Everyone's Opinion

mialla roo

Rookie
Mar 27, 2008
dingley village
As always after a loss some major concerns always rear there ugly head. But so far this season i believe some positive things are happening. Lets face it we got cocky against Essendon then relaxed , do that in modern football and a la fremantle against Melbourne you will lose big time its a momentum game. We matched a grand finalist fancy for about 96 % of the game , the Swans smashed us hard for 4 qtrs [ body wise ] we were physically tired and smashed but should of still won, had Paul Roos do his usual mistake then apologise[ Bloody Cheats]. And saturday night some major selection bludders in damp conditions. ALL THAT A SIDE.

My point is we have played some good footy with improvment to come as season progresses our fitness will improve, the young fellows will improve we will improve.

Give your prediction [ a HONEST prediction ] on where the mighty roos will finish. MINE IS = 5th to 6th . Give finals a shake.:);):eek::D:p:thumbsu:

Under the current selection criteria and game plan, we may sneak in, so 7th - 8th.

I would rather blood and play the younger blokes and finish outside the 8.

we got smashed saturday night,no doubt about it but to talk about sacking the coach,dropping wellsy,shaggers&pratt is crap! no doubt the same people banging on were writing the same thing after round 4last year!all we need is a big win to get a bit of confidence-we get a few wins under our belt i reckon we can finish 4th&hopefully cause a few upsets in the finals!

we got smashed saturday night,no doubt about it but to talk about sacking the coach,dropping wellsy,shaggers&pratt is crap! no doubt the same people banging on were writing the same thing after round 4last year!

Hear! Hear!

we got smashed saturday night,no doubt about it but to talk about sacking the coach,dropping wellsy,shaggers&pratt is crap! no doubt the same people banging on were writing the same thing after round 4last year!all we need is a big win to get a bit of confidence-we get a few wins under our belt i reckon we can finish 4th&hopefully cause a few upsets in the finals!

on the money. We do need to step up a gear and get a few blokes back into form.

Like a lot of other sides we do have a few deficencies, need some of these young blokes out of the side like McMahon (sure it will happen when he is fully fit), Uruqhart, Hansen, Riggio and Swallow to name a few to really go on and put some of the seniors on notice. We have seen great development from LT and Flash this season, need some of these other guys beating down the door, big improvement from these guys will be needed to get the team to the next level.

I definately think we will push top 4. :thumbsu:

If we get a reasonable run with injuries and suspensions, we should finish between 5th and 8th. I think we'd be lucky to finish top 4 but I would have said that at this time last year as well. The 2 points from the draw might very well come back to haunt us.

Between 2-8 but if we dropped out it wouldn'tbe all bad. This draft is said to be strong and we have to get the best we can now or else we are ____ed in 2 years with the GC getting all those picks.

As always after a loss some major concerns always rear there ugly head. But so far this season i believe some positive things are happening. Lets face it we got cocky against Essendon then relaxed , do that in modern football and a la fremantle against Melbourne you will lose big time its a momentum game. We matched a grand finalist fancy for about 96 % of the game , the Swans smashed us hard for 4 qtrs [ body wise ] we were physically tired and smashed but should of still won, had Paul Roos do his usual mistake then apologise[ Bloody Cheats]. And saturday night some major selection bludders in damp conditions. ALL THAT A SIDE.

My point is we have played some good footy with improvment to come as season progresses our fitness will improve, the young fellows will improve we will improve.

Give your prediction [ a HONEST prediction ] on where the mighty roos will finish. MINE IS = 5th to 6th . Give finals a shake.:);):eek::D:p:thumbsu:

I went to the game on Saturday in Adelaide and came away v disappointed, last night, still fuming, i looked at the fixture and made some predictions based on our form to date this year, so unless there are some real changes on field in terms of performance (cattle and the coach share equal responsibility for making this happen) i predict the following:

rd 8 WC win
rd 9 Dogs lose
rd 10 Lions lose
rd 11 Cats lose
rd 12 Freo win
rd 13 Hawks lose
rd 14 Saints win
rd 15 Port lose
rd 16 Pies win
rd 17 Melb win
rd 18 Lions could go either way
rd 19 Dogs lose
rd 20 Blues could go either way
rd 21 Cats lose
rd 22 Port could go either way

5 wins
7 loses
3 could go either way

We will finish 10th or 11th.

As i said this is based on form to date. Don't get me wrong i want North to succeed and i will still pick North in my tips, go to all the games including a couple more interstate games but you cannot be a finals contender playing the way we have been. :(

Hard to say. I don't think we've really got our game together by any means and we've only won 3 from 7 yet we're in the 8.

The Essendon game was a disaster. It appears that Essendon are now going to be utter crap for the rest of year, but they smashes us. If we narrowly fall short of whatever we want this year, we can blame Round 1. Most sides will get 4 points and some percentage against the Bombers - we got nothing and our percetage suffered.

Looking back, the Richmond win was probably our best effort - 4 solid quarters against a side who have been pretty competitive apart from that game.

Hawthorn was a brave effort but a combination of fatigue and stupidity cost us. No one has challenged the Hawks like we did...but we lost.

We did what we had to do against Melbourne without ever really putting our foot down.

I think we stole the Collingwood game but the last 20 minutes was the best we've played this year. Otherwise it was a struggle (still sweet to win it!)

As mentioned, Sydney really bashed us and we withstood it and then gained control, only to give it back again. I was happy enough with that result, but again, we never really got going.

Last Saturday was just bad.

