EFL: Vermont V Donvale

East Burwood won colts & 2's

Vermont won by 8 points in the 1's.

Shocking conditions played their part with all three games scrappy and low scoring.

I was calling the game for the League's DVD of the game. Nasty conditions both on and off the truck. Torrential rain until about 11am. The rain held off for most of the Seniors, though the ground was waterlogged without puddles on the ground. The smaller men came to the fore with Bardon and Cassidy doing damage around the ground for the Eagles as did their tireless ruckman Brad Hall. The Magpies were well served by Col Sandbrook, Jason Casey, ruckman Ryan Power and Hayden Cotsford.

Vermont 3.2 4.2 4.6 5.7-37
Donvale 1.2 4.3 4.4 4.4-28

Vermont
Goal Kickers: M. GREIG 2, M. SMITH, A. FROUD, G. MCCARTHY
Best Players: K. BARDON, B. HALL, M. SMITH, R. CASSIDY

Donvale
Goal Kickers: R. POWER, G. MACKAY, J. ANSTEY, B. O''CONNER
Best Players: C. SANBROOK, J. CASEY, H. COTSFORD, J. WADE, R. POWER, B. FLOWER

The news filtered through to Bayswater that in the YVMDFL Grand Final, there was only one goal each at half time and that Monbulk led Silvan by 15 points (4 goals to 1). Not a day for high scoring footy!

igt22265 said:
As a former Donvale player,
I have been told,
that for the 7th? time this is Warren Thomas' last game
for the aformentioned,
so expect fireworks,
cos he isn't usually the happiest camper.
I am actually going to fly in from Adelaide.

They are pretty pumped to be in their i tells ya.
Only seen them once this year,
and that was against Croydon.

Looked ok.

Billy seems to know what he is doing.,
I used to play for Vermont but for the 1st time EVER, missed the Granny today.
Was getting live score updates all day via phone, and it was great to hear the Eagles notch up another one. The only thing to top that would have been if Thomas had have been knocked into next week, and the weak **** gotten given back at least 1% of what he is owed.

That bloke is a weak-as-p1ss sniper, and I'd shout the bloke all night who took that p1ss-ant out.

Crowd pretty good considering the weather. 6 to 7 thousand perhaps.

Looked like it was going to be Donvale's match for large portions of the day.

In a very low scoring match, Donvale kicked a goal one second before half time to snatch the lead.

Then Grattan Stephens (Vermont) took a mark about 40 meters out right on the three-quarter time siren, but mysteriously the umps heard the siren before the mark was taken and the ball was taken off Stephens before he could have a shot.

Against the wind, Vermont dominated general play in the last quarter to thoroughly earn their win.

The Eagles were well served by ex-Hawthorn and Box Hill players in Kris Bardon, Ryan Cassidy, Ryan Mullett and Kris Barlow. Cassidy's tackling was outstanding.

Congrats to coach David Banfield on a job well done.

Word was that the crowd was between 5000 and 5500. Reasonable considering the foul weather on Saturday morning, though a nicer day would have meant the crowd would have got around 9000-10000 like previous seasons. Many neutrals seemed to have stayed away due to the weather.

OneEyedHawk said:
I used to play for Vermont but for the 1st time EVER, missed the Granny today.
Was getting live score updates all day via phone, and it was great to hear the Eagles notch up another one. The only thing to top that would have been if Thomas had have been knocked into next week, and the weak **** gotten given back at least 1% of what he is owed.

That bloke is a weak-as-p1ss sniper, and I'd shout the bloke all night who took that p1ss-ant out.

HAHAHA Warren thomas weak as ********, your kidding, mate it is blokes like you he has got bluffed. He takes whatever comes his way and doesnt complain like the little b itch that you are, having a sook on the internet.

You'd have to shout someone else cos u'd be too scared to do it urself. Mate let me know of how many 37 y/o there are running around still playing good footy. The blokes an out an out gun.Sit back down!

Out and out gun you reckon!From memory dont think he got a stat in GF,I'll check the Video with interest.

ECHUCABOY said:
he probably did more than bardon.............

must be alright to play over 300 efl games and play in 12 flags geek.

From what he said through beer goggles on Sat Nite, he's playing on,
actually he has to, too keep the games record from Shaggy Nash.

I flew in from Adelaide to watch it,
saw a ton of people haven't seen in yonks,
back at the club was the usual pandemonium,
bar shut at 1am, then out the back for the skullfest 'til dawn.

Won't mention who carried on the most,
but if you have been up there,
you could easily guess.
Place never changes.

EFL: Vermont V Donvale