Favourite TAB Agency/PubTABs?

There is a lot of discussion on here about the virtues of various online sites so i thought why not the same for TAB's.

Living in Richmond the nearest tote to me is The Vine, it's a bit of a dive and always looks a bit ramshackle but the blokes behind the jump have a good idea what is going on although they aren't too keen on verbal bets. Doesn't have Fox Sports but is a decent tote if you just want to get on and get out.

The Prince of Wales on Church St. is a decent one in Richmond as well, just got upgraded from a kiosk to a full PubTAB, good place to go during footy season as you can be sure it'll be on the tele (has Foxtel) and the bar meals and beers are cheap if you're making a day of it.

Have you got an Agency/PubTAB that you go out of the way to go to? What is your local tote like? Good layout/Operator/Bar Meals/Televised Sport etc.?

From a WA perspective, my personal favourite is the Osbourne Park Tavern/TAB. Tav has sky racing on and you can settle in at a table with a beer and good honest meal.
Adjoining the tav is the TAB outlet where I've found the camaraderie to be second to none on a Saturday afternoon.
For a quick get in get out joint, the Morley TAB is close to home and the employees are really friendly. Could do with the odd spray of air freshner though.. haha.

The Rising Sun in Richmond, great setup for settling in for an afternoon.

Counter meals are good too, especially the lambs fry and bacon.

Have they had a change of management lately? They used to have a quality hiring policy but this seems to have changed when I was there in September.

From a WA perspective, my personal favourite is the Osbourne Park Tavern/TAB. Tav has sky racing on and you can settle in at a table with a beer and good honest meal.
Adjoining the tav is the TAB outlet where I've found the camaraderie to be second to none on a Saturday afternoon.
For a quick get in get out joint, the Morley TAB is close to home and the employees are really friendly. Could do with the odd spray of air freshner though.. haha.

Haha, I go to the Dianella TAB, quite spacious inside and is quite heavily populated on on saturdays especially during spring time. Agree with you about the Morley TAB which is my second closest place, the stench in there is ridiculous, needs a good carpet clean too. They guy behind the counter is good bloke too.

A nice little PubTab is The Strand in Dianella - good for a little punt and a couple of froths.

Also WA has the best ticket system in the country I say, whenver I go to Melbourne the system of placing bets and writing on tickets is a joke, and when i made that point clear to the TAB Attendant on Toorak Rd TAB in South yarra, he professed to claim "Mate it has been established that this system in Victoria is the best in the world". I almost fell to the floor in tears at that ridiculous call.

Haha, I've never been to Victoria mate, but I'll agree, you could teach our ticketing system to a four year old with ease.

I never spend more than 30 seconds in the pubTAB these days, drop off some funds and straight out.

I've got the Royal Oak on Nicholason St around the corner, I'm mates with the young guys who own the place, not too bad, but a few too many of the "great unwashed" there now

At my local there is one guy there who stinks like absolute SHIT. When ever he comes in and looks at the form guides on the board an instant buffer of a few meters is created around him. It's ****ing filthy.

I've touched base with just about every TAB in my town of Ballarat.

The local is Zagames on Main Rd which I hit up most weekends, the whole family are regulars there for footy tipping comps, syndicates etc and on first name basis with the staff, nice and friendly. Saturday's are well populated and they only have one touch screen which can be a pain in the arse.

Sunday arvo's can be good, nice and quiet, grab a table right in front of the form and tv and your set, meals and beers are good too.

My mates and I used to do every Sunday there, but we have decided its getting a bit sad so we've decided to take up golf, so instead of sitting at the tote we just listen to the races on the radio while having a hit. The last couple of Sunday's I've laid bets at Victoria St TAB on the way to a round of 18, which is quite big and good for a get in and get out scenerio.

JD's Sportsbar is great for the $10 bet on some dirty roughie in Singapore at 1 in the morning on a Saturday night.

Blue Bell on Howitt Street is good for me during the weeks with daylight savings and races going to 5.30pm, finish work at 5, Bluey is 3 mins away and chuck some gold coin on a rough trifecta for the last Melbourne race of the day before heading home. Or if quality races and in the mood, whiz down during lunch break and lay down a quaddie to keep in touch with on the computer throughout the arvo at work.

The Golf House is another we hit up weekly on a Wednesday night, $10 pot and Parma and make an evening of catching up with the boys and throwing a bet on the Harness.

I've touched base with just about every TAB in my town of Ballarat.....

Try the Park Hotel down near the Arch on sturt st. If zagames is your local it's a bit out of the way but the operators there are top notch. 2 EBT's in the bar and one out in the smoking area. It's a small tote too so don't worry about waiting time. I've seen plenty of local drivers/trainers in there getting a bet on before a meeting.

Good food and is up there for the best cold beer in ballarat as welll

Crown Casino in Melbourne, absolutely unbelievable.

I assume you're taking the piss, but really it isn't a bad tote...no limit on sportsbet, the operators are all ex-agents so they know what they are doing, plenty of ebt's and the form whilst it is spread all over the joint it is always kept up to date, (l.scr etc.)

Try the Park Hotel down near the Arch on sturt st. If zagames is your local it's a bit out of the way but the operators there are top notch. 2 EBT's in the bar and one out in the smoking area. It's a small tote too so don't worry about waiting time. I've seen plenty of local drivers/trainers in there getting a bet on before a meeting.

Good food and is up there for the best cold beer in ballarat as welll

Yes been there once and was impressed, little in size but still produced the goods. A tad out of the way, but certainly would head in there again when on that side of town.

I assume you're taking the piss, but really it isn't a bad tote...no limit on sportsbet, the operators are all ex-agents so they know what they are doing, plenty of ebt's and the form whilst it is spread all over the joint it is always kept up to date, (l.scr etc.)

how could i be taking the piss.....as of all the reasons uve just said and also the 3 cinema type screens to watch any sport u want...love goin there

LOL. I was going to say the same thing... you wouldn't want to cheer home a winner at the Cross Keys because there would be a solid chance you'd get following into the car park and rolled for your winnings. :D

Don't forget the two armed hold ups in the last 18 months either.

Favourite TAB Agency/PubTABs?