defending Oasis. Someone said that Oasis recorded music coked up, and i for one, know that this was not the case, often they'd do the drugs after a day in the studio, which would then warp there sense of how good a song was, or what it need, which in turn led to the dissappointing album of Be Here Now, there third following the first 2 undisputed all-time classics.

During the 1998 soccer world cup, Noel Gallagher snorted a line of coke and then started having panic attacks, a doctor had to be called by his ex-wife, Meg Matthews, the doctor came and told Noel to "stop doing drugs". So Noel did, just like that, that was the last line of coke he ever did, so his been drug free for the best part of 10 years.

Drugs were tearing the band apart, have a look at a photo of Noel Gallagher from 1998, his teeth were falling out, and have a look at a photo of him now.

Now i started really following Oasis in 2004, your argument is a profoundly stupid one, i am hypocritical about drugs because I like oasis. Well, champ, that is stupid, as i have pointed out above, you have warped the original topic, which was Ectasty (or more generally Drugs) V Alcohol. Noel still has a drink on tour with the rest of the band, but drugs are a distant thing champ, obviously though, not everyone can just kick a drug habit in overnight hey, the point is drugs were destroying him and his band, now they'd rather have a beer.

You seem to have a shot at the music i like, saying those guys did huge amounts of drugs, if not is not cluthcing at straws i don't know what is.

Ecstasy V Alcohol