Finals Results Prediction Thread

Carlton and Wet Toast supporters live in la-la land. They have trouble separating reality from dreamworld.
Here's some scenarios I think may happen....

EF1 - Essendon d Carlton in another nailbiting thriller.

EF2 - St Kilda d Sydney at the SCG.

They have trouble with reality????

Sydney's game, should we get a home final would be at ANZ\Homebush.

And nice to see almost universal writing off of Sydney in week 1 despite beating St Kilda and Geelong in Geelong over the past fortnight.

under the radar, just the way we like it.

(PS: We will win in week 1, go out in week 2 if its Hawthorn, 50/50 of going 1 more week if its Geelong)

With finals match ups sorted out, what's your prediction on the results. Here are mine -

QF1 - Collingwood d West Coast
QF2 - Hawthorn d Geelong
EF1 - Essendon d Carlton
EF2 - Sydney d St Kilda

SF1 - West Coast d Essendon
SF2 - Geelong d Sydney

PF1 - Hawthorn d West Coast
PF2 - Geelong d Collingwood

GF - Hawthorn d Geelong
-----------------------------------------

Are you sure your not the Goose Of Beverly Road ?

Carlton and Wet Toast supporters live in la-la land. They have trouble separating reality from dreamworld.

QF1 - Collingwood to pump West Coasts lights out by 111 points. Dean Cox the big injury and will miss the rest of the finals series. Mike Sheehan, Garry Lyon and Gerard Healy are arrested by police for invading the playing arena to confess their undying love for Nic Natanui.

QF2 - Hawthorn beat Geelong by 30 points. Buddy lights it up yet again.

EF1 - Essendon d Carlton in another nailbiting thriller. A match saving tackle from Heath Hocking on Chris Judd in the dying seconds (Fraser Brown like) gets the Dons up by 1 point. 1999 redemption at last!

EF2 - St Kilda d Sydney at the SCG. Another close one. Adam Goodes kicks 6, but Nick kicks 8.

SF1 - West Coast, ably assisted as usual by Dean Margetts, defeat Essendon by 4 points. Bombers lead by 3 with seconds to go. Daniel Kerr is awarded a free kick for head high contact when Quinten Lynch's glove hits him in the head. Margetts then awards a 50m penalty after Nickoski drops the ball at Kerr's feet and the umpire only goes on the crowds reaction. Kerr to the goal line, and misses from point blank range, so Margetts brings the kick back after seeing the Essendon Cheer Squad celebrating. Cannot have that! Kerr gets another kick. Goal.
Final free kick count WCE 63 - Ess 9.
Dean Margetts is then inducted into the 25 Year Hall of Fame at West Coast for being their most consistent match winner at Subiaco in the past 5 years.

SF2 - Geelong d St Kilda. Stevie Johnson bags 11 goals in a one sided affair.

PF1 - Hawthorn d West Coast in one of the biggest floggings in finals history. Buddy boots 9, Cyril Rioli bags 6. Chris Masten is reported for having the worst hairstyle in the history of the game. Mark Nickoski and Masten take things too far when they recreate that cage fighting scene from BRUNO whilst celebrating a goal.;)

PF2 - Collingwood just get up over a tired, but gallant old Geelong. Dale Thomas dazzles with 41 possessions.

GF - Hawthorn scramble an amazing come-from-behind win over an injury ravaged and ragged Collingwood in a thriller, with Junior winning a Norm Smith....
HAWKS PREMIERS 2011...:thumbsu:

I'm feeling sick just reading that, nothing would surprise me over there though :rolleyes:

thumb_umpires_west_coast-90x60.jpg

QF1: Collingwood def. West Coast
QF2: Geelong def. by Hawthorn
EF1: Carlton def. by Essendon
EF2: Sydney def. by St. Kilda

SF1: West Coast def. Essendon
SF2: Geelong def. St. Kilda

PF1: Collingwood def. by Geelong
PF2: Hawthorn def. West Coast

GF: Geelong def. Hawthorn

QF2 - Geelong d Hawthorn
EF1 - Carlton d Essendon
EF2 - St Kilda d Sydney

SF1 - West Coast d Carlton
SF2 - Hawthorn d St Kilda

PF1 - Geelong d West Coast
PF2 - Collingwood d Hawthorn

GF - Geelong d Collingwood

Re: Finals Predictions Thread

I believe you will find that mine are far more accurate.

