Favourite city

I have heaps of fav' places - seems every time I go somewhere new it becomes a fav!

San Fransisco - beautiful city & very scenic
New York - amazing, loved every minute of it, from the 'touristy' things to the shopping :D
Las Vegas - where I'm sure the saying 'only in America' originated!
Will stop with the U.S. cities here as I could go on all night.....

Meg - I was also in the Maldives last year, the only words to describe it would be 'Paradise on Earth' - even that's an understatement.

Oh, and whilst it's not a city, (it sure felt like it was!) Disney World in Orlando - OMG :D

1. Manhattan NY, NY - fan phucking tastic particularly when you can blagg 5 star accomodation and know ppl to show you round and take you out....

2. Melbourne - you can take the boys out of...

3. Amsterdam - great every time

4. Chicago - in summer only

5. Prada/ Prague: - beautiful and quite naughty

Haven't been to Latin America or South America but have heard good things...

Least favourite I've been too..

1. Adelaide - bored rigid by Sunday lunchtime after getting in Saturday morning... yawnnnnnnnnarama (no offence guys but... sheeesh! - think I get a bit agoraphobic)

2. Venice - one big overrated cynical rip off - the whole of Italy is beautiful but Venice thinks it can charge you 3 times as much and give you 1/2 as much back.

3. LA - what a disaster area

Outside Australia: Mana Island, Fiji! :)

In Australia: Hobart! Born here and will never live to the mainland! But Victoria is the home of footy so I dont mind visiting Melbourne!

BSA, Hobart is a CITY! not a town!

DEVO MATE!!! ANOTHER FRENCHY, join the club :D

For me I love Paris but yes its a well known fact that they aren't the nicest people in France (you should see their driving, once you've driven in Paris on the autoroute, you can drive anywhere ;)) A lot of the other french cities are nice. In fact, I like a lot of the European cities but have never really visited Germany, the main cities anyway.

A bit closer to home, living in Singapore for five years I must say that its a great city and also Sydney is a nice city as well.

Vis

Originally posted by Visro:
DEVO MATE!!! ANOTHER FRENCHY, join the club :D

For me I love Paris but yes its a well known fact that they aren't the nicest people in France (you should see their driving, once you've driven in Paris on the autoroute, you can drive anywhere ;)) A lot of the other french cities are nice. In fact, I like a lot of the European cities but have never really visited Germany, the main cities anyway.

A bit closer to home, living in Singapore for five years I must say that its a great city and also Sydney is a nice city as well.

Vis

I love Paris... My mum and dad come from France, I was born and live in Darwin...

Paris is such an awesome city but yes they are very arrogant. I stayed 3 months on an exchange with my aunty, and goddamn some of them are very arrongant... A lot more arrogant then most of the tourists would see...

I also like Alsace and southern France, but i get pissed off by all the relatives showing you around!

In Australia i'd have to say Sydney. Not that ive been everywhere. Melbourne wasnt bad but Sydney is much better for a tourist. I didn't think Brisbane was all it was made out to be. But by far the best city to go to is Darwin (Note sarcasm)

Phil

Well the best place of all is the French and Swiss alps.

I just remembered, the MOST BEAUTIFUl city in the world has to be Geneva, the place is unbelievable. Set next to Lac Leman anyone who hasn't been there must, and dont worry if you cant speak french cause in summer there would be more yanks there. Hell, when you go there in the middle of winter and pass 4 american couples jogging by you know its an international city all right :D

Hey Darky mate...its three against one...THE FRENCH ARE ON TOP!! :D

Probably La Roche Sur Yon in the Nante region of France. Also a little island off Noumea (New Caledonia) had the most beautiful beaches and water I have ever been to.

I haven't been able to do much travel outside the states, but I keep hearing great things about melbourne :D I look forward to visiting soon hopefully. However, inside the states, I'd say that my favourite place would be Georgia.

Originally posted by blurain2:
I haven't been able to do much travel outside the states, but I keep hearing great things about melbourne :D I look forward to visiting soon hopefully. However, inside the states, I'd say that my favourite place would be Georgia.

