Footy Preseason Training

whast do you guys think an appropriate playing weight would be for a 174 cm inside midfielder and what percent body fat do you reckon is good.
i have a training program worked out that consists of a 4 day cycle which is working very well but takes a huge toll on the body so shouldn't be done for very long and is specialised for footy
day 1: weights session heavy 1 exercise for back, chest, bi's ,tri's shoulders. woork upto 5x5 legsesion of Squats, leg press(feet high which hits hams) leg curl and leg extension.

day 2: 400mAerobic day run at least 8 km at a reasonable pace.

Day 3: weights 2 exercises of back, chest, bi's ,tri's shoulders/traps. 4x8 for each exercise

Day 4: speed interval session sumthin like 10 100m sprints nothing over

i also jogs to my gym which takes 10 mins and then i do a sort of timetrial back which kills me and at the moment my best is 6 mins.

Re: AFL Preseason Training

I'm also planning on started my pre-season in the next couple of days but im not sure how to start it.. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. All i've been doing so far is going on 5km runs every second day and like the OP, i've also being doing some Ab ripper X thing one of my mates gave me.

187cm, 77kg midfielder, 17 years old. My aim is to improve endurance and speed in general really. Im also going to start hitting the gym early December and i've got no idea how to go about weights. Do i start big with weights with less reps or small with more reps? What parts of the body should i work on?

You need to condition your muscular system and recruit all your muscle fibres.

For your first month stick to 15 reps, around 60-90 seconds between sets.

Keep the exercise functional - squat, lunge, pushup, pullup, jump. Dont waste your time with crap and potentially harmful exercises such as a leg extensions.

Hi guys im around 178- 180 cm and weigh 60 kg. I am 17 and looking to step up and put on some weight playing U 19's. I tend to get pushed off the ball to easily, I would like to put on about 5- 10 kg before the season starts next year, anything more is a bonus. I would like to get strong upper-body strength. I tend not to do wights because I still beleive I am growing and would like to know the truth about lifting weights and how it affects your growth. Any programs to help me put on weight will be appreciated.

i highly doubt you will be able to put on 10kgs of muscle before next season. it doesn't affect growing at all it is just a myth becasue it can be harmful to young kids who are growing if not done properly.

i would recommend a 5x5 day and a 4x8 day. you should go at least 3 times a week and just cycle through these days.
exercises should be 1 for each muscle and 5x5 day and 2 on 3x8
so a few exercises for each could be
chest: DB bench press, Incline Bench press, DB Flies
lats:LAt pull down, Kroc rows, pulls ups (wide grip)
Shoulders: Military press, Db Shoulder Press, Lateral raises
Bi's:Ezi bar curls, DB curls, Chin ups ( CLose grip)
Tri's: Close grip bench, Dips Skull crushers

What about just for getting/keeping fit?

It's vital.
I'm not a dietician but...

Breakfast: medium sized meal - Cereals (not boxed brekky cereals), museli, breads, fibrous fruit (apples, pears, etc... not melons or juice fruits), yoghurt (plain/unsweetened - not Yoplait. Jalna is good): High carb content. Ideally low GI as this will make you less likely to 'graze' through the day and snack on unhealthy food.
6:30 - 7:30am

Morning: snack - fruit, nuts, cup of tea (green): keep this light, just to get you through to lunch really. Try to eat before you're hungry.
10:30 am

Lunch: Large meal - Pasta, rice, breads, lean meat, cheese, starchy vegetables (potatoes etc..): Again High-carbas, low GI. Include some proteins here. dairy requirements (calcium etc...) from the cheese. about 12 -1 pm

Arvo: Snack - Sandwich, breads, small serve (about a fist) of pasta or similar, fruit, nuts: Not too heavy, if you're exercising or training that night go for the carb option, if your going to the gym go more toward protein.
5pm.

Tea (dinner): Medium meal. Lean meat, chicken, fish (200 - 400g), salad (undressed - lemon juice) or veggies. High protein meat / fish should fill you up and a large salad will satisfy because it will feel like you're eating a lot without adding too many Kj to the meal. Eat slowly. Remember to control portion size. There should be minimal carbs in this meal.
8 - 8:30 pm.

Dessert: Fruit - watermelon, orange, grapes, strawberries etc... High juice / water content. These are sweet enough to be a treat but far better for you than processed desserts. Don't take in sugar here because it'll just be converted and stored as fat while you sleep.
8:30 - 9pm.

Snacks: Fruit, nuts, dried fruit (in small doses). Try to keep some of this stuff around so that you don't buy chocolate bars etc.

Drinks: Water, and heaps of it. About 2 litres a day + whatever you'll need to replenish exercise. If your training or going to the gym try to get at least 3 litres over the day. I keep a 1.25 litre Pump bottle near me (refilled from the tap) and generally drink it dry by lunch, dry again by the time I get home, and then maybe a large glass of water with dinner. When you feel hungry outside meal-times / snack-times, drink water.

