News & Events Fish

"Dottyback".

images

Whoever gets paid to name fish knocked it out of the park with that one, I hope they got a nice Chrissy bonus.
I can't even see any dots on it.

Attachments

• 1738205672579.webp
    3.7 KB · Views: 0
Do you have a favourite? Mine is the Spotted Garden Eel.

original_5f306c21-9ae2-43d4-8d21-c589f0031e23_IMG_20241215_194441862_HDR.jpg

Photo is ~original content~ by the way, I took this photo at the sumida aquarium in Tokyo.
Many fish there to gaze on, and penguins too!!!

Do you have a favourite? Mine is the Spotted Garden Eel.

View attachment 2216784

Photo is ~original content~ by the way, I took this photo at the sumida aquarium in Tokyo.
Many fish there to gaze on, and penguins too!!!
I think these might be my favourites now.

Also how much do I love those fish-naming people! The sheer brilliance of taking an eel where the mature eel is clearly striped and call it spotted. Not to mention, that’s like no kind of garden I’ve ever seen.

I think these might be my favourites now.

Also how much do I love those fish-naming people! The sheer brilliance of taking an eel where the mature eel is clearly striped and call it spotted. Not to mention, that’s like no kind of garden I’ve ever seen.
Very well "spotted" PG. (that was a pun).

They're actually Striped Garden Eel.
Apparently there's two different varieties... who knew!!!?!?

Edit: Might be both varieties in there actually, ones at the back are a bit blurry.

The souvenir eels I got have both spots and stripes fyi. Sparkles too.

Don't ask me why I have Bernie Vince on my fridge lmao

Attachments

• 17384775104511997804534321645304.jpg
    17384775104511997804534321645304.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 3
The souvenir eels I got have both spots and stripes fyi. Sparkles too.

Don't ask me why I have Bernie Vince on my fridge lmao
The Herald Sun in about 2016 or so did a full page player photo each week for every club. The Bernie one was a ripper so I took it to work and pinned it above my desk. He lasted three weeks before some management lunatic (purportedly a Demons fan but I’m not so sure) said I had to take it down because the office design was agency colours and Bernie was disrupting the colour palette or something.

He was too - the chosen colour palette was a sort of greenish grey like you might find in a non-critical ward of a psychiatric institution.

Bernie had a decent few weeks. He came off the wall but was stuck instead on the general protected safe area. Once moved he was stuck for a bit to my personal filing cabinet. When that got objections he spent a day on the women’s toilet doors (he was well popular by that point) and once discovered was moved to the inside of a cubicle where he stayed for a good month.

He was always someone who could excel in multiple positions.

The Herald Sun in about 2016 or so did a full page player photo each week for every club. The Bernie one was a ripper so I took it to work and pinned it above my desk. He lasted three weeks before some management lunatic (purportedly a Demons fan but I’m not so sure) said I had to take it down because the office design was agency colours and Bernie was disrupting the colour palette or something.

He was too - the chosen colour palette was a sort of greenish grey like you might find in a non-critical ward of a psychiatric institution.

Bernie had a decent few weeks. He came off the wall but was stuck instead on the general protected safe area. Once moved he was stuck for a bit to my personal filing cabinet. When that got objections he spent a day on the women’s toilet doors (he was well popular by that point) and once discovered was moved to the inside of a cubicle where he stayed for a good month.

He was always someone who could excel in multiple positions.
I love this.

My Bernie postcard came from a mate of mine who worked at the Dees. He asked who my favourite players were and I said Bernie Vince and Jack Watts. So he surprised me with postcards of Bernie Vince and... Jack Grimes.

I played it cool at the time but inside I was fuming.

I love this.

My Bernie postcard came from a mate of mine who worked at the Dees. He asked who my favourite players were and I said Bernie Vince and Jack Watts. So he surprised me with postcards of Bernie Vince and... Jack Grimes.

I played it cool at the time but inside I was fuming.
Jack Grimes was a good sort too though. I have a fantastic photo of me, Bernie and Jack at an open day. I’d post it but I’d dox myself. Plus I was dressed weirdly.

I remember round 23 in 2017 or so? Maybe 2016. We played GWS at Marvel. Harmes took some real screamers. Howe took yet another mark of the year, then kicked it efficiently to opposition directly afterwards. His last game for us. Also in his last game was Daniel Cross who had a horrible concussion, knocked out cold, and from where I was sitting I thought he was dead for a few minutes.

The best bit was Jack Grimes who kicked a goal from 50 on the boundary. Being a defender, he was so excited! He looked like a little kid expecting socks for Christmas, then he unwrapped a PlayStation.

Funny thinking of your two favourites. I reckon then, and even now, of all of our players then or since I would choose them in their best form to kick for my own life from 50 on a tricky angle.

Jack Grimes was a good sort too though. I have a fantastic photo of me, Bernie and Jack at an open day. I’d post it but I’d dox myself. Plus I was dressed weirdly.

I remember round 23 in 2017 or so? Maybe 2016. We played GWS at Marvel. Harmes took some real screamers. Howe took yet another mark of the year, then kicked it efficiently to opposition directly afterwards. His last game for us. Also in his last game was Daniel Cross who had a horrible concussion, knocked out cold, and from where I was sitting I thought he was dead for a few minutes.

The best bit was Jack Grimes who kicked a goal from 50 on the boundary. Being a defender, he was so excited! He looked like a little kid expecting socks for Christmas, then he unwrapped a PlayStation.

Funny thinking of your two favourites. I reckon then, and even now, of all of our players then or since I would choose them in their best form to kick for my own life from 50 on a tricky angle.
My endearing memory of a very young Jack Grimes being interviewed on "Dee TV" after getting pumped by close to 150 points, backing up another 100+ belting from opening round.

Good times!

My endearing memory of a very young Jack Grimes being interviewed on "Dee TV" after getting pumped by close to 150 points, backing up another 100+ belting from opening round.

Good times!
Looking back I feel so sorry for our Jacks Trengrove and Grimes.

We had club managers who were taking the piss and ****ed up more than a few promising careers.

News & Events Fish

Write your reply...