daimo33

Mar 6, 2005
Being a Victorian, I don't know much about aussie rules down Tasmania way, but very interested in finding out by people that actually live there.

In relation to football in Victoria (VFL,TAC, & Local Leagues), what is ur highest elite level to your lowest (obviously local)?? also, do use have a league similar to TAC for the best underage players in the state?

The statewide league collapsed, 6 or 7 years back now I reckon, so the major competion in the North is the NTFL and the major competition in the South is the SFL. NTFL is of much greater quality.

In the North, the NTFL has three Launceston clubs (North, South and Launceston), Burnie, Devonport and the rest of the large coastal towns e.g Latrobe, Ulverstone etc. Then there is the NTFA which is split into two divisons. The first division has the larger country towns (George Town, Longford, Scottsdale etc.) and a couple of Launceston suburban sides while the second division has your Old Scotch, St. Pats, Uni-Mowbray, Old Launcestonians as well as smaller regional teams like Campbell Town, Fingal and Perth.

Both NTFL and NTFA have under 19 comps but as you can imagine a lot of the NTFA clubs have problems filling them! The Mariners (a statewide U-18 team) still play practice games vs. the TAC sides. There are a couple of other leagues in the North. One that covers the smaller communities on the NW coast and another for the NE/E coast i.e. St Helens, Winnaleah etc.

Have a look at Tiger1945 result thread for the full list of leagues and the teams that play in them (might be a few teams missing with byes there though).

The highest level would be the Devils in the VFL, and we have u/18s (Tassis Mariners) who play against teams from the TAC but are not in the competition. The lowest I cannot comment on as there are small leagues around Tassis but Tigers will have more information on that.

VFL
Tasmania Devils

NTFL
Burnie, Devonport, East Devonport, Ulverstone, Latrobe, Wynyard, Smithton, Penguin, Launceston, South Launceston, North Launceston.

SFL Premier League
Clarence, Glenorchy, New Norfolk, North Hobart, Hobart Lions, Kingborough, Lauderdale, Brighton.

SFL Regional League
Kermandie, Cygnet, Channel, Huonville Lions, Lindisfarne, Sorell, Dodges Ferry, Claremont.

NTFA Division One
Deloraine, Rocherlea, Bridgenorth, Longford, George Town, Scottsdale Magpies, Hillwood, Bracknell.

NTFA Division Two
Perth, Tamar Cats, University-Mowbray, Old Launcestonians, Old Scotch, Campbell Town, St Patricks, Evandale, Fingal Valley.

Old Scholars Football Association
Dominic Old Scholars Association (DOSA), Old Hobartians Association (OHA), St Virgil's, Friends', University, Hutchins, Richmond.

Oatlands & Districts Football Association
Oatlands, Mt Pleasant, Bothwell, Swansea, Triabunna.

North East Football Union
Branxholm, Bridport, Lilydale, Ringarooma, Scottsdale Crows, St Helens, Winnaleah.

North West Football Association
East Ulverstone, West Ulverstone, Rosebery-Toorak, Sheffield, Motton-Preston, Spreyton, Forth, Turners Beach, Wesley Vale.

Darwin Football Association
Yolla, Myalla, Queenstown, Natone, Ridgley, Cuprona, Somerset, South Burnie, Yeoman.

Leven Football Association
Mole Creek, Castra, Railton, Latrobe Saints.

Circular Head Football Association
Scotchtown, Irishtown, Redpa, Trowutta-City, Forest-Stanley.

King Island Football League
Currie, Grassy, North.

To my knowledge, that is the entire club & league list from Tasmania.
The top would obviously be the VFL, followed by NTFL, then the SFL Premier League and NTFA Division One.
As for comparison in playing standards for the rest of the leagues, I don't know, sorry.
Hope this helps. :)

I've been wondering about the standard down there also. Mainly curious about the SFL Regional League standard. A certain player from Kermandie (Dave Reynolds) turned up at our club (Cobram - Murray League - Northern Victoria) at the beginning of this year telling our coaches & officials that it was a great standard competition and that he was the premier CHF of that competition. Doesn't like to talk himself up much. After 9 games he was probably in our best in one game against the bottom team of the comp, serviceable in other against a good opposition, and pretty much would have prefered him to be our reserves CHF for the rest of the year. How does Chunkie go in the SFL Regional??

keep your good eyes on the Mighty Forth Magpies in the NWFA,led by a demon ruck man hat cut his teeth in the toughest comp there is......the Sydney AFL Div1 (cue torrents of laughter...from me!!)in all seriousness,Jye Clayden is a damn fine product of Tassie footy in my opinion...also our new coach Marty Whiley is ex-Burnie and dead set as tough as nails.with the RAAF Richmond base our main feeder,we get plenty of Taswegians to the club,wouldnt want it any other way

Thanks a lot fellas, I have a much better insight of football down your way now. Much appreciated.

