Finals effectively gone. What do we do from here for the 2023 season?

Will we still play finals in 2023?

• YES

Votes: 19 20.7%
  • NO

Votes: 73 79.3%

One thing we never want to do in our lives is give up just because a few things go against us and the outlook isn't all rosy. **** that. As Ronald Dale once said of Gerard Healy....bloody weak as piss. We need to grow a spine, face up to the task we have set ourselves and get it the **** done. What we need is a detailed, step by step plan to get ourselves out of this minor trough we find ourselves in.

Feeling the pain of my Tiger brothers and sisters, I have been pondering on this all day, and I have come up with a 7 point plan to get something substantial out of this season from here.....

So, here is my detailed 7 point plan that if we follow it we are GUARANTEED to finish top 4 in 2023! No ifs, no buts no maybes, we do this we finish top 4, end of. Even people who are never wrong like RJK Tiger would never be able to come up with a 7 point plan as ingenious as this little ripper. :)

Some perspective: 2022 we did not lose any of our last 16 home and away games by more than 1 goal. We now find ourselves with 16 games left in the 2023 home and away season.

The 7 Point Plan

Step 1
- we need to improve on our last 16 games last year by 1 goal 1 behind per match, and we will win every game for the rest of the home and away season and finish the season 17-1-5. Likely top 2 with all home finals, oppo campaigners sooking everywhere about the new CEO being a Tiger supporter, while we rollerblade to our 4th flag in 7 seasons.

Steps 2 to 7 - that's it, there are no steps 2 to 7. The 7 point plan is that simple, that is my ingenious 7 point plan. We improve on last year by
7 points each match over the last 16 rounds, we finish likely top 2, guaranteed top 4. Easy as that fellow felons, my infallible 7 point plan to guarantee a top 4 berth. It is so simple it should be illegal. :cool:

Book sept caravan parks
Booked a trip to Cairns for the first week of finals last November. That's how comfortable I was with how our season was going to go

Double chance?

One thing we never want to do in our lives is give up just because a few things go against us and the outlook isn't all rosy. * that. As Ronald Dale once said of Gerard Healy....bloody weak as piss. We need to grow a spine, face up to the task we have set ourselves and get it the * done. What we need is a detailed, step by step plan to get ourselves out of this minor trough we find ourselves in.

Feeling the pain of my Tiger brothers and sisters, I have been pondering on this all day, and I have come up with a 7 point plan to get something substantial out of this season from here.....

So, here is my detailed 7 point plan that if we follow it we are GUARANTEED to finish top 4 in 2023! No ifs, no buts no maybes, we do this we finish top 4, end of. Even people who are never wrong like RJK Tiger would never be able to come up with a 7 point plan as ingenious as this little ripper. :)

Some perspective: 2022 we did not lose any of our last 16 home and away games by more than 1 goal. We now find ourselves with 16 games left in the 2023 home and away season.

The 7 Point Plan

Step 1
- we need to improve on our last 16 games last year by 1 goal 1 behind per match, and we will win every game for the rest of the home and away season and finish the season 17-1-5. Likely top 2 with all home finals, oppo campaigners sooking everywhere about the new CEO being a Tiger supporter, while we rollerblade to our 4th flag in 7 seasons.

Steps 2 to 7 - that's it, there are no steps 2 to 7. The 7 point plan is that simple, that is my ingenious 7 point plan. We improve on last year by
7 points each match over the last 16 rounds, we finish likely top 2, guaranteed top 4. Easy as that fellow felons, my infallible 7 point plan to guarantee a top 4 berth. It is so simple it should be illegal. :cool:

You stole my plan!!!

Improve a little and kick straight and we are right in it.

We are absolutely cooked. A lot of people are still in denial. We went all in on the older core bringing in Hopper and Taranto and it has backfired big time. Taranto gets the big numbers but I have rarely seen a stat padder get so much hype, the amount of times he had zero ability to chase and tackle with defensive pressure was mind boggling.

The moment we lost to GC in 2020 we should have pulled up stumps and traded in draft picks. We have effectively wasted 3 years and now the new expansion side is going to get a lick of our picks.

BEFORE anyone says we rebuilt in compromised GC/GWS drafts, we absolutely did not, we received most of the top end talent in Cotchin, Martin, Riewoldt, Edwards, Astbury, Rance, Deledio currency etc etc well before in prior bottom finishes. We are in the worst position list wise we have been in a long time with the cliff coming and no youth to come in. There will be posters quoting rubbish names that are unproven, but at the end of the day we are in dire straights now and the AFL world loves it. Take the 3 flags, watch them over, and buckle in for a tough 7 years.

We are absolutely cooked. A lot of people are still in denial. We went all in on the older core bringing in Hopper and Taranto and it has backfired big time. Taranto gets the big numbers but I have rarely seen a stat padder get so much hype, the amount of times he had zero ability to chase and tackle with defensive pressure was mind boggling.

The moment we lost to GC in 2020 we should have pulled up stumps and traded in draft picks. We have effectively wasted 3 years and now the new expansion side is going to get a lick of our picks.

BEFORE anyone says we rebuilt in compromised GC/GWS drafts, we absolutely did not, we received most of the top end talent in Cotchin, Martin, Riewoldt, Edwards, Astbury, Rance, Deledio currency etc etc well before in prior bottom finishes. We are in the worst position list wise we have been in a long time with the cliff coming and no youth to come in. There will be posters quoting rubbish names that are unproven, but at the end of the day we are in dire straights now and the AFL world loves it. Take the 3 flags, watch them over, and buckle in for a tough 7 years.

