Ellinbank Football League

What does everyone think about Nilma Darnums push to extend the interchange to 4? Personally i think that the idea has merit. The main reason is that often teams can be decimated by injuries and can find themselves with no interchange in the last quarter while the other team runs all over the top of them. The quarters in the seniors seem to go for an absurdly long time so i reckon an interchange of 4 would be goood.

I don't think that the quarters are too long but an extra player on the bench would be good. More opportunity for players to get a senior game.

I do know Easty quite well and yes he is a very good player. But IF he said he wouldnt play under certain coaches (Hendrikse and Morgan) then he is putting his club in an awkward position. In my opinion the club is bigger than any individual and you cant have players dictating to the club who they will and wont play under.

Brent Eastwell is in my eyes one of the three best country footballers i have played with/seen. Add andy soumalis (garf) and Nick collins (NNG) as the other 2.
Brent needed to get out of EDFL anyway, he is way to good for it. WGLFL is a huge step up, but an easy one for brent. Gives 110% every game, might go overboard a little bit as a coach, but learning off Ben soumalis at Garfield he will become a better leader, which inturn will make him EVEN better as a player.
He wouldnt learn a hell of lot playing under another coach in the EDFL.
Nothing away from Hendrikse who is a good coach, but Brent has made the right move.

On the Cowell watch, seems he has been a prize recruit for NNG after moving over from R.O.C, showing his true signs on the weekend in the win over Lang Lang.

Best on ground having 35 touches and 15 solid marks playing Centre Half-Forward. Anyone see the game?

On the Cowell watch, seems he has been a prize recruit for NNG after moving over from R.O.C, showing his true signs on the weekend in the win over Lang Lang.

Best on ground having 35 touches and 15 solid marks playing Centre Half-Forward. Anyone see the game?

Yeah mate he played OK, did not have a huge impact on the results. NNG were lucky to win with Lang Lang missing there 2 best onballers. For Nar Nar Goon Oldmeadow is a standout.

on eastwell. i played under the bloke last year, and is the best footballer/coach i have played with or against. no player has an effect on the result like he does. I subsequently left the club this year because it is a completely different place. i'm now about as welcome as mick mcguane was when he went to carlton. the day, if ever, brent goes back to buln, i'll be straight back there.

Cheers.

Its a good idea. Maybe the 4th man on the bench could be a 3rds player. That way they have already had a game so if they dont get much ground time it doesnt matter. Also a way for clubs to introduce young blokes into the seniors.

Just cos nilma have injuries we dont need a 4th player on the bench. Its not the AFL, 3 is enough for our footy. Wouls just mean an extra senior player clubs would have to find.

I also have heard Gilliatte is carrying a bit extra this year and i also hear this Tootoo guy is someone ya dont want to run into on a footy field, big man!

Have seen Buln play this year, Hendrikse is no where near the player Eastwell is, Buln dont have many blokes who are prepared to put there head over the ball, will be found out by some of the more physical sides.

Its a good idea. Maybe the 4th man on the bench could be a 3rds player. That way they have already had a game so if they dont get much ground time it doesnt matter. Also a way for clubs to introduce young blokes into the seniors.

excellent idea. except in the case of teams like the dusties, where you don't really have the junior depth, and the only thirds player worthy of a ones game, is already playing. and with the injuries we're having...we've about milked the twos now as well.

Cowell came runner-up in the league goalkicking for the thirds in west gippy a few years ago. To me.

Round 4 tipping

Buln Buln v » Longwarry (close game)
Poowong v » Nyora
Lang Lang v » Koo Wee Rup
Cora Lynn v » Nar Nar Goon
Nilma Darnum v » Warragul Industrials (toss of the coin)
Ellinbank v » Neerim Neerim South
Bunyip v » Catani

well. dustinmal. i have no idea. could go either way. both sides need to get on the board. if we can get our forward line going, or darnum can get their whole side going, its anyones game. i'd like to see us get up, coz me little bro plays there, goodie. big bragging rights on the line.

flip of the coin.

cheers.

