Ted's Robot

Apr 9, 2001
Victoria
At the game last sat. A friend kept telling me how much she likes Daniel Bandy and has now decided he is her new "Favourite Player".

Nathan Brown would have to be mine. I just love the way he plays, exciting, talented and a clever player. I really like his attitude outside of footy. Ok he might do some silly things but I like the fact he can look at the big picture and put things in perspective.

Who is your favourite player and why??

No doubt Johnno because of his 100% effort each week & i must agree with you Ted with Browny because my young bloke has No 17 on his back & we hav`nt seen the best of him yet.

I would find it hard to have a favourite player.

If I had to choose I would say that Libba inspires me - after watching him play - it is amazing as he never gives up. I just find him totally amazing.

But I am pleased I am not a big supporter as I don't have $42,000 to have a guernsey hanging on my wall.

Which brings me to another question on this:

If you have a favourite player, how far would you go to have there memorablia(I think that is how it spelt)?

014182aj.jpg

I don't have a stand out favorite. I like all of them.

But I do have a soft spot for Crofty and his mate Kretiuk. They have toiled so long and so hard often against overwhelming odds, against bigger opponents, against all kinds of enemy. They are battle scarred warriors who ask no quarter nor do they give it. They never complain. They rarely get the wraps they deserve or any kind of spotlight. Yet they would be, along with Libba, the first blokes you would want along side you in any battle.

1. Chris Grant.

Reasons: brilliant, classy, captain, silky skills, inspirational, captain, matchwinner, loyal, and a BLOODY GOOD BLOKE.

2. Tony Liberatore

Reasons: gutsy, gritty, determined, always gives 100%, Brownlow Medallist, shuts opponents out of the game.

My former favourite players:

Steve Macpherson, Brian Royal, Glen Coleman (mainly for when he knocked the goalposts over), Steve Wallis, Scott Wynd.

Gordo.

I have 5 standout faves and am not totally sure of the order. It would probably go like this:

1. Libba - coz he's Libba. And I don't have kids but my cats name is Libba

2. Kingsley - coz he's Kingsley. And we had a mouse named after him :)

3. Bart - because he's funny and he deserves to do well coz he is so desperate. He is also the first to fly the flag when a players in trouble

4. Lindsay - my fave of the young players. I like how he plays and he has the biggest smile at the club since Brian Royal. He's a legend

5. Harro - coz he's an under-rated gun and never plays badly, and always does what Plough wants

All time Minton - Connell, Beasley, Kellett, McGuinness and Powell would all be up there as well

My fav 5 are

Browny-Wreaks of arrogance and this will see him become our next captain.Love the fact he has a bit of fun and gets on the piss a bit:)

Johnson-Out and out gun.The smiling assasin:)

Crofty-The best baulker in the league but also slow as a turtle.So strong and injury prone:)

Kretiuk-Scary fella!

Bartlett-Purely because of the day a few of us saw him wandering around the terraces at whitten oval by himself.He is one lost fellow.It was quite funny to see him just walking around after the game as if he didnt know where he was

:)

1) The Great One - to many reasons to list but I'll retract that previous statement and attempt to list some of them:
-his abnormal genetic defect
-his dashing runs and high flying marks
-the Freo factor
-his goal kicking antics

2) Kritter - mainly for the same reasons as the Good Doctor. He is an absolute legend, I just love how we hurts people, how he digs the knees in and makes his man earn everything. I also love how he abuses his man, on my wall is the back page of the Herald Sun after we beat the Blue Baggers in 2000 of him yelling in Simon Beaumonts face and the heading "Do the words Tragic History mean anything".

3) Bart - the lethal concoction of desperation and funkiness

Past fav players - Darren Davies, Steve Wallis (tough as they come and a top bloke), Douggie, Scotty Wynd, Matty Dent, Super, Peter Foster

Very hard to choose but special mentions to:

Rohan Smith ;) , just love his graceful runs from half back and loooong goals.

Trent Bartlett - all he wants is a chance and he's prepared to show how much he wants it. Not the most talented but one of the most committed.

I also agree with everyone's comments on all the other players they have chosen.

Originally posted by TADS
[B

If you have a favourite player, how far would you go to have there memorablia(I think that is how it spelt)? [/B]

I have the great man Doug Hawkins No. 7 jumper signed and now framed. I had the jumper ever since he retired and only had it signed by him last year. As far as my favourite player and the best that i have seen, he is it no doubt.

Well my favourite player is Browny and has been since his first season..can't really remember why actually..but my other favourite players at the time were Chris and libba and it took me forever to decide which number for my jumper. He has improved a lot since then obviously and like some other ppl love the way he plays.....uses the ball well & creatively, is a bit of a character and does some frekish things.

My other faves in no order are chris, libba, westy, kretta, croft and last but not least hahn :D Though i like all the players. I think all players have something to like about them. Whether it be their skill..comitment..courage..flair whatever.

Originally posted by The_Flying_Egg
I have 5 standout faves and am not totally sure of the order. It would probably go like this:

1. Libba - coz he's Libba. And I don't have kids but my cats name is Libba

I named my Jack Russell "Libba" cause he has little legs and is tenacious like his namesake.My other favourite player is Westy,I just love the way these 2 guys put their bodies on the line week after week.

I also used to run up behind my mates and jump on their backs yelling "BEASLEY" in the 80's,so he should get a special mention.
;)

Continuing my love affair with the no. 8, (who they always give to an aggresive type, Kennedy, Toohey, Southern) i have to say Mitch Hahn. the more i see him play the more i reckon he is awesome. He has amazing hands, great balance, the ability to burst out of a pack, and is as by far the hardest of our youngsters.

Before any of you ask why this seems new...since getting involved with forums i have not claimed Mitch as my man, mostly because of HP8...i am just too obsessed with being original sometimes.

All of them are great but if any, Kritter is my fave as he is so gutsy.
Granty is a legend - he helped save the club by not peeing off to Port.

Of past players, Peter Foster, EJ, Dempsey, Cookie, Super for his singing, Beasley for all those record breaking goalkicking feats and that game he pinched from Collingwood, Templeton, Wallis.........

Fave Player and why?