Favourite Beer

@BSA5, with the Sierra Nevada stuff, you have to remember that SN is pretty much the LC of the US. The first really big Craft brewery that took of nation wide. It's very much a gateway, introduction to craft style beer. It's gonna be solid without being anything memorable.

Drinking Sierra Nevada Pale Ale for the first time. Can see where you are coming from, have heard about it many times. I think LCPA is a superior beer, balance wise, even though SN is probably more in tune with my tastes being a big whack of hoppy bitterness. Would definitely purchase again. :thumbsu:

I had a few Sierra Nevada Torpedo IPAs on the weekend. It was a decent beer, it certainly puts hair on your chest at 7.2%. I guess I'm just not a huge fan of the IPA style, I find the flavours a bit overpowering at times. I much prefer a lighter pale ale. I'll have to try their other beers though, because for an IPA I thought it was pretty good.

I had some on Saturday, just to get into the spirit of La Veulta finishing at Sierra Nevada.
Atm, drinking some 8 wired Hopwired IPA and their Tall Poppy red ale. Definitely my favourite NZ brewer.

I had a few Sierra Nevada Torpedo IPAs on the weekend. It was a decent beer, it certainly puts hair on your chest at 7.2%. I guess I'm just not a huge fan of the IPA style, I find the flavours a bit overpowering at times. I much prefer a lighter pale ale. I'll have to try their other beers though, because for an IPA I thought it was pretty good.

Enjoyed the Sierra Nevada IPA greatly. Excellent with a laksa; but I do love IPAs.

Been drinking Grand Ridge Gippsland Gold lately, it's a bit different, but I like it. Also a fan of their 'Hatlifter' Stout.

I read on Little Creatures' Facebook page that they had a special blend on their guest tap - a mix of some type of stout and their own pale ale. I was discussing this with my mate today, and we decided to try our own blend. We went to Dan's and picked up a bottle of Little Creatures Pale Ale and a bottle of Coopers Best Extra Stout. We half filled glasses with the Pale Ale and then topped it up with the Stout - our own take on a Black & Tan. It was bloody fantastic. It had the nice deep roasted grain flavours of the Stout, and the hoppiness of the Pale Ale. I highly recommend others have a go at doing this.

A few I came across on holidays and loved;

LaChouffe
McChouffe
Kwak
Lindeman's Faro
Tribute (Cornish Ale)
Proper Job (Cornish Ale)

Cannot find Tribute or Proper Job anywhere, I would love to know if there is anywhere I can buy them in Australia.

I read on Little Creatures' Facebook page that they had a special blend on their guest tap - a mix of some type of stout and their own pale ale. I was discussing this with my mate today, and we decided to try our own blend. We went to Dan's and picked up a bottle of Little Creatures Pale Ale and a bottle of Coopers Best Extra Stout. We half filled glasses with the Pale Ale and then topped it up with the Stout - our own take on a Black & Tan. It was bloody fantastic. It had the nice deep roasted grain flavours of the Stout, and the hoppiness of the Pale Ale. I highly recommend others have a go at doing this.
You should look into Black IPAs. Pretty much a mix of a stout and an IPA. Best of both worlds.

Yeastie Boys (NZ) - Pot Kettle Black
Croucher (NZ) - Patriot
Prickly Moses (VIC) - Black Panther IBA

All reasonably easy to find, and very good examples of the style.

A few I came across on holidays and loved;

LaChouffe
McChouffe
Kwak
Lindeman's Faro
Tribute (Cornish Ale)
Proper Job (Cornish Ale)

Cannot find Tribute or Proper Job anywhere, I would love to know if there is anywhere I can buy them in Australia.
I didn't think Kwak was much of a beer (certainly not compared to others in Belgium) but it comes with the all time best beer glass :thumbsu:

You should look into Black IPAs. Pretty much a mix of a stout and an IPA. Best of both worlds.

Yeastie Boys (NZ) - Pot Kettle Black
Croucher (NZ) - Patriot
Prickly Moses (VIC) - Black Panther IBA

All reasonably easy to find, and very good examples of the style.

The Wig and Pen in Canberra had their Obama IPA on tap for a while.... yep, it was black (it was also very, very good). It may have been a double IPA as well, I can't quite remember. It was certainly heavy.

Don't know if they've been mentioned but as far as wheat beer goes, Hoegaarden and Franziskanner (sp?) are excellent.

Augustiners (sp?..again) in Germany have amazing beer as well. Probably the best I've tasted.

For an everyday or social beer, I find anything Belgian is awesome. Otherwise draught will do me.

EDIT: Speaking of Belgian beers, has anyone tried Fruli? Strawberry beer which is quite sweet but nice. Can't be drank all night though and I'm yet to see it in Aus. Biggest down side is it's bright pink colour!

