• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Ellinbank Football League

Eastern Swans Football Club Mackay Queensland, is looking for a senior coach and players. The Swans finished runners up in last years Mackay AFL competition.

Mackay is a booming mining city, which services the Bowen basin. Great work opportunities available.

If interested, call Troy Stephens on 0434 593 762 or send a private message to me (loopyboots).

hmmmm........

why don't you target places that are even remotely near QLD?

Mainly because you need to target players away from the area. Majority of QLD is rugby league focused so you just cant poach players from the adjacent league, as that is 300km away. Also people are looking to work in the mining industry to earn the big $$ and are willing to move and that is the main reason for posting.

Regards

Heard today that the Ellinbank league will be split into two divisions by 2010, and that Korumburra, Phillip Island, Killy Bass from the Alberton League and Yarragon from Mid-Gippsland will be joining. Leaving the league with 18 teams, 9 in each division with a team having a bye each week. And that Wonthaggi Power will be joining either West-Gippsland La Trobe or Casey Cardinia. Anybody know anything about this?

yeah big article on the back of this weeks sentinel times. From the way i read it these changes have already been decided upon by the VCFL and will happen. For mine, big mistake to mess with the EDFL leauge as it is currently running excellent, why should EDFL have to change just because alberton sucks. Also would add significant travel time to what was a well positined leauge, from my maths neerim to phillip island would be a 90 minute trip. Plus with the size of the town of korumburra why arent they forced to go to a better leauge, surely a team that has 48 U18's on the track at current they would be not a great fit for the smaller sized towns currently in the EDFL. Im imagining the EDFL officials and clubs will try to fight this desicion to keep the EDFL the way it is.

I agree, let them fix there own problems.

Korumburra should be in the WGLFL, town of over 5000 people and only support one side, most underachieving club around by a long way. Leave our league as a small town league, gives everyone a chance to compete.

If the alberton league could fight the changes surely our league can do the same, leave it how it is why is works.

hmmmm.........

sounds okay in theory, but no need to fix what aint broke.

gippsland must be the most rooted area for footy. where else in victoria/australia to teams just change leagues when it doesn't suit?

Name The two dvisions.

Southern
Korumburra
Phillip Island
Kilcunda Bass
Poowong
Nyora
Catani
Lang Lang
Koo Wee Rup
Cora Lynn

Northern
Nilma Darnum
Yarragon
Neerim Neerim South
Buln Buln
Longwarry
Bunyip
Warragul Industrials
Ellinbank
Nar Nar Goon

I like it.

Get it Done.

hmmmm.........

sounds okay in theory, but no need to fix what aint broke.

gippsland must be the most rooted area for footy. where else in victoria/australia to teams just change leagues when it doesn't suit?

Name The two dvisions.

Division 1
Korumburra
Phillip Island
Kilcunda Bass
Poowong
Nyora
Catani
Lang Lang
Koo Wee Rup
Cora Lynn

Division 2
Nilma Darnum
Yarragon
Neerim Neerim South
Buln Buln
Longwarry
Bunyip
Warragul Industrials
Ellinbank
Nar Nar Goon

I like it.

Get it Done.

Will be like that. Would have to swap Koo Wee and the Goon.

Let them fix there own problems, they have had heaps of meetings and votes to change things but nothing happens. The clubs let wonthaggi in and now they want them out, its there fault what happened so its there mess to fix. Our league does not have to except it if clubs dont want to, like when garfield wanted in to the league 2 years ago.

I like it. Means we don't have to play swamp rats.