You've heard right, blurain2. Melbourne is a great place to visit but even a greater place to live! After 23 years here(Chicago), then 25 years in Melbourne and another year back here again... I'm heading back to Melbourne to live in June. Here I come Western Bulldogs, Melbourne Storm, Crown Casino, etc., etc., etc. :D :D :D

------------------
"Sons of the West, red, white and blue..."
"Oh say, can you see..."
"California dreamin'..."
THE TRINITY OF SONGS

Originally posted by Chicago1:
You've heard right, blurain2. Melbourne is a great place to visit but even a greater place to live! After 23 years here(Chicago), then 25 years in Melbourne and another year back here again... I'm heading back to Melbourne to live in June. Here I come Western Bulldogs, Melbourne Storm, Crown Casino, etc., etc., etc. :D :D :D

Hi, Chicago1....I've heard that it was a great place to live as well. A dear friend has been very adamant about trying to convince me to move to Australia. I certainly look forward to my time there, and see first hand how lovely it is. It must be some place special if you are going to move back once again. :)

Originally posted by blurain2:

Hi, Chicago1....I've heard that it was a great place to live as well. A dear friend has been very adamant about trying to convince me to move to Australia. I certainly look forward to my time there, and see first hand how lovely it is. It must be some place special if you are going to move back once again. :)

blurain2:

I lived in Perth for one year(1989) but missed Melbourne too much and moved back. I thought I'd give it a go back here in the states, but since I spent my adulthood (half my life) in Australia, I think more like an Aussie than an American. I also miss the footy, fish 'n chips, the pace of life, Crown Casino, etc. Make sure you see a footy match if you go. Hey... why not join the Western Bulldogs? We need as many supporters as we can get! Have a look at the Melbourne Storm Rugby League team as well. Never liked this brand of football until the Storm was set up in Melbourne. Went to Sydney to see them win the Premiership in 1999. Most exciting sporting moment of my life!

Just wish I could get rid of this darn American accent! :D

------------------
"Oh say, can you see..."
"California dreamin'..."
THE TRINITY OF SONGS

blurain2:

I lived in Perth for one year(1989) but missed Melbourne too much and moved back. I thought I'd give it a go back here in the states, but since I spent my adulthood (half my life) in Australia, I think more like an Aussie than an American. I also miss the footy, fish 'n chips, the pace of life, Crown Casino, etc. Make sure you see a footy match if you go. Hey... why not join the Western Bulldogs? We need as many supporters as we can get! Have a look at the Melbourne Storm Rugby League team as well. Never liked this brand of football until the Storm was set up in Melbourne. Went to Sydney to see them win the Premiership in 1999. Most exciting sporting moment of my life!

Just wish I could get rid of this darn American accent! :D

Chicago1: Yes, I have been promised to see a footy match once there. I'm really looking forward to that. I can hardly wait, though I must. :)
Join the Western Bulldogs? Do tell more...as I'm new to all this. I'm hoping to learn more and more, so that I'm familiar with things and won't feel quite so odd. Melbourne Storm Rugby League team, as well, eh?.....I must admit that I don't know much about rugby, though I'm determined to learn. :D
Yes, I do know what you mean about the American accent...quite dreadful it can be....hehe..especially when you are surrounded by cows and rednecks... :eek:

[This message has been edited by blurain2 (edited 25 April 2001).]

Fav city Austraila - Melbourne But Adelaide close 2nd Grand Prix time 8 visits so many excelent times including 3 test matches. The Adelaide test match is a must for all cricket fans. I like it all except for their accent.
But I will never go back to footy park.

The World -Vegas- too much fun not to like
Cant wait to get back to the states to get to 1060 west addison Chicago. "Wrigley field" and the wonders of New York.

I hated England compared to America. When the poms get over the whole Australian - Convict thing I'll return.

Go the Skull !!!
J.I.T.C
THE DOC..

Originally posted by DOC:

The World -Vegas- too much fun not to like
Cant wait to get back to the states to get to 1060 west addison Chicago. "Wrigley field" and the wonders of New York.

DOC:

I see we have similar tastes. I've been to Vegas five times since my return to the states last year. I love the place - always something to do. I get free rooms and food at Circus Circus and even got $100 cashback last time - and I generally win there! My best win on a 'pokie' was US$1200 on a $1 machine at McCarran Airport in December! I might just stay there the next time I go.
As for Wrigley Field... I went to my first game there last year. I never got the opportunity when I was growing up in the Chicago suburbs - my family are White Sox fans from way back. I'm the black sheep in the family - I love the Cubs! I had a perfect Friday evening last week - the Cubs won with Sammy Sosa hitting a Grand Slam and my Bulldogs slaughtered the Brisbane Lions. Doesn't get much better than that! I'm hoping to see the Cubbies again next month at Wrigley.
Now New York is a different kettle of fish...