QF1 - West Coast d Collingwood
QF2 - Hawthorn d Geelong
EF1 - Essendon d Carlton
EF2 - St Kilda d Sydney

SF1 - Collingwood d Essendon
SF2 - Geelong d St Kilda

PF1 - West Coast d Hawthorn
PF2 - Collingwood d Geelong

GF - West Coast d Collingwood

;)

i think you've nailed it:thumbsu:

QF1 - Collingwood to pump West Coasts lights out by 111 points. Dean Cox the big injury and will miss the rest of the finals series. Mike Sheehan, Garry Lyon and Gerard Healy are arrested by police for invading the playing arena to confess their undying love for Nic Natanui.

QF2 - Hawthorn beat Geelong by 30 points. Buddy lights it up yet again.

EF1 - Essendon d Carlton in another nailbiting thriller. A match saving tackle from Heath Hocking on Chris Judd in the dying seconds (Fraser Brown like) gets the Dons up by 1 point. 1999 redemption at last!

EF2 - St Kilda d Sydney at the SCG. Another close one. Adam Goodes kicks 6, but Nick kicks 8.

SF1 - West Coast, ably assisted as usual by Dean Margetts, defeat Essendon by 4 points. Bombers lead by 3 with seconds to go. Daniel Kerr is awarded a free kick for head high contact when Quinten Lynch's glove hits him in the head. Margetts then awards a 50m penalty after Nickoski drops the ball at Kerr's feet and the umpire only goes on the crowds reaction. Kerr to the goal line, and misses from point blank range, so Margetts brings the kick back after seeing the Essendon Cheer Squad celebrating. Cannot have that! Kerr gets another kick. Goal.
Final free kick count WCE 63 - Ess 9.
Dean Margetts is then inducted into the 25 Year Hall of Fame at West Coast for being their most consistent match winner at Subiaco in the past 5 years.

SF2 - Geelong d St Kilda. Stevie Johnson bags 11 goals in a one sided affair.

PF1 - Hawthorn d West Coast in one of the biggest floggings in finals history. Buddy boots 9, Cyril Rioli bags 6. Chris Masten is reported for having the worst hairstyle in the history of the game. Mark Nickoski and Masten take things too far when they recreate that cage fighting scene from BRUNO whilst celebrating a goal.;)

PF2 - Collingwood just get up over a tired, but gallant old Geelong. Dale Thomas dazzles with 41 possessions.

GF - Hawthorn scramble an amazing come-from-behind win over an injury ravaged and ragged Collingwood in a thriller, with Junior winning a Norm Smith....
HAWKS PREMIERS 2011...:thumbsu:

I :heart: Essendon supporters, they're so cute. :eek:

I honestly see the Hawks getting rolled in straight sets.

Yes you have been saying we are shit all season. We are probably the worst 18 and 4 team in history hey. Worry about your own rabble mate, before you go and denigrate Hawthorn.

Just on a side note. This will be the only year in VFL/AFL history, that 18 wins and 4 losses won't get you Top 2. Usually it's good enough for first.

Yes you have been saying we are shit all season. We are probably the worst 18 and 4 team in history hey. Worry about your own rabble mate, before you go and denigrate Hawthorn.

Just on a side note. This will be the only year in VFL/AFL history, that 18 wins and 4 losses won't get you Top 2. Usually it's good enough for first.

I'm posting my prediction in a thread asking for finals predictions.

Harden up.