Overall, we have just got by yet we're in the mix. I think there's a lot of scope for improvement. We've had our worst run of injury for a while too. I think we'll get better, but we have a tough draw so we'd want to. I think we'll finish 5-8 which, after a Preliminary Final, is the minimum pass mark, but hopefully we'll be more competitive in finals if we get there.

I went to the game on Saturday in Adelaide and came away v disappointed, last night, still fuming, i looked at the fixture and made some predictions based on our form to date this year, so unless there are some real changes on field in terms of performance (cattle and the coach share equal responsibility for making this happen) i predict the following:

rd 8 WC win
rd 9 Dogs lose
rd 10 Lions lose
rd 11 Cats lose
rd 12 Freo win
rd 13 Hawks lose
rd 14 Saints win
rd 15 Port lose
rd 16 Pies win
rd 17 Melb win
rd 18 Lions could go either way
rd 19 Dogs lose
rd 20 Blues could go either way
rd 21 Cats lose
rd 22 Port could go either way

5 wins
7 loses
3 could go either way

We will finish 10th or 11th.

As i said this is based on form to date. Don't get me wrong i want North to succeed and i will still pick North in my tips, go to all the games including a couple more interstate games but you cannot be a finals contender playing the way we have been. :(

Fairly good summation. A few things need to change from personal on the field and no doubt we will improve with JWS, Gibbo and Sincliar coming back fully fit and prepared and a change in mindset from the coaching fraternity will see us make the finals.

There's no way I can see us beating Geelong (X2), the BL's in the Gabba or Port in AAMI. Our very best case scenario is 14.5 wins. That'll get us in the top 4 you'd think. However, there are some other results that could easily go pear-shaped (DogsX2, Hawks).

Top 8 is still likely a real possibility for mine. All depends on what the hell our team care to do on match day vs any opposition that isn't playing relentless, attacking, hard running, tackling & disciplined footy over 4Q.

Let's not kid ourselves... our team as a collective unit can be extremely competitive on any given day but the fire in the belly to play inspiring footy (4Q's) in consecative weeks is a stretch. Expect the 2.5 quarters of reasonable footy to get the job done in most of the matches.

It's whether we can pinch those extra wins being the underdog team on the day that determines how high we finish. 11-14 wins beckons.

One can only go on current form.
There are 15 games remaining. We are currently 3-3-1
We would have to win 10 out of the last 15 to make the top 4 as a minimum. This will not happen.
All sides will be saying the same things as we are here, and that is improvement will occur.
We have a difficult draw, and IMO the next 4 games will determine our fate for this season.
We all live in hope that fortunes will change and we will strike a rich vein of form, however i must be honest and say on current form and what we have dished up so far in 08, we are going to struggle to make the 8.
A 9-11 finish is on the cards IMO.

I believe that we can finish no higher than 7th and shouldn't be any lower than 12th.

While this is disappointing there is so much happening off the field. We have a future in Melbourne, new sponsors and over 32,000 members.

All I can ask for as a member is that the team tries its best and battles out all games and doesn't throw in the towel.

I believe that we can finish no higher than 7th and shouldn't be any lower than 12th.

While this is disappointing there is so much happening off the field. We have a future in Melbourne, new sponsors and over 32,000 members.

All I can ask for as a member is that the team tries its best and battles out all games and doesn't throw in the towel.

Fair call snapperbowler... but the last sentence is shenanigan talk. :D

fair dinkum.. we've been in 2nd gear for much of the journey with positive opening quarters but ........ :rolleyes: spluttering in most of second stanza's.

Only a handful of players are busting their arses... the others are just making cameo appearances in bursts. That is the reality not the lines of ...
team tries its best and battles out all games and doesn't throw in the towel. pffft! If that was the case, we'd be 7-0.

Fair call snapperbowler... but the last sentence is shenanigan talk. :D

fair dinkum.. we've been in 2nd gear for much of the journey with positive opening quarters but ........ :rolleyes: spluttering in most of second stanza's.

Only a handful of players are busting their arses... the others are just making cameo appearances in bursts. That is the reality not the lines of ...
team tries its best and battles out all games and doesn't throw in the towel. pffft! If that was the case, we'd be 7-0.

Yep. I reckon we have been average at best so far this season. Our skills are horrendous & it was one of the main reason we lost against the Crows. Our intensity is shit & so far no one can explain why this has been the reason.

I would rather blood and play the younger blokes and finish outside the 8.

Absolutely.

I don't care where we finish this year if I can trade it in for 5 youngsters blooded and showing improvement by years end ready to get off to a flyer in 2009.

I just want SOMETHING to make me believe we are seriously heading in flag direction.

I am sick of treading water.

Yeah, got to laugh at some posters saying they would rather blood youngsters and miss the finals rather than have another crack at finals footy where anything can happen....
After our incredible off season it would be such a sad end to see the team not make the top 8. Premiers and nothing less for me :thumbsu:

Same here Grossy.....

Some of the above posts point out one glaring thing:

We're doing a crappy job of controlling our own controllables!

Skills? We have control over them. Our disposals should hit targets. Simple! It can improve.

Pressure/effort? Again, it's something we can control and, I suspect, is something which will definitely improve.

No flags are handed out in May. The Hawks, Cats and Dogs can have their own threesome to celebrate how great they are right now for all I care. Look at Port prior to the weekend. Did we think they were that bad? Of course not.

Nor are we. We should be 4 and 2 AT LEAST, and there's a very long way to go.

Apart from Adelaide and Geelong, I'm confident we CAN beat every other team in the bloody league on our day.

T'toes

Everyone's Opinion