Surkin

Aug 17, 2009
France
Knicks
With only two rounds left thought I would have a crack at doing a team of the year. Just based on what I have seen when playing against them and how I have heard blokes have been going.

B: Brent Eastwell (Gar), Daniel Zajac (NNG), Tom Marsh (Gar)
HB: Brendan Kimber (CL), Ricky Hayes (BB), Clint Williams (NNG)
C: Kevin Quinn (NNG), Chris Urie (NNS), Sean Dwyer (LL)
HF: Matt Robinson (CL), Brett Dore (NNG), Shane Brewster (WI)
F: Beau Runnalls (CL), Mike Santo (WI), Luke McConnell (NNG)
R: Brad Horaczko (CL), Matt Wade (NNG), Jack Allen (CL)
I: Ben Hobgen (WI), Russ Lehman (Cat), Corrie Wilson (Nyora)

Thoughts?
I know there a few blokes out of position especially down. I did this becasue don't think the overall quality of backmen in the EDFL is particularly strong. Also if you are playing back pocket for your club you are most likely playing there because you are not good enough to play on ball.

Anyway who's lucky to be there. Who have I missed?

Would definatly have Kimber on the ball. I have seen him get 15-20 touches in a qrtr more than just a few times this year...

Jack Allen has had alot of injuries this year and missed a fair bit of footy. I would definantly pick him if he had a full season.

Ricky Hayes plays forward line doesnt he? So he either makes it in the forward line or doesnt.

Hallinan played well at HB when we played them.

Good point re. Kimber. Just put him on the HBF because he is such a versatile player. Should really be starting the best 3 on ballers in there though, so change Kimber with Allen.

Hayes played CHB against us. Think he has played there most the year.

Could only suggest Glen Tempany from Nyora to go on the bench. Kicked 48 goals from a foward pocket/sometimes FF but ya couldn't move who you already got there, very classy.

Another to maybe sneek in is Ned Marsh(Garfield), takes alot of marks and has the ability to kick goals from up the ground. He'd go close to winning their B&F.

With only two rounds left thought I would have a crack at doing a team of the year. Just based on what I have seen when playing against them and how I have heard blokes have been going.

B: Brent Eastwell (Gar), Daniel Zajac (NNG), Tom Marsh (Gar)
HB: Brendan Kimber (CL), Ricky Hayes (BB), Clint Williams (NNG)
C: Kevin Quinn (NNG), Chris Urie (NNS), Sean Dwyer (LL)
HF: Matt Robinson (CL), Brett Dore (NNG), Shane Brewster (WI)
F: Beau Runnalls (CL), Mike Santo (WI), Luke McConnell (NNG)
R: Brad Horaczko (CL), Matt Wade (NNG), Jack Allen (CL)
I: Ben Hobgen (WI), Russ Lehman (Cat), Corrie Wilson (Nyora)

Thoughts?
I know there a few blokes out of position especially down. I did this becasue don't think the overall quality of backmen in the EDFL is particularly strong. Also if you are playing back pocket for your club you are most likely playing there because you are not good enough to play on ball.

Anyway who's lucky to be there. Who have I missed?

Would have thought Charles from BB could make the bench not sure about Dwyer on wing haven't seen LL play this year though to be fair.
Very good effort though, would be a good Interleague team pity Ellinbank officials cant get their act together on this.
Always the excuse the good players wont make themselves available but I'd argue the good players like to test themselves against the best.
Also believe the league should select a team of the year like most country leagues do know

Clint Williams has had a super year as a centreman in the top side and never played backline in his career. I'd have him in the centre. I don't mind Kimber at half back at least he's played a bit of footy there and could give that team a bit of balance. Chris Adams is a legitimate backline player from NNG who's had a great year. Probably should feature in the best players a little more often than he does. I'll have a crack at a side, probably end up similar to Surkin's but a bit more balanced i reckon, see what you think.

