fitzroy jumper proposal

What happened to these Fitzroy people? Did the Roys actually have any fans at all? The ex-South Melbourne fans still follow Sydney Swans when in Melbourne but the Brisbane Lions don't have the same pull?? If my team became the Johannesburg Hawks i would still follow them!!!!!

Brisbane always pulls a fair few old Royboys at Geelong when we play em down there.

I reckon its a great move. You couldn't do it with a Bears guernsey because the only one they wore worth a cracker was for four years. The Fitzroy jersey has years of history, looks marvellous, and doesn't clash with anyone except maybe Sydney.

I can't see anything wrong with Brisbane wanting to embrace it's Fitzroy side in this way. As a fan I know i'd find it more appealing to have concrete links to such a substantial part of the games history displayed on a regular basis, be I from Melbourne, Brisbane or anywhere else.

Token effort and years too late. Most former Fitzroy fans who've moved onto other Melbourne based clubs or left permanently will never come back. It was a takeover not a merge - simple as that - which left a bitter taste that can never be washed out with gimmicks like this.

while i don't necessarily disagree with you - my perspective is that they aren't going anywhere - and those that aren't already on board are VERY unlikely to wake up and decide "i might follow the brisbane lions today - hang on - they're wearing a fitzroy jumper in melbourne - f**k them - no i won't!!". i think a team which has GENUINE links to the melbourne market and VFL history is a lot more credible than pretending to be a hybrid brisbane creation that shows scant regard for its' fitzroy roots besides the pictures and honour boards on the walls of the gabba that are only visible to the absolute inner sanctum. just my opinion and possibly ill informed.

Fair point, I just think in terms of gaining QLD based sponsorship, marketing games on television etc. moving to a Fitzroy jumper for all Melbourne based games would be a step in the wrong direction. It paramount that the Brisbane Lions don't do a Brisbane Bears and restrict their capacity to gain a foothold into the QLD market.

So the support for the Lions in Brisbane is at the lowest it's been for a good decade and the chumps in charge decide the best course of action is to wear the jumper of a dead Victorian club more often?? Have they got shit for brains ??

They ought to be looking to get more support in Brisbane instead of taking action that might make the average punter think they're just a Victorian club based in Brisbane....

What happened to these Fitzroy people? Did the Roys actually have any fans at all? The ex-South Melbourne fans still follow Sydney Swans when in Melbourne but the Brisbane Lions don't have the same pull?? If my team became the Johannesburg Hawks i would still follow them!!!!!
You forget 2001 quick, dont you?

We outnumbered the Essendon fans in the streets of Melb the day before the GF. Over the past few years there have been about 5,000 Melboune based members of the Lions, but I'm not sure about this year. If you look at it, Lions only play 5 games in Melbourne this year so a drop off in Melbourne member numbers should have been anticipated.

As for crowd numbers... i'm sure if you bothered to look at the stats you'd see that crowd figures in Melb are pretty much simular for both clubs. The Lions only have a higher average because we tend to play Collingwood at the MCG with 50K+ turning up.

To sum up, you might follow the mighty Johannesburg Hawks but would you make the trip out to the Mid-east if they were looking at finishing botton 4? You might, but you could understand if some of your fellow supporters don't.;)

So the support for the Lions in Brisbane is at the lowest it's been for a good decade and the chumps in charge decide the best course of action is to wear the jumper of a dead Victorian club more often?? Have they got shit for brains ??

They ought to be looking to get more support in Brisbane instead of taking action that might make the average punter think they're just a Victorian club based in Brisbane....
I take it you're not pleased with how the "chumps" are running things? Do you have any insight into what they should be doing to attract more support in Brisbane (besides the team winning premierships)?

BTW, our membership numbers are approx. equal to that of 2002, far from being "at the lowest it's been for a good decade".:rolleyes:

The difference is the south melb fc wernt taken over and forced to merge with another club like Fitzroy were and thats why they lost the majority of melbourne based supporters.South Melb were merely relocated into another state but kept their jumper and identidy

This whole issue is definately getting out of hand and starting to cause division! The club does not need this now....As a Melb. ex Bears supporter, not everyone is going to be pleased. As I have have stated on other threads, common sense has got to prevail.....leave things as they are...and wear Roys and Bears jumper only alternative heritage rounds....We are the Brisbane Lions now.....lets ALL march together toward greatness again, for the sake of the club....

