Fevola is not that good

Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
Fevola plays as a forward by himself.

Neitz plays alongside Davey, Robertson, Bruce, Vardy, Miller and even Holland, who all kick goals.

Neitz > Fevola.

It is irrelevant if he plays forward by himself or not. Fevola has been the far superior FF than Neitz this year. I can throw in Whitnall, Fisher, Koutoufides and Lappin but they are irrelevant.

This thread involves two players - Fevola and Neitz. Meaning that other forwards are irrelevant. They are their own, and performances are individual. And from all their performances this year, Fevola > Neitz.

So stop with the BS and stop impersonating Yze Magic. You are scaring me.

Originally posted by Thrawn
It is irrelevant if he plays forward by himself or not. Fevola has been the far superior FF than Neitz this year. I can throw in Whitnall, Fisher, Koutoufides and Lappin but they are irrelevant.

This thread involves two players - Fevola and Neitz. Meaning that other forwards are irrelevant. They are their own, and performances are individual. And from all their performances this year, Fevola > Neitz.

Why is Fevola better? Neitz is a leader from full forward, who imparts his presence on the game and can still kick goals.

Fevola is a great forward, but sooks and doesn't lead his team. I'd take Neitz anyday.

He was beaten by Nathan Carroll earlier in the year when we thumped them.

That says something - although the kid can play!

And it also says something that he beat Scralett earlier this year. Every full forward will struggle in a 105 point loss.... mainly becuase the pill isn't going down there so there is no contest - the two players just stand there.

And it also says something when he is third on the Coleman ladder, only three goals behind the leader.

And it also says something that he beat Scralett earlier this year. Every full forward will struggle in a 105 point loss.... mainly becuase the pill isn't going down there so there is no contest - the two players just stand there.

And it also says something when he is third on the Coleman ladder, only three goals behind the leader.

Full Forwards need to do more than just "kick goals", and Fevola doesn't do that at all.

Lockett and Dunstall must've been pretty crappy then. Last time I checked, a Full Forward's job was to kick goals. Fevola has done it better this season, so it's very rich of Tragic to start a thread bagging the bloke.

Why is Fevola better? Neitz is a leader from full forward, who imparts his presence on the game and can still kick goals.

Fevola is a great forward, but sooks and doesn't lead his team. I'd take Neitz anyday.

Fevola has been the better FF this year because he's kicked more goals - simple. Goals matter for a FF and he is thrid on the goal kicking table. Your second sentence can be replaced with Fevola too - he is only 23 but has shown that he is a matchwinner. To think that Fevola doesn't stamp his presence on the game is sheer idoicy.

Neitz also sooks. I have seen him sook when he hasn't had a good day - all forwards do this. But Fevola turned the corner after his sookfest against St. Kilda and the Bulldogs. Fevola is 23, hence has more scope for potential and can still improve. Neitz doesn't have the scope - when we have a better midfield in a few years time and are actually a threat he has the potential to kick 100+. The same cannot be said of Neitz.

No, that's the CHF's job. Full-forwads do one thing - kick goals. This year Fevola is a better shot at goal than Neitz, more accurate, more goals, and more scoring shots. People who use the word 'potential' to rate a player rather than through performance will rate Fevola more. He is younger than Neitz, which means more scope for potential.

I would not argue that one is better than the other. They are different players, at different stages of their careers, different physical build.

One could argue Neitz is more mature and more of a leader, but then look at his performance against Collingwood where he lost the plot for 2 quarters.

They are both good players, Neitz stronger, Fevola a better long kick.

Originally posted by Yze_Magic
he has kicked a lot of goals and is going ok, but look at who he has kicked his goals against

I reckon 75% of his goals (maybe more) have come aginst teams in the lower regions of the ladder ie. Hawthorn, Richmond, WC, Coll, Adel

How many has he booted vs the Demons, Lions, St.Kilda, Bombers etc?

Can someone do the stats?

the reason why he kicked more goals in these games is our supply to him has been much better!!!

IMO he is the best young forward going around, has a lot of improvement in him, and i wouldnt trade him for ne one.

Mate, I think it's best if you ignore these Melbourne supporters.
For some reason, this topic became about Neitz and Melbourne players when it was originally about Fevola.

Yze Magic is one weird man if he doesn't rate Fevola as any good. We had already established that, but this one tops it.

Oh and for the record Yze Magic.

Fevola is a brilliant FF who is going to take home the coleman this year and next year. He's brilliant. He's the best kick at goal from outside 50 and without him on Saturday night, I couldn't have seen Carlton beating Richmond. Fevola has won games for Carlton off his own boot with the aid of midfielders delivering the ball to him. The game V Adelaide strikes me first. That goal from outside 50 on the boundry line to put them in front.

Fevola isn't crap like you make him out to be. He is a decent Full Forward and will be one of the best full forwards in the comp in a few years time easy.

I'd have Fevola in my team any day.

Originally posted by Yze_Magic
he has kicked a lot of goals and is going ok, but look at who he has kicked his goals against

I reckon 75% of his goals (maybe more) have come aginst teams in the lower regions of the ladder ie. Hawthorn, Richmond, WC, Coll, Adel

How many has he booted vs the Demons, Lions, St.Kilda, Bombers etc?

Can someone do the stats?
Jeff White isn't that good either.

How do you know what influence Neitz has on the team as the leader?

How much did Neitz impart his presence on the successful Melbourne team last year?

Neitz and Fevola kicked pretty much the same number of goals last year.

Fevola has kicked more goals this year.

Here's a comparison of the players and the goals they have kicked against each team, and how many points the team won by:
Code:
                Neitz              Fevola
Hawthorn        0         -49        6        +12
Richmond        9         +59        8        +31
W Bulldogs      3         +10        3        -25
Port Adel       6         +53        --
Sydney          6         +12        --
Carlton         2        +105        --        
Melbourne       --                   2       -105
West Coast      2         +49        6        +49
Geelong         0         -14        5        +54
Kangaroos       4         +18        4         -5
Brisbane        4         -40        0        -38
Fremantle       1         +31        3        -47
Collingwood     3          +9        6         +9
Essendon        4         +26        2        -37
St Kilda        --                   1       -108
Adelaide        --                   7         +4

Total           44       +269       53       -206

I don't think there is anything there to suggest that Neitz's performance has been better than Fevola's, probably more than other way overall, particularly when you take into account the quality of the teams they are playing in.

Fevola is not that good