B: Weller (ND) Cumming (NNS) Adams (NNG)

HB: Kimber (CL) Zajak (NNG) R.Glover (ELL)

C: Quinn (NNG) Williams (NNG) S.Brewster (WI)

HF: Robinson (CL) Dore (NNG) Wilson (NY)

F: McConnell (NNG) Santo (WI) Runnals (CL)

R: Horaczko (CL) Urie (NNS) Wade (NNG)

Int: T.Marsh (GAR) Lehmann (CAT) Eastwell (GAR)

Clint Williams has had a super year as a centreman in the top side and never played backline in his career. I'd have him in the centre. I don't mind Kimber at half back at least he's played a bit of footy there and could give that team a bit of balance. Chris Adams is a legitimate backline player from NNG who's had a great year. Probably should feature in the best players a little more often than he does. I'll have a crack at a side, probably end up similar to Surkin's but a bit more balanced i reckon, see what you think.

B: Weller (ND) Cumming (NNS) Adams (NNG)

HB: Kimber (CL) Zajak (NNG) R.Glover (ELL)

C: Quinn (NNG) Williams (NNG) S.Brewster (WI)

HF: Robinson (CL) Dore (NNG) Wilson (NY)

F: McConnell (NNG) Santo (WI) Runnals (CL)

R: Horaczko (CL) Urie (NNS) Wade (NNG)

Int: T.Marsh (GAR) Lehmann (CAT) Eastwell (GAR)

Surely ya could have snuck a few more NNG boys in there mate? GLover and Weller were terrible when i watched. Ben and Ned Marsh could be a change, maybe a garfield backman?

Brodie Yapp from nyora plays down back and hardly been beaten all year, hard to tell only watching most teams once though.

I think you might be missing a back pocket, full back, 2 half back's, wing, 2 half fowards's, foward pocket, full foward, ruck, ruck rover and 3 on the bench Tumble;)

Couldn't have Weller, Adams or Glover in my team Tumbleweed. All solid players no doubt but putting them in a team of the year is a fair stretch of their ability.

The All-Australian selectors have the same problem every year trying to squeeze in all the on-ballers. Swan on HFF last year prime example. Hodge and Goddard will probably be named in the backline this year.

Surkin, as i said, i was trying to pick a side more on balance, as in players in positions they actually play or could play. Weller has been in the best nearly every game this year and he actually plays in the back pocket. I know he's in an ordinary side but to be honest i was struggling to find another backman as i don't know too many, other than NNG's. Glover is a pretty good player, played well against us and seems to have a had a decent year. I also think you may be underestimating Adams, he's a terrific backman who hasn't been beaten all year. Also provides plenty of run from half back. Again, another who actually plays in that position.

I don't reckon a team of the year should be purely about on ballers or key forwards, you've got to pick a team that would be actually realistic. For example, Tom Marsh in a back pocket isn't very realistic.

Leo, yes i know there's a few Goon boys in there, but lets be honest, they're on top of the ladder and I would've thought 5 or 6 would be walk up starts in a team of the year. As far as a Garfield backman goes, I don't know who their backman are for starters, secondly what i've seen of them in the two games this year, they weren't very impressive to be honest. I thought Ben Marsh was an onballer? If so, who would you take out of that on ball division?

Anyway, i've had a stab at it at least and I don't reckon it's that far off the mark.

I agree with tumbleweed. If a bloke doesnt make it in his normal position or atleast a position close to it,then he doesnt make it at all....

CL have lost the same amount of games as NNG Tumbleweed, Does that mean we should have 5 or 6 walk ups too?

I had 5 from CL and 5 from NNG. Realistically that is already half the side from 2 out of 15 teams. Any more and it is too many.

Blokes in poor teams tend to unfairly get overlooked for teams of the year. We saw how much of a farce it is the other year when Cameron Mooney and Joel Corey were among 9 Geelong players selected in the All-Australian team.

Shouldn't matter what team you play for. These are individual awards.

For what it's worth, the top 4 in Darnum's B+F this year would probably be, in no particular order;

Jade Jensen (Wing) that has probably had only 2-3 bad days and had 3 opponents against NNG, the benchmark of the comp.