Jeff Goldblum What GIF by The Late Late Show with James Corden

So no back to back flag? Also we beat GC in 2020.

Think you meant 2021

The moment we lost to GC in 2020
We won the premiership in 2020?

Taranto gets the big numbers but I have rarely seen a stat padder get so much hype, the amount of times he had zero ability to chase and tackle with defensive pressure was mind boggling.

Taranto is Top 3 in the AFL for pressure acts and Top 5 in the AFL for tackles? Are you sure you're watching the right player? Or maybe you're just guessing?

We fix the current gameplan, get on a roll and make finals.
This is possibly Jack, Cotch etc. last season playing together.
We have to make the most of this now, as what's coming next isn't great imo.

What is the game plan? we don't have one and Dimma is trying to make one on the run...!
the pre season was spent in US doing FA smoking bongs!

we are not making the eight. Not a chance.

need the experienced players to show the kids the way, but on their (senior players) performances there isn’t much form to show. we are a year and a half behind with development, timing has played a cruel trick on us because of our success and lack of foresight.

I cant see how we get out of this other than a major rebuild. We are six very good players away from being competitive.
Every successful club runs into that problem at some stage, foresight is great in hindsight.

I guess this year is more about sending out 2 of our champions now. Enjoy what they have left and make sure we are all there for the final games as Cotch and Jack are legends of the club
This:arrowup: sums up my thoughts exactly...going to be a day of thanks,respect and deep down sadness

Might as well plan for the future now. Re-sign Balta and if Broad and McIntosh aren't part of the next few years drop McIntosh immediately and play Banks/ Ralph Smith/ Brown when fit a few games on the trot on the wing see who steps up. Give Dow and Biggie a 5 game block with the promise won't be dropped if no good delist or keep as reserves players on minimum wage.

Force MRJ to find consistent form with time to eliminate his flaws in the Magoo's before bringing him back. Play Tarrant in the Magoo's get games into Gibcus. Phase out Cotchin and Riewoldt especially Cotchin in 6 more weeks. Play Bauer and Bradtke see what we've got. FFS's drop underperforming premiership players also stop scapegoating the kids for their quiet games. In the off season poach the best skills and fitness coaches out there. Demote or fire Meehan and fire the skills coach.

Employ someone like Stevie J for tin arsed goalkicking practice, and someone for set shot kicking and fu@ken put some actual repetitive training into it. Start FA poaching/ schmoozing now starting with freos Darcy for end of 2024. If Mate isn't right showing strong signs by end of year adios and get 2 category B players from Ireland/ Basketball anywhere be creative they're outside the salary cap anyway.

Not much we can do, we don't own our picks.

just play the kids, start making your senior vets more accountable. Get Cotch to 300. Experiment with roles, positions. Most of all though, always play to win and make no excuses for results. We do not own our pick so finishing low is not going to be an acceptable result. We need to get ourselves above 12th, preferably 10th or higher to avoid the Hopper deal being a total embarrassment and restore some respect.

Lynch
Bolton
Dusty
Taranto
Hopper
Prestia
Nankervis
Vlaustin
Dan Rioli
Short
Broad
Baker
Pickett
Balta
Riewoldt
Cotchin
Tarrant
Cumberland
Grimes

With that being your top 19 players there is no reason we should be finishing this season any lower than 12th, trying our best all season. We need to ensure we hit that target while still getting games, & more importantly - big minutes - into the younger core like Dow & class of 2021.

There is really nothing else we can do at this point. The last 3 seasons have been a pretty big waste as we have under achieved greatly while still not getting notable minutes into younger players, not getting any blue chip draft picks to rebuild with & not really appearing to hit big on any of our plethora of picks we thought was setting us up for a decade. With trading out of this years draft, it makes the chance to find a player to replace Dusty even more difficult - Us bottoming out for a top 3 pick this year if we had our pick would have been a pretty good strategy to take right now. Taranto & Hopper have been great, but they are clearly not the game changers we were hoping

With that being your top 19 players there is no reason we should be finishing this season any lower than 12th, trying our best all season. We need to ensure we hit that target while still getting games, & more importantly - big minutes - into the younger core like Dow & class of 2021.

If they wanted more minutes into Dow it would surely already have been happening. If he couldn't get a spot with Prestia out, where is he going to play with Prestia in? We will always use one midfield spot on a rotating player like Bolton/Martin/Short/Baker/Graham type. That leaves 2 full time mid spots + a bench mid spot. Hopper and Taranto have locked up the 2 fulltime mid spots for a long time. That leaves the bench spot which Prestia will take for now.

We won the premiership in 2020?

Taranto is Top 3 in the AFL for pressure acts and Top 5 in the AFL for tackles? Are you sure you're watching the right player? Or maybe you're just guessing?
Phil Murphy Governor GIF by GIPHY News

Good time to get Geelong and we capitalised. Still very much finals unlikely as I dont trust us yet.

Can we beat the Bombers and Port and then be 5-5-1 at the virtual halfway point?

I think we only win 1 of those games and will be 4-6-1

Finals effectively gone. What do we do from here for the 2023 season?