Fastest player of all time

Who is the fastest player in the history of the game?

I will nominate ex-Swan Jamie Lawson as the fastest player I've ever seen.

He was very quick, but his diminutive size may have made him look faster than he was. Poor fella broke his leg at the MCG just when he was really getting good and never ran again. Must have been devastating for him.

fastest in regards to what? fastest with the ball? fastest without the ball? fastest to the eski with the beers in it after the game?

I reckon the players today are faster then the ones of previous era's, but that is due to the natural way of life and how the body is getting fitter and stronger as each generation progresses.

Fastest to the drinks might have been dipper, billy or someone who played in the 80's, early 90's? :p

• Banned
He was very quick, but his diminutive size may have made him look faster than he was. Poor fella broke his leg at the MCG just when he was really getting good and never ran again. Must have been devastating for him.

Yeah they had it listed as a 2 year injury at the time. still the longest comeback time I've heard of.

I would also nominate Mark fraser of Collingwood.

well whats the fastest results at a draft camp?

Agility Test: 7.77 - Stephen Hill
20m Sprint: 2.79 - Danyle Pearce
Repeat Sprint: 23.59 - Chris Kangars

I watched the new "Lithgow flash" Anthony Rocca sprint like a frozen slug from the G last week. He gets my vote for the fastest finish to a comeback.

Remember pluggers comeback game? From memory he spent most of it on the sidelines or on the bike, did his hammy i think, and i dont think he lasted too long on the actual ground either...

Jarrod Atkinson runs 2.73 secs over 20m, which is a record at Essendon. Not really old enough to know 'of all time' though.

Yeah they had it listed as a 2 year injury at the time. still the longest comeback time I've heard of.

I would also nominate Mark fraser of Collingwood.

Essendon? :D

Seriously, Fraser was quick but he wouldn't even be close to the quickest player playing today let alone all time.

The little fella from Sydney was quicker. He ran so quick he could hardly dispose of the ball.

I think his name is Walker (?), from Freo.. (Don't even know if he still plays for them :confused:)

But anyway, IIRC, he is/was pretty bloody quick.. Crap player, but he could run.

I've never seen anyone quicker from North than Flash Campbell. Has that amazing ability to turn on the burners going at full speed and up it by a good 20 per cent.

Jeez Leigh Montagna has come a long way - how pathetic was he, falling over like that?
The Joey we have today would have absolutely nailed Wojak in that situation. Not to take it away from the guy though... woah.

I reckon the players today are faster then the ones of previous era's, but that is due to the natural way of life and how the body is getting fitter and stronger as each generation progresses.

I love this comment. The natural way of life? What does that mean? It sounds like a vitamin add. Snake venom is natural, should we inject that? Seriously.

Training has improved, and there's been a concomitant improvement in professionalism. There's not evidence that people from the last few generations gone were less able to have done what is done today. This is whiggish shite at it's best.

You have to provide evidence that bodies are stronger and fitter, without training, before you can spruik this stuff.

Each generation is a bit taller than the one before. On average. Humans are getting bigger and stronger every century.

As for faster, I don't know.

But I would tip the fastest players would still be from the last 30 years, what with all the sports science which goes into maximizing a player's physical prowess, etc.

I think his name is Walker (?), from Freo.. (Don't even know if he still plays for them :confused:)

But anyway, IIRC, he is/was pretty bloody quick.. Crap player, but he could run.

apparently he chose a career in football over a career in athletics
a great 100m runner though, not really over 20m

I love this comment. The natural way of life? What does that mean? It sounds like a vitamin add. Snake venom is natural, should we inject that? Seriously.

Training has improved, and there's been a concomitant improvement in professionalism. There's not evidence that people from the last few generations gone were less able to have done what is done today. This is whiggish shite at it's best.

I'ts called evolution, mate. Haven't you noticed how kids are much bigger today than they were when you were at school? As each generation improves they are passing on stronger genes down the line. I thought it was a well know fact?

True to some extent. Most of the athletics world records were set in the '80s and '90s with the exception of the mens 100m, which has been broken frequently. Very few of the womens world records and mens for 400m+ have been broken in the last decade.

I'll nominate Geoff Ablett from the '70s/'80s, Guy McKenna from the '90s and Wojo from the '00s.

I recall that Shane Crawford could have been a national 800m runner had he not chosen football. Obviously not the fastest sprinter but middle distance running is quite a useful skill for football too.

Fastest player of all time