I have found a retailer here in Amsterdam selling the Westvleteren Blond. I didn't think that would be possible, my belief was that you could only buy from the monastery? Anyway, they were charging 10 euros per bottle, so I just bought one. Not bad at all, but considering you can get a case of lager over here for less than that, it ain't great value!

Also got myself a St Bernadus 12. Much more reasonable at 2 euros! Wonderful beer too, anyone else tried these beauties?

I have found a retailer here in Amsterdam selling the Westvleteren Blond. I didn't think that would be possible, my belief was that you could only buy from the monastery? Anyway, they were charging 10 euros per bottle, so I just bought one. Not bad at all, but considering you can get a case of lager over here for less than that, it ain't great value!

Also got myself a St Bernadus 12. Much more reasonable at 2 euros! Wonderful beer too, anyone else tried these beauties?

The Prior 8 is one of my all time favorites :thumbsu:

Drinking Sierra Nevada Pale Ale for the first time. Can see where you are coming from, have heard about it many times. I think LCPA is a superior beer, balance wise, even though SN is probably more in tune with my tastes being a big whack of hoppy bitterness. Would definitely purchase again. :thumbsu:

Considering LC based their beer on Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, that's kind of funny.

I just picked up a mixed dozen of Paulaner's finest and am looking forward to knocking off a Salvator this weekend :D

Considering LC based their beer on Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, that's kind of funny.

I just picked up a mixed dozen of Paulaner's finest and am looking forward to knocking off a Salvator this weekend :D

Can definitely see the similarirites, but LC edges ahead for me. Probably due to the freshness, have had quite a few fond memories of it on tap in Fremantle.

Never said I don't agree.

I rated Little Creatures Pale a 4.47 and Sierra Nevada a 4.15 on Beer Advocate.

LCPA is just a fraction more complex which is why I rated it slightly better.

Morally, yes. But they pop up everywhere across Eu at stupid prices. I tried getting through on the phone number they take orders on when I lived in the UK, but no luck. So just before we left to come back to Australia in mid 09, we stopped by at the monastery, and I had a glass of Westy 12 and a platter of belgian cheeses and ham, while sitting in the courtyard out the back in the sun, watching the locals cycle by. Probably was the location as well, but it was the

Best.Beer.Ever

And I managed to get a bottle (full) to take with. It's still sitting in the darkest coldest part of the kitchen cupboard.

St Bernadus used to make the brews for the St Sixtus (Westvleteren) monks up until the early 90's. I'd imagine they kept the recipe and yeast strain, and they're nearby so I'd guess the water isn't that much different. I've had the Abt 12, and apart from seeming like it was more carbonated (unless that bottle was a gusher), it wasn't that much different to a Westy 12.

You can get the St Bernadus when available at Platinum Liquor in Nth Strathfield. I've got a Prior 8 waiting for the right moment, next to my Westy 12.

Don't know if they've been mentioned but as far as wheat beer goes, Hoegaarden and Franziskanner (sp?) are excellent.

Did a road trip to Melbourne for the GF :)mad:), and stopped at Beechworth on the way. Must say I'm very impressed with the Bridge Road Brewery range. The Celtic Red is a ripper. Took a variety pack home, and had the Hefeweizen last night. Very similar to the Weihenstephaner Hefe (bananas and cloves), which is my favourite wheat beer.

Mrs handypoint bought me a "Brew 50 Litres of your own beer at a Microbrewery" experience a while back, and I finally did it last weekend, was heaps of fun. Followed a recipe that is meant to produce a brew similar to Bass Pale Ale. Bottling in a months time. If it turns out good, I might head back every few months.

Did a road trip to Melbourne for the GF :)mad:), and stopped at Beechworth on the way. Must say I'm very impressed with the Bridge Road Brewery range. The Celtic Red is a ripper. Took a variety pack home, and had the Hefeweizen last night. Very similar to the Weihenstephaner Hefe (bananas and cloves), which is my favourite wheat beer.
Mate the Bridge Rd Red is one of my favourites. Used to be able to get it on tap at the Royston in Richmond - amazing. Stoked I found a place in Canberra that sells it.

Currently having a longneck of the Rogue American Amber with dinner. Got to say I'm a little bit disappointed, just tastes a bit....thin. Not the full range of flavour I was expecting from an Amber. Anyone else ever had it before?

Bought a Burleigh Heads Brewery "My Wife's Bitter" today. I have to say, that is the best name for a beer I have ever come across. Not a bad drop either. Pretty easy drinking.

Murrays 2IPA.

Not that bitter, supposed to be a 'double' IPA. It was ceratinly hoppy, but didn't have a punch in the face bitterness that I expected. Also not that boozy, at 7 and a bit percent I think you'd expect it to be more so. Still a fantastic beer though, would drink again.