Food, Drink & Dining Out Favourite Beer II

I never do with a stout like that.

So what did you think?
I just can't imagine a stout better than this?
Thought the KBS was on top of the tree, but the CBS just takes it a step further.

I'm addicted to it and have only one left.
Going to have the last one by Monday, but nothing will be the same thereafter. What to do? :)

can anyone recommend me some good entry level stouts or porters? want to have a dip but not sure where to start. cheers fellas
For a good dark beer to begin with you can’t go wrong with one of
Coopers
Abbotsford
Guinness Stout from the bottle.
Should be able to get them from most bottle shops and quite delicious

can anyone recommend me some good entry level stouts or porters? want to have a dip but not sure where to start. cheers fellas
You just getting into the darkies too hey? Barely ever had one before but was partial to a milky English ale or Newcy Brown but lately it’s all I’ve been drinking. I’ve heard the Coopers Stout is probably your best bet because after that the prices go up heaps for not much more benefit... they’re ****in 1.9 a stubbie though.

I don’t mind the Little Creatures one, Fuggle. Had it the other night. A little more chocolatey but it doesn’t taste like some chocolate beer, still has some coffee taste and less caramel-y taste (which to me can be sickly). The added benefit is they sit there longer and you’re not quickly downing them while they’re still cold and carbonated.

Right into them.

Might give the Abbotsford a go this week. Anyone know if they’re at First Choice? It’s the only bottle shop near me atm.

If you can find it, Quiet Deeds vanilla porter is a ripper. Think you can get it from Dan's but online only. Been meaning to get a slab. Not cheap, but 500ml bottles.

yeah i normally have to look online first as i'm 50 mins away from a Dan Murphys and the bottle-os in my town have the most basic & limited selections you will ever see....
i ordered a couple of the Quiet Deeds and a Founders KBS along with a few random other selections. got a couple of those Jedi Juice i've seen a few rave about as well.

have a feeling the local may have the dark coopers if anything, will drop by on the way home after knock off tomorrow

Silent Alarm and Jaxes , for entry level readily available dark beers I'd recommend the Abbotsford Invalid Stout, Coopers Extra Stout or even a Tooheys Old Dark Ale (tastes likes cigarettes a bit but). Monteiths do a decent dark beer and James Squire Porter is relatively ok. White Rabbit Dark Ale use to be good but either my taste buds changed a few years ago or they changed the recipe because I hate it now.

Kooinda Milk Porter would have to be one of my favourites of any Porter I have ever had.

Actually have a can of that Little Creatures Stout in the fridge I must try out soon.

The Creatures Stout is quite nice. A little chocolatey but nice and foamy and with that lovely coffee froth.

Been loving the Coopers stouts - decent value considering they’re 1.9 - but also Coopers Brown is very nice too. Has a more chocolatey taste but I pay it.

definitely noting all these down. tried the quiet deeds vanilla porter the other night & while it wasnt what i was expecting it grew on me a bit by the time i finished the bottle.
couldnt find the coopers at the couple of bottle-o's in town i tried, 6ers of guinness extra stout were on special though so i nabbed them instead.

wont be buying any more just yet as the bar fridge is chocked full at the moment but im hanging out to taste all the new ones i bought when i get off availability at work! wednesday cant come soon enough!

definitely noting all these down. tried the quiet deeds vanilla porter the other night & while it wasnt what i was expecting it grew on me a bit by the time i finished the bottle.
couldnt find the coopers at the couple of bottle-o's in town i tried, 6ers of guinness extra stout were on special though so i nabbed them instead.

wont be buying any more just yet as the bar fridge is chocked full at the moment but im hanging out to taste all the new ones i bought when i get off availability at work! wednesday cant come soon enough!
That Guinness is actually pretty nice, I got a king brown the other night and watched it with the soccer. I did have about 15 drinks prior but yeah.

Ok, Lately

Yellow Belly Double stout

Creamy smooth bastard for a stout, 11%, didnt get much almonds in it however got the biscuit, Way not worth the 24 dollars RRP you will find it, but love the packaging

Dainton Cherry Gripe

If you love coconut and porter, you'll ****ing love this one

Hazy Little Thing, Sierra Nevada

One of the best NEIPA's you will find boys, go buy a six pack now.