------------------
"Oh say, can you see..."
"California dreamin'..."
THE TRINITY OF SONGS

DOC:

. I get free rooms and food at Circus Circus and even got $100 cashback last time - and I generally win there! As for Wrigley Field... I went to my first game there last year. I never got the opportunity when I was growing up in the Chicago suburbs - my family are White Sox fans from way back. I'm the black sheep in the family - I love the Cubs! I had
Chicago1
How do you get free rooms?
Have you been to Soldier Field . Are you a Bears fan ?
What about the Blackhawks, Seen them?

Is there a time of year thar the footy and base ball overlap in their regular season. That would be a top time for a holiday Cubs, Bears and Blues ...

Go the Skull !!!
J.I.T.C
THE DOC.

Originally posted by DOC:
Fav city Austraila - Melbourne But Adelaide close 2nd Grand Prix time 8 visits so many excelent times including 3 test matches. The Adelaide test match is a must for all cricket fans. I like it all except for their accent.

Go Adelaide :)

But hang on - what's wrong with our accents?!

------------------
'...and we won't give up, till the premiership cup is safely in our hands...'

. [/b][/QUOTE]
Chicago1
How do you get free rooms?
Have you been to Soldier Field . Are you a Bears fan ?
What about the Blackhawks, Seen them?

Is there a time of year thar the footy and base ball overlap in their regular season. That would be a top time for a holiday Cubs, Bears and Blues ...

Go the Skull !!!
J.I.T.C
THE DOC.

[/B][/QUOTE]

DOC :

Whenever you go to a Vegas casino, join their club and if you spend enough time and money in there you will get invitations to come back. So far I've received a total of 10 free nights at Circus Circus since June. It's one of the least expensive places to stay so if you don't really care, it's great. When I went in Feb I had three free nights in the newest wing and am now a VIP member. You get express check in and even a champagne reception when you arrive. I also haven't paid for a meal there. I've had about $300 in free food there. My brother and I ate like kings last time we went. I have an invitation for two free nights in May or June but won't be able to go. I'm off to Phoenix and Los Angeles next week but will stop in Laughlin Nevada for a couple of days to try my luck there.

I've only been to Soldier Field once way back in about 1968! I lost interest in American football when I discovered Aussie Rules after I moved to Melbourne. I did, however, still follow the Bears when we won the Superbowl in Jan '86. I rang my dad from my home in Box Hill at the two minute warning, just so I could feel a part of my family's celebration. They're big Bears fans.

I was lucky enough to see the Blackhawks in Jan '96 when home for Christmas. Wayne Gretsky played in that game against us. I also saw the Bulls play a few times including the game that Scotty Pippen scored his career high score of 47 points. Seeing Michael Jordan play was something I'll always remember. When the Bulls won their first Championship, I was on the phone to my nephew in Chicago as the final siren went! I was just going to start a Sport class at my school in Bundoora and I had about fifty Year 7 boys hanging around the phone by me waiting to hear the final score. For some reason I was in a good mood the rest of that afternoon!

Football and baseball overlap in late August until the end of the baseball season in mid Oct if your team makes the finals. Otherwise most baseball teams finish at the end of September. That's actually a great time to visit Chicago. Mid September weather is beautiful - autumn here. Schools are back in and there aren't that many at the baseball. Getting a ticket to see the Bears could be a problem. Soldier Field is going to be renovated and will not be in use - I'm not sure if it's this year or next to tell you the truth. Bears home games are slated for the University of Illinois field in Champaign - over two hours from Chicago - during the renovations.

Not many Aussies I know have visited Chicago. The ones that have visited, liked it. It's safer and smaller than New York and not as spread out as Los Angeles. The food is great - especially a deep dish Chicago pizza and a Chicago hot dog! Better go... my stomach is beginning to rumble!

------------------
"Oh say, can you see..."
"California dreamin'..."
THE TRINITY OF SONGS

Thanks for the info Chicago1

Ever since a young age and watching the Blues Brothers I have wanted to got to Chicago. I was all but there this time last year but got real crook at New Orleans. Had to come home 2 weeks early. Had trips to Soldier and Wrigley fields organised.I did manage to see a hockey game Stars V Sharks playoff in Texas. Awesome! the best $350.00aus I've spent 10 rows from the front in a packed house. I go for the Penguins though. Its just a Mario thing . Good he has made a come back .
I could never travel in September that is the best month of the year. Melbourne is the best at that time of year. Well it was in 1996 and 1999 anyway.
Cant wait to get to Chicago. Might end up staying for a while.

Go the Cubs !!!
Go the Skull !!!
J.I.T.C
THE DOC..

Favourite city