Yeah i'm going with the dusties, haven't heard much about them but they have been beaten by some good sides in Poowong and CL. BigBadMal's power rating program has them winning by a few goals too.

Round 4 tipping

Buln Buln v Longwarry 24 pts
Poowong v » Nyora 52 pts
Lang Lang v Koo Wee Rup 38 pts
Cora Lynn v Nar Nar Goon 67 pts
Nilma Darnum v Warragul Industrials 11 pts
Ellinbank v Neerim Neerim South 8 pts
Bunyip v Catani 37 pts

we are probably a quality midfielder or two short as well. you can have 3 60 goal forwards, but at the end of the day, you need the supply. and that has not been forthcoming in round 1,2 & 3. need Nathan Vanderplight to come back from injury & dave bracken to fire. then we might start winning some games.

cheers.

Pull ya head in goodie, an umprie is not going to make 14 goals difference. You attacking wingman couldnt stop this davis bloke, how about they man up if he is killing ya, not every wingman can be attacking.
Whelan is a gun, everyone in the league knows that, maybe he deseved some more respect from the darmun coaches who obviously thought the league would be sh!t. Whelan and Sheehan have kicked 11 against darmun, ya still got osler, ablett, donaldson and the catani forwards to come up against. Long year ahead and a lot of cash wasted for the darnos i think.

Ballentyne is a good umpire, always fair from what i have seen, has done a good job in the last few GF's.

Bunyip were good today but each week it still looks like nyora and catani are the standouts.
i suppose you are right. i have also seen ballentyne umpire a fair few games and even last year when darnum was a bad onfield club, behaviour wise, he umpired us fairly. this week though i though he was a little down, as did a fair few of the NNS boys. but that happens, not everyone can be perfect every game.
The forwards are getting the upper hand, yes, please read my earlier post in regard to this issue.

on eastwell. i played under the bloke last year, and is the best footballer/coach i have played with or against. no player has an effect on the result like he does. I subsequently left the club this year because it is a completely different place. i'm now about as welcome as mick mcguane was when he went to carlton. the day, if ever, brent goes back to buln, i'll be straight back there.

Cheers.

Hi Papa
Whats your view on Buln Buln this season (if you dont mind commenting). They have a tough draw. Do you think they will make top 6 this year? I believe they have a good chance of knocking Longwarry off this week and they really need to if they want to push for finals. Their last 3 games are against Nyora, Longwarry and Catani so they will probably need enough wins before then.

It looks like you need 11 wins (maybe 10) to definitely make the top 6.

Cheers

well dustin. last year when i was at buln, we finished one game out the finals (i think). the loss of brent eastwell is massive, regardless of who you pick up. They will do well this year, but should fail to get across the line, having to play against the big 3 in the last 3 games. having said that, i'm not there this year, i dont know what the cultures like.... ask ferga18. he'll know, given he is still there.

cheers.

Whats he like? Tall? Solid? Fast?

well dustin. last year when i was at buln, we finished one game out the finals (i think). the loss of brent eastwell is massive, regardless of who you pick up. They will do well this year, but should fail to get across the line, having to play against the big 3 in the last 3 games. having said that, i'm not there this year, i dont know what the cultures like.... ask ferga18. he'll know, given he is still there.

cheers.

Fair enough, thanks. Yes they have many new faces there. Most of us on here tipped them to finish top 6 but looks to me like it will be next year. Could be wrong though.

With Catani and Nyora so strong will be tough for any other team to make the GF i spose.

Computer Tips Round 4 -

Buln Buln v Longwarry 29 points
Poowong v Nyora 9 points
Lang Lang v Kooweerup 65 points
Cora Lynn v Nar Nar Goon 12 points
Nilma Darnum v Warragul Industrials 21 points
Ellinbank v Neerim Neerim Sth 37 points
Bunyip v Catani 56 points

poowong to beat nyora? thats interesting. though this week will prove whether they are the real deal or is brett anthony & jess attenborough just flogging understrength sides with unforgiving run & flawless disposal?

apparently, some one at school said - nyora apparently dobbed poowong in for their water useage, if this is true, could be an interesting day.
how will poowong survive to pay their players, if they are fined say 15 grand?