The simplest way to improve your diet is little things: Smaller portions. Avoid eating for reasons other than hunger. More water. No sft-drinks, minimal fruit-juice (high sugar), minimal milk (just in museli or a splash in tea), no added sugar to tea / coffee, green teas instead of black, etc... Don't add sugar to anything. More frequent small meals rather than 3 large ones.

Try to have 5 alcohol free days a week. (and reduce alcohol intake unless it's a celebration or a night out). Snack on unsalted nuts and fruit rather than chocolate / processed food. The only snacks you should need to unwrap are oranges and bananas.

I'm 189cms, 98kg, 110cm chest. I've come down from 110kgs a year ago and am trying to get to about 95kgs. I'm running 2 or 3 times a week and at the gym 2 or 3 times a week plus an occassional (about weekly) short swim.

This is based on my experience so fiddle with it until you're happy. I generally have one day a week where I can ignore the rules and drink beer, eat pizza and pies etc... This means I don't feel that I'm 'on a diet' or deprived.

Good luck

Yes I know it will be hard to put on 10 kg of muscle, Does anyone know a program on how I could put on 10 kg of body fat as well as increase muscle power
basically, lift heavy, using compound exercises, eat as much as you can, if that's your goal. 10kg over a pre-season will be near-impossible, whether it's fat, muscle, or both.

I go to the gym 2 or three times a week but im a bit slack and do the same exercises,is muscle memmory real,do you need to do different stuff to zap the muscles? Also alot of people seem to work one or two body parts each session,i just do a bit of everything and dont isolate will that make much difference to results?

I'm heading into under 14's next year, and I
really want to have a huge year. If anyone could give me any advice
on fitness, skills, strength, diet ete.
I am also planning to train 1-2 hours a day.

I go to the gym 2 or three times a week but im a bit slack and do the same exercises,is muscle memmory real,do you need to do different stuff to zap the muscles? Also alot of people seem to work one or two body parts each session,i just do a bit of everything and dont isolate will that make much difference to results?
i don't recommend doing a split for an athlete. so if your training for footy stay away from it. training with a split gives the muscle a long time to recover which isn't needed and doesn't get you as strong as maybe 3 whole body sessions a week and is mainly only done by guys wanting beach muscles and body builders but even then it doesn't work if you don't destroy the muscle by the end of a session . you don't need to do this becasue a beginner will have better gains from doing 3 whole body workouts. if your doing a split make sure you train each muscle 2 times a week. some people split legs and upper body which can be good and can work if you do a bit of running.

muscle memory can happen and you change exercises to shock the body before it adapts and then you will see greater change. it can also be hit the overall muscle becasue some exercises don't hit the whole muscle like the lats which is a pretty big musle you need at least 2 exercises to hit it properly. stick to compound movements even for bi's and tri's so do dips and chins. also don't forget to train forearms becasue they can help greatly in improving your lifts expecially pulls

I'm heading into under 14's next year, and I
really want to have a huge year. If anyone could give me any advice
on fitness, skills, strength, diet ete.
I am also planning to train 1-2 hours a day.

Young fella good to see you want to have a big year but dont go over the top. There is no way you should be training 1-2 hours a day and please don't touch any weights. Your only a young bloke so enjoy being a kid and don't stress about putting on weight or your fitness....

Just do your reguarly footy training, your probably running around at school at doing stuff like PE and stuff at lunch time and after school. The only reason us older blokes need to train so much to keep the weight off is because we working and don't have as much time to run around and keep active.

Concentrate on your skills and kicking and handballing both sides of your body...also practice bouncing the ball with both hands.

So in closing stick to your reguarly training and throw in a kick with your mates or a game of bball everynow and then...u dont want to be training to much because u'll burn out when your 17.

Cheers

Im 14yr/178cm/64kg and play CHB/FB. Whats the best way to get endurance up? Should i start running 30 mins per session then keep building it up?

you should do a mixture of running activities like just running for 30mins as mentioned. should also do interval training like 8x400m which will help it to. long distance running should be done at a reasonable intensity to don't just jog.

what do you giuys think about playing weights
i'm about 175 cm inside mid and at the moment weight 80kgs what should a decent playing wieght be

Hard to say from that info ... whatever gives you the best combination of strength, endurance, speed, agility, mobility etc.

What are some good things to do to improve your core strength in your legs?

never heard of core strength in your legs? ive heard of leg strength and core strength. you want to improve leg strength, squat, deadlift as your major exercises, than box squats, lunges, step-ups....

Looking for a program of fitness and strength training

Im an 18 year old, 170cm, around 75kg small forward and onballer.

I've always been a stocky build (Similar to a rugby player) through rowing, and I'm looking to thin up and try and burn off all excess fat and showing more muscle.

Have been going to the gym for several months and starting to hit my peak (As I don't want to lose my running ability) and looking to run more often.

Seeking running programs with also body exercises.

Thanks

Footy Preseason Training