If the truth behold the BBFFC should have adopted the Fitzroy Jumper - with a Lion logo replacing the FFC monogram, when the merged side formed in 1997.

:confused: They did. The only difference is that they used Fitzroy's original maroon as opposed to the reddy-maroon.

I notice Brisbane are currently last on the membership ladder. If this was to go ahead it would be more of a Victorian support gathering exercise, rather than looking to honour the old Fitzroy jumper etc., let's be honest.

Brisbane Lions are a merged entity, BBFFC If they are going to wear the FFC jumper in away games, it seems only fair that they wear the BB jumper in home games.

I honestly doubt they've lost that many Victorian memberships since their peak of 04.

Why are West Coast fans so cynical about footy?

Seem determined to suck the fun out of the whole thing in the name of professionalism. Yawn.

Those sort of posts are exactly what I meant when I said this issue will cause divisions....its happening already!!.......Cool it guys.....we are not the Bears or Fitzroy anymore.....lets not live in the past....we are the mighty Brisbane Lions...
I will always stand up to those that bash the great Brisbane Lions club.

Not everyone wants to go for an interstate team. Ironically I switched to North Melbourne which could really backfire :eek:

The most troubling aspect of this issue is that the club's recent public musings are clearly a reactive maneuver against the recent drop in Brisbane-based memberships/crowds.

The motives behind this proposal are so transparent it borders on an insult.

Mere weeks after the club was attempting to publicly paint itself as a 'Queensland' club during 'Queensland Week' - the club now turns around and pisses in the pockets of Victorian-based Lions supporters trying to portray themselves as 'Fitzroy'. Conceivably we would have the situation whereby the Brisbane Lions sell themselves as 'Brisbane' one week, then change their tune to 'Fitzroy' the next...

Furthermore after more than a decade, the Brisbane Lions now see fit for the Fitzroy side of the merger to be upgraded from 'heritage' to 'history', seemingly without adequate explanation. Why now? What's the rationale?

I would instantly and entirely drop Collingwood if they were moved anywhere outside Melbourne. They would not be the same team in my eyes.

Infact, I would drop the AFL altogether and focus on the Victory and a VFL team.

Good on Brisbane for trying to win back those ex-Fitzroy supporters who think like me by acknowledging where their roots lie.

I would instantly and entirely drop Collingwood if they were moved anywhere outside Melbourne. They would not be the same team in my eyes.

Infact, I would drop the AFL altogether and focus on the Victory and a VFL team.

Good on Brisbane for trying to win back those ex-Fitzroy supporters who think like me by acknowledging where their roots lie.

50% of Collingwood supporters are part timers so that doesn't surprise me at all:p For some reason anyone who only fleetingly follow AFL for social reasons seem to follow Collingwood! It is the defacto team for people who have no idea about Aussie Rules!

I have supported Collingwood all my life, mate, and will continue to do so, as my parents and grandparents did before me. The casual supporters are the ones who have no respect for their club's roots, tradition and identity and are quite happy to follow where the AFL leads. Go Tasmania Hawks!

You are not a true supporter's toenail. You sicken me.

I have supported Collingwood all my life, mate, and will continue to do so, as my parents and grandparents did before me. The casual supporters are the ones who have no respect for their club's roots, tradition and identity and are quite happy to follow where the AFL leads. Go Tasmania Hawks!

You are not a true supporter's toenail. You sicken me.

How the f%$^ can you say i am not a true supporters toenail?? I have supported the Hawks all my life and travelled from Perth to Brisbane and down to Tassie to watch them. Fought to save the identity of my club when the merger was on the table in 96. I have been a member for about 15 of the past 20 years. I remember riding my bike to Glenferrie Oval to see Lethal, Knightsy, Dipper and co training in the early 80's when i was in primary school! Our home ground has moved from Princes Park to Waverley and now the MCG/Aurora in my time supporting the team. I would be able count on 1 hand the number of home games i missed going to in the late 80's and 90's. The past 5 years i haven't been able to make too many games per season due to work committments but still buy a reserved seat membership ($350)every year to support the club financially! I end up making it to about 5 or so games a season so it does cost me quite a bit!!!
IF Hawthorn were moved to Antartica and called the Penguins i would still support them and that is what makes a true supporter!!!!

Perhaps you are not one of those bandwagons Matt_TY, but Collingwood, Melbourne, Carlton and a few others seem to have a large % of their supporter group turn up when they are winning!!!!

fitzroy jumper proposal