Another question, what's the difference between the SFL Premier League and the SFL Regional League? obviously one is better than the other, but how do they class both leagues? also, are these clubs playing in these leagues represenitive teams or a ''sign-up'' localy based team.

Reynolds would be one of the more reliable players in the Regional League without being a star. From what I gather being an avid Herald Sun reader, the Murray comp is far superior (as you might have guessed) than either SFL comp.

His club Kermandie like to spend up every few years like it's going out of fashion. As for playing with your local side, most players do whereas the big spenders like Kermandie recruit many players from town e.g. Glenorchy which for you mainlanders is about an hour away from Kermandie. My mail is there are players down there (Jamie Kaye, Matthew Bernes) who would be on more a game than most guys in the Devils VFL side!

As for the difference between Premier League and Regional League, the titles for each league were basically created by the powers that be so that it sounded better than "Div 1" and "Div 2" which is basically what each comp is. Save for the fact the administrators are too gutless to relegate or promote clubs that don't want to be. These composition of each league is more or less structured on ladder positions from the 2001 SFL season where all 15 sides except for Dodges Ferry played against each other.

Cheers Barge. Dave tried to tell us that the SFL was that much better than Murray that he reckons only 2 of our players would get a game down there. After seeing his performances however I would've thought he'd struggle to get a game if it were as good as he made out. Gee's i have some stories about him in the past 6 months and i would almost say that Cobram is happy to see the back of him.

Yup, cheers Barge. so these teams in the SFL are all local sides and the only represenitive team in the state is obviously the Devils??

Im pretty sure in all those country leagues, eg the Darwin Football league Which is the North West Tassie country league that the footy teams are the cricket teams in the summer,
Its still tuff and rough up here.

They pull a good crowd in the right games. Eg' they often (1 or 2 a year) but i saw it from driving past the ground at Penguin, and the ground and 500 m on each side of the road it packed with cars. THey pulled a huge crowd, i couldnt believe it, way bigger than ANY anverage NTFL crowd youd ever get. And it was a game between teams way away. Ridgley and Yeoman.
poor Ridgely, havent one a game yet :eek: that is where i live :cool: hahaha im not really interested

but i said before, the 'main' leauges are rubbish, but country footy is still going good

CAMEL said:
Im pretty sure in all those country leagues, eg the Darwin Football league Which is the North West Tassie country league that the footy teams are the cricket teams in the summer,
Its still tuff and rough up here.

They pull a good crowd in the right games. Eg' they often (1 or 2 a year) but i saw it from driving past the ground at Penguin, and the ground and 500 m on each side of the road it packed with cars. THey pulled a huge crowd, i couldnt believe it, way bigger than ANY anverage NTFL crowd youd ever get. And it was a game between teams way away. Ridgley and Yeoman.
poor Ridgely, havent one a game yet :eek: that is where i live :cool: hahaha im not really interested

but i said before, the 'main' leauges are rubbish, but country footy is still going good
the main leagues are rubbish ?? could you please expand on that

Footy in the Southern part of Tasmania is only just.
Devils form or lack of success is going to test the football economy as the season enters into the set up for finals period and unlikely the devlis will make the finals as in 2004 when the team and the media were extremly positive as per the winning culture it remains whether the crowds support to the end of the fixture.
The sfl is if you have not seen the results over the duration (into the 5th year) is not attractive to the footy followers as people today want entertain ment not one sided compotions almost dominated by 4 teams in the premier and one team Cygent inthe bush division.
Problem is the market says from a rough guide from postings maybe about 4000 people support live footy and the question is why a lot more reseach was not under taken at the end of season 2000 as far as the best result for clubs was concerned without competing and interuping teams with a new form that being the vfl team.