Goose island
Gillian-Decent Lambic, Love the rich strawberry in it
Juliet-Another Lambic, Not a huge fan.

Brewdog
Tropic Like its hot
Honestly one of the better gose i've tried, reminded me of nacho's
Jedi Jane-Ehhhhhhh

Modus Operandi
Yeast coast-Solid hoppy IPA,

Kooinda-Pale-2018-180524-190342.png

I had this some time ago from a bottle but this tastes completely different to that, really good. They also have an IPA 'Dangerzone' that is pretty good. Their packaging looks 100 times better than it was as well.

Little-Creatures-Fuggle-180613-154608.png

Also tried this and it was alright actually.

Guinness is $13 a six pack (440ml cans) at Dan Murphys at the moment which is insane.

Kooinda-Pale-2018-180524-190342.png

I had this some time ago from a bottle but this tastes completely different to that, really good. They also have an IPA 'Dangerzone' that is pretty good. Their packaging looks 100 times better than it was as well.

Guinness is $13 a six pack (440ml cans) at Dan Murphys at the moment which is insane.
The IPA IS good, the red ale is meh.

Yeah I had that Fuggle off tap and really liked it; it's not bland but it isn't just really chocolatey or really coffee heavy either and doesn't have that real fake caramel sense. Not a bad beer at all but I'm not sure I'd get it in a can. Seems relatively hard to butcher a stout though as most of the leeway is pretty small. Getting an IPA or pale ale is a lottery and the difference between good and shocking is huge.

Liquorland are doing $13 Kilkenny too so it's obviously some sort of competition.

Interesting though how few international stouts are in most bottle-o's. Seems the Aussie craft market is really eating it up. Guess they all have the resources, money, and name to do seasonal brewing now and get into the stouts. Main issue is from what I can, most aren't really worth the $22-30 price range when Coopers Extra Stout is 55 bucks a carton and not much worse at all.

Anyone know why Newcy Browns aren't sold anywhere anymore? See the odd can which you never used to, usually in independents, but that's about it. Dan's used to sling the bottles.

Also what's with Old Milwaukee trying to break in here? Anyone heard anything? Cool cans and novel idea, hope they start importing the nice yellow Coors from the US and get rid of the regular low alcohol, watery guff they have now.
ci-coors-banquet-2377c317e74b4b3c.jpeg

CB_HERITAGE2-450x353.jpg

US shit lager packaging has gotten great lately, ever since that Budweiser rebrand where it went retro.

Yeah I had that Fuggle off tap and really liked it; it's not bland but it isn't just really chocolatey or really coffee heavy either and doesn't have that real fake caramel sense. Not a bad beer at all but I'm not sure I'd get it in a can. Seems relatively hard to butcher a stout though as most of the leeway is pretty small. Getting an IPA or pale ale is a lottery and the difference between good and shocking is huge.

Liquorland are doing $13 Kilkenny too so it's obviously some sort of competition.

Interesting though how few international stouts are in most bottle-o's. Seems the Aussie craft market is really eating it up. Guess they all have the resources, money, and name to do seasonal brewing now and get into the stouts. Main issue is from what I can, most aren't really worth the $22-30 price range when Coopers Extra Stout is 55 bucks a carton and not much worse at all.

Anyone know why Newcy Browns aren't sold anywhere anymore? See the odd can which you never used to, usually in independents, but that's about it. Dan's used to sling the bottles.

Also what's with Old Milwaukee trying to break in here? Anyone heard anything? Cool cans and novel idea, hope they start importing the nice yellow Coors from the US and get rid of the regular low alcohol, watery guff they have now.
ci-coors-banquet-2377c317e74b4b3c.jpeg

CB_HERITAGE2-450x353.jpg

US shit lager packaging has gotten great lately, ever since that Budweiser rebrand where it went retro.
Old Milwaukee is horrible!! Worst beer I've ever had.

Food, Drink & Dining Out Favourite Beer II