QF1 - Collingwood d West Coast by 11
QF2 - Hawthorn d Geelong by 4
EF1 - Essendon d Carlton by 16
EF2 - Sydney d St Kilda by 1

SF1 - West Coast d Carlton by 42
SF2 - Geelong d Sydney by 27

PF1 - Collingwood d Geelong by 37
PF2 - West Coast d Hawthorn by 28

GF - West Coast d Collingwood by 2

I'm posting my prediction in a thread asking for finals predictions.

Harden up.

Okay. Explain why Geelong will beat us in the first final, then explain how a team in Sydney who we beat by 8 goals at the SCG is going to beat us in a semi final. Or explain how St Kilda, a team who we smashed for three quarters this year will beat us in a semi final. I'm really interested to hear your reasoning.

Okay. Explain why Geelong will beat us in the first final, then explain how a team in Sydney who we beat by 8 goals at the SCG is going to best us in semi final. Or explain how St Kilda, a team who we smashed for three quarters this year will beat us in a semi final. I'm really interested to hear your reasoning.

Geelong have owned you for 3 years.

Sydney and St Kilda have a defensively minded contested football focussed gameplans, the kind required and proven for years come September.

The Swans bought that heat to Geelong and rolled them.

Hawthorn have been conditioning themselves to play a brand of football with focuses on uncontested ball and execution of footskills.

As everyone knows finals football takes pressure to a whole new level, contested ball becomes more of a focus.

Why any side would prepare themselves for September by playing a brand of football that will not be attainable is beyond me.

The Hawks and Geelong bring to best out of each other and if the Hawks can't reverse the trend I can see them bowing out the following week to either side who will focus on scraping out a win and denying space.

Going to stop sooking now?

QF2 - Hawthorn d Geelong
EF1 - Carlton d Essendon
EF2 - St Kilda d Sydney

SF1 - West Coast d Carlton
SF2 - St Kilda d Geelong

PF1 - Hawthorn d West Coast
PF2 - Collingwood d St Kilda

GF - Collingwood d Hawthorn

I think you Cats supporters are getting ahead of yourselves. They won't win the flag this year. Ideally, a Geelong/West Coast granny would be spectacular and I would probably ejaculate on the spot if it became a reality (revisit the early 90's duels :D), but the Pies and the Hawks have looked to be the most threatening outfits to win the premiership all year, for mine. Sure, Geel has won a butt-load of games, including beating the Pies, but many of those could have easily been losses. I know it is a mistake to write them off too early, but I am chiefly going on recent form and they looked flat and slow against Sydney (who also played very well). I hate Collingwood...would enjoy to see them lose in the GF assuming they make it, but one can't ignore the facts: they are better than they were last year, have destroyed good attacks consistently all season and have won a lot of their games not even playing their best footy. They have too many freaks who can single-handedly win games of footy and that's why they'll win back-to-back flags. Sad but True.

Having said all that, really looking forward to Saints v Carl and Geel v Coll this wk. Will be a better measure of how the teams are travelling heading into the finals.

Sydney and St Kilda have a defensively minded contested football focussed gameplans, the kind required and proven for years come September.

Hawthorn have been conditioning themselves to play a brand of football with focuses on uncontested ball and execution of footskills.

As everyone knows finals football takes pressure to a whole new level, contested ball becomes more of a focus.

Why any side would prepare themselves for September by playing a brand of football that will not be attainable is beyond me.

The Hawks and Geelong bring to best out of each other and if the Hawks can't reverse the trend I can see them bowing out the following week to either side who will focus on scraping out a win and denying space.

That's rubbish - Hawthorn win A LOT of contested possessions and are second in the league for marks, both contested and uncontested. That reflects well on their good kicking skills and why they've won as many games as they have. Can't see your logic here....expect them to go deep into finals and probably play in GF.

As a card carrying pie hater, I can't see how anyone can stop collingwood.