Blues_Man said:
the main leagues are rubbish ?? could you please expand on that
probably not

no one cares about the main leagues. theres no excitement or enthusiasm for and from the public to go out to watch the footy, wether its cost, quality or whatever, theres nothing in it.
but country footys good, just cause it is?? :cool:

stmookeyj said:
There's 3 teams on King Island now? I always thought that there were 2 that played until they had enough?

I don't have much on this lot, either, but seems there's usually 3 or more clubs :

From Footypedia F-Ref 2717

Code:
King Island Football Association (Tas)

Timeline :
1957 - Grand Final : Grassy 20.25.145 defeated Mount Stanley 3.10.28.
1992 - The King Island FA existed.
1998ish - The King Island FA existed.

2001 :
Grand Final - North 20.14.134 defeated Grassy 17.10.112.
North had won 39 flags at this time.

2002 :
Participating clubs were (complete) :
 - Currie,
 - Grassy and
 - North.

2005 :
Participating clubs were (complete) :
 - Currie,
 - Grassy and
 - North.

daimo33 said:
Yup, cheers Barge. so these teams in the SFL are all local sides and the only represenitive team in the state is obviously the Devils??

Basically all the teams in the SFL and NTFL and all the other comps are local sides, with some sides having one or two, sometimes more, "recruits".

I dunno you'd even call the Devils a representative side to be honest, as I know for a fact of one guy who played for them the other week (Aaron McVilly) who was going that poorly he, had he not been picked for the Devils the other week would have been dropped to the reserves of his local side, Clarence!

The Devils squad is basically made up of some of those who would be in a true rep side whereas the rest are those who have the desire to train at that level but don't necessarily have the ability to compete at that level (ie McVilly and others).

There are many players in the SFL and NTFL, and quite honestly other comps in the state, who could easily play in the Devils but are more content to play locally, with less travel and training requirements and still be paid more than they would be if they were competing at VFL level.

To my knowledge, given the training and travelling required (particularly those in the NW of the state - 8-9 hours drive return to Hobart A COUPLE OF TIMES A WEEK, where training is held) it is ridiculous the pittance these players are paid compared to what they can and do get in their local leagues!

In my opinion, until these players (mid range to fringe players) get paid more than they can get in local leagues, which lets face it if they're training and playing at VFL level they deserve, then the Devils will not get the true best players in Tassie participating as some if not most are more content to earn more for less effort!

Sorry to post another question infront of yours MadRyan. But what's the money being paid to players down there like? I've heard it's not a bad income for a local football level. Also in a post i read some players at local clubs are getting more than Devils players?

Just to have a stab at your question MadRyan. I think selection would be sorted the same way as it is in Victoria for under 18 football. As there is no under 18 league to look from aswell. There is under 19's and under 17's. I'm guessing they just have a eye on them during their junior stages and put them through the program to see if they are any good.

daimo33 said:
Just to have a stab at your question MadRyan. I think selection would be sorted the same way as it is in Victoria for under 18 football. As there is no under 18 league to look from aswell. There is under 19's and under 17's. I'm guessing they just have a eye on them during their junior stages and put them through the program to see if they are any good.

What would be the go if a second year eligble player moved states to Tasmania due to family and he was good enough for the standard. How would he get a pre season if they didn't know much about him?

Money was a significant reason why the statewide league fell apart. Which is a real shame because it was great to be a part of because it wa like a mini AFL. I loved the statewide league and I hope that one day it will be resurected, (not likely though) it was so much more interesting than the DEVILS.

Lack of crowds resulted in all the statewide clubs getting into considerable debt which made the league unsustainale. As for people talking bout money being paid to players, i play with clarence and know that each club has a salry cap of $40,000 a year but this is being increased. best players at clarence are getting $120 a game, obviously clubs can give other "incentives" i know a high-profile clarence player was offered $300 a game by lauderdale pre-season this year.

NTFL is becoming alot better league, Burnie have now lost two on the trot which has been unheard of in recent years and its alot more even just look at wynyard this year and where they were last year. As for the Devils honestly no one really cares about them up here in the north, you can tell that by the crowd they got when they played up here, and most of them were Burnie and Devonport Faithfull.

Football In Tasmania