Michael Mooney (Midfield/HBF) provides Darnum with much needed drive through those positions and rarely lowers his colours

James Hammil (Changes with Moons) racks up 30+ posessions week after week

Chris Weller (HBF/Midfield). Strange one, Chris as he can get in all sorts of trouble for a 3-4 minute period but some of his decision making is breathtaking when he takes the game on. Probably not good enough in the company mentioned, however has stepped up from last year.

I suppose if I was to name a 5th bloke, Matty Olney is a dark horse in our B+F. Rucks tirelessly for most of the day each week and has probably only been beaten by Hora only once in the 2 years he has been at the club. Im looking forward to this weekend's game to see how they go against each other. Will be an enthralling contest.

Of course, I couldnt say where any of these guys would fit in to your teams. We have only won a few games but havent really been smashed so its hard to tell.

The teams arent bad as they are, I suppose.

Anyway....

Jade Jensen (Wing) that has probably had only 2-3 bad days and had 3 opponents against NNG, the benchmark of the comp.

Don't mean to rain on your parade here plug, but don't take too much out of the fact he had 3 opponents against NNG. Reason being, NNG had a heavy rotation on that day involving their wingers, on ballers, half forwards and bench. He might've even had 5 different opponents, but it certainly wasn't because they worried about the effect he was having on the game.

Yeah, Rotations happen a lot nowadays.

He was named in our best at the bottom but I thought he was in our top 3. Typically, 3 cards go out and often to people that really know nothing much about the game.

Still in our top 4 players this year.

Yeah even more so for the Goon that day. Wade and Dore were playing up in Canberra and they also had Quinn, Kelly, Adams and a couple of others out with injury so they had to keep shuffling things around to help cover them.

I'm certainly not doubting he's a good player or up there in your B & F, you'd know a lot better about that than me.

Surkin, as i said, i was trying to pick a side more on balance, as in players in positions they actually play or could play. Weller has been in the best nearly every game this year and he actually plays in the back pocket. I know he's in an ordinary side but to be honest i was struggling to find another backman as i don't know too many, other than NNG's. Glover is a pretty good player, played well against us and seems to have a had a decent year. I also think you may be underestimating Adams, he's a terrific backman who hasn't been beaten all year. Also provides plenty of run from half back. Again, another who actually plays in that position.

I don't reckon a team of the year should be purely about on ballers or key forwards, you've got to pick a team that would be actually realistic. For example, Tom Marsh in a back pocket isn't very realistic.

Leo, yes i know there's a few Goon boys in there, but lets be honest, they're on top of the ladder and I would've thought 5 or 6 would be walk up starts in a team of the year. As far as a Garfield backman goes, I don't know who their backman are for starters, secondly what i've seen of them in the two games this year, they weren't very impressive to be honest. I thought Ben Marsh was an onballer? If so, who would you take out of that on ball division?

Anyway, i've had a stab at it at least and I don't reckon it's that far off the mark.

I agree players should be picked where they play, I reckon Marsh is better than Clint Williams.

Tough job though to pick a side without favouring your own.

Anyone see the EDFL Team of the Year in the Pakenham Gazette.

There were some terrible selections and some blokes I had never even heard of.

B: Luke McFarlane; Phil Burns; Tom Hallinan
HB: Brendan Kimber; Nathan Ruskin (wtf?); Callum Pattie (who?)
C: Jimmy Bradshaw; Ben Marsh; Russell Lehman
HF: Chris Urie; Brett Dore; Matt Robinson
F: Trevor Hooker; Beau Runnalls; Tom Marsh
R: Ben Hobgen; Rhys Morgan; Matt Wade
I: Shane Brewster; Daniel Charles (c); Luke Bee Hugo

Terrible, terrible team. No wonder other leagues consider us a joke if that is the best team they can come up with.

Just looked up Callum Pattie because I hadn't heard of him. Played 13 games for Bunyip this year and was in the best 4 times.

Odd selection.

EDFL Team of the Year