Had st kilda beating the pies in GF1 it might be a different story, however hte pies have the talent, and JUST as importantly they have confidence from winning in 2010, and worthy winners they were.

Don't underestimate the power of confidence, Geelong and Hawks have it.

I don't think st kilda, sydney, WCE, essendon, carlton have it. Saints have the talent, but are missing the last ingredient, hurt from geelong and collingwood have done it. Sydney are a gutsy team, but don't have the talent of the others. Essendon a few years away yet, WCE, again, not enough talent, and Carlton missing a few players.

The premiers will be Collingwood, with only Geelong or Hawks capable of stopping them. Geelong are like the hawks of the 80s, they have a belief in their ability, despite some late season wobbles, they are tough. Hawks have talent in aces all around the ground.

Collingwood d West Coast by 44
Geelong d Hawthorn by 13
Carlton d Essendon by 47
Saints d Sydney by 8

West Coast d Carlton by 7
Hawks d Saints by 33

Collingwood d Hawks by 26
Geelong d West Coast by 42

Collingwood d Geelong by 2

QF1 - Collingwood d West Coast by 23
QF2 - Hawthorn d Geelong by 1
EF1 - Carlton d Essendon by 42
EF2 - St Kilda d Sydney by 10

SF1 - Carlton d West Coast by 16
SF2 - Geelong d St Kilda by 9

PF1 - Geelong d Collingwood by 12
PF2 - Carlton d Hawthorn by 30

GF - Carlton d Geelong by 5

1st Qualifying Final
Collingwood 16.15 (111) defeating West Coast 9.11 (65)

2nd Qualifying Final
Geelong 14.7 (91) defeating Hawthorn 14.5 (89)

1st Elimination Final
Carlton 14.11 (95) defeating Essendon 12.14 (86)

2nd Elimination Final
Sydney 13.10 (88) defeating St Kilda 11.13 (79)
--------------------------------------------------------
1st Semi Final
West Coast 15.14 (104) defeating Carlton 12.11 (83)

2nd Semi Final
Hawthorn 16.13 (109) defeating Sydney 13.11 (89)
1st Preliminary Final
Collingwood 14.12 (96) defeating Hawthorn 13.11 (89)

2nd Preliminary Final
Geelong 20.10 (130) defeating West Coast 14.14 (98)
Grand Final
Collingwood 18.10 (118) defeating Geelong 12.13 (85)

Geelong/Hawthorn
Collingwood/West Coast
St Kilda/Sydney (I think it'll be at Etihad because the Saints game is a dead rubber for the Blues)
Carlton/Essendon

Geelong/St Kilda
West Coast/Carlton

Collingwood/Geelong
Hawthorn/Carlton

Collingwood/Hawthorn

WEEK 1
QF1 - Collingwood def. West Coast Eagles by 35 pts @ MCG
QF2 - Hawthorn def. Geelong by 4 pts @ MCG
EF1 - Carlton def. Essendon by 67 pts @ MCG
EF2 - St Kilda def Sydney by 17 pts @ Etihad Stadium

WEEK 2
SF1 - West Coast Eagles def. Carlton by 2 pts @ Patersons Stadium
SF2 - St Kilda def. Geelong by 1 pt @ MCG

WEEK 3
PF1 - Collingwood def. St Kilda by 41 pts @ MCG
PF2 - Hawthorn def. West Coast Eagles by 20 pts @ MCG

WEEK 4
GF - Collingwood def. Hawthorn by 8 pts @ MCG

Premiers - Collingwood

You make some valid points and are entitled to an opinion!!

:thumbsu:

my biased opinon

West Coast defeat Collingwood
Hawthorn defeat Geelong
Saints defeat Sydney
Carlton defeat Essendon

Collingwood defeat Carlton
Saints defeat Geelong

Saints defeat West Coast
Collingwood defeat Hawthorn

Saints defeat collingwood by a point after the siren

Norm smith Riewoldt with 8 goals