News Francis Evans signs for Carlton VFL

Agree. We picked up a depth key forward/ruckman a couple of years ago from Geelong because it was an area of need.

Delisted without a game so what was the point?

Port see something in Evans and most Geelong fans i see post about him dont have a bad thing to say and reckon he will be a good player for us.
Time will tell, and if it doesnt work? who cares...its a delisted free agent not a 1st round draft pick
I actually care. If it doesn't work, we've lost a list spot, 1-2 years development of a player in a position of greater need, 1-2 years wages.

If we'd signed some delisted spud in 2016 because 'who cares it only costs us a list spot', we wouldn't have Dan Houston.

I remember a Russell Evans at Port, small rover. Never heard he had any connection to Tim.
A good school mate who now lives in Brisbane sent me a message on Friday, asking if I remembered him. Said I vaguely did, rover/follower from mid 80's played a few years and played 20 or 30 games. I asked why? He met him earlier in the day as my mate is in the market for a camper van and said Russell owns 50% of a van manufacturer on the Sunshine Coast. Says they are incredible quality and are exporting to USA. Sent me this link - Odyssey • Australian Off Road

It's only a list spot.

Except in a position than can be filled by one of the trillion flankers we already have.

Who's able to fill that kpd role if aliir goes down again? you can't just shuffle Kenny's deck chairs for key posts and think itll be ham and cheese.

Having depth in ruck, kpf and kpd are needs that must be addressed before you even contemplating some no name dfa.

Watching Port this year (both teams) it's clear we have a glaring deficiency in KPD's (not just this season). We don't need Francis Evans or a Francis Evans type. People say it's a free hit. That's rubbish. It's a spot on our list. On the main list is mystifying. Please don't tell me it's longer than a 1 year deal....
Wanna list our small forwards Lil?

Weve had 2 go out the door and one can't get on the park

We need to replace sam Skinner on our list. But the period isnt close to over

If we'd signed some delisted spud in 2016 because 'who cares it only costs us a list spot', we wouldn't have Dan Houston.
Nice work
You've pointed out the one time in the past decade+ our last list spot has gone to a certified winner.

Hell the trend ks to give it to an overeager is pretty common
Lindsay thomas, cam Hewett the 2nd/3rd time, jarrod lienert all have done better than when we went with youth (riley grundy, taj Schofield ect)

Wanna list our small forwards Lil?

Weve had 2 go out the door and one can't get on the park

We need to replace sam Skinner on our list. But the period isnt close to over
Fantasia, Rioli, SPP, Williams, McEntee (by design), on rotation, Rozee, Butters, Boak, Farrell (if he's not sent to hbf). We don't need Francis Evans. We have more pressing needs. Anyways, just my opinion.

I reckon one of them in Rioili is the genuine crumber type like evans

Don't think I've heard him being referred to as a genuine crumber. More of a marking forward. We've been down the Tobin Cox road before.
Truth be told ive watched him play twice

But he looked to me to be able to hit camerons feet at the right ocasion quite well for mine

Re Russell Evans, I can recall him playing for the Maggies when Ebo was coach, and he then moved to Westies when Jack Cahill came back from his stint with the wobblers and coached that club for a few years.

I don't know if he played any jnr footy for the Maggies, but I don't think he was a local product or from Port's zone on the West Coast.
I have a vague recollection he may have been from country NSW, and it was possibly Broken Hill.

Before that a bloke called John Abley came across from Hawthorn as a ruckman but Fos stuck him at full back. The story goes that John Abley's brother Kevin had signed to play for Glenelg and invited his brother over to take a look around the Bay. Big Bob got wind of it and met John Abley at the Adelaide Railway Station and took him to Alberton instead. The only time Abley got to see the Bay Oval was when we flogged Glenelg down there, which was pretty often.

I have an idea that Lurch Elleway also came from the Riverland as a ruckman but Fos put him at fullback. When he first started Lurch was an indifferent kick but a short time with the likes of Chicken Hayes and Geof Motley soon corrected that.

To continue the full back conversion story Casper Sorrell was in my opinion a so so half forward but Jack tried him at fullback and it worked as did the Fiacchi conversion from a Reserve grade rover to a class back pocket.

Abley, Elleway, Sorrell, Evans, Delaney, Fiacchi etc Port have a long tradition of converting players but of course that was another age when we had Coaches with insight and inspiration- alas we do not have that at this time.
Max James too started as a forward

A good school mate who now lives in Brisbane sent me a message on Friday, asking if I remembered him. Said I vaguely did, rover/follower from mid 80's played a few years and played 20 or 30 games. I asked why? He met him earlier in the day as my mate is in the market for a camper van and said Russell owns 50% of a van manufacturer on the Sunshine Coast. Says they are incredible quality and are exporting to USA. Sent me this link - Odyssey • Australian Off Road
I grew up in Broken Hill: Russell was the youngest of five brothers who played for Centrals (in the Hill).
A football prodigy, he was recruited by Port while still at school.

Small in stature, after moving to Adelaide he never matched the hype and expectations generated as a boy wonder.
Still, playing around 30 games for the Magpies is no mean feat.

Can someone please remind me how Francis and Russell Evans are related.

I believe they were introduced to each other by Tim Evans at the last Evans Convention @ The Evanston Town Hall.

In 1832 husband and wife, Gerwyn and Myfwany Evans, from the Welsh town of Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch were convicted of stealing two eggs and transported to Tasmania. After serving their time they settled down on a small farm and started a family. Two of their 17 children, Evan and Bevan survived into adulthood. Evan Evans eventually took over the family farm, and Bevan Evans moved to Sydney to seek his fortune. Tim Evans is descended from the Evan Evans branch of the family and Russell from the Bevan Evans branch.

Francis is no relation

In 1832 husband and wife, Gerwyn and Myfwany Evans, from the Welsh town of Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch were convicted of stealing two eggs and transported to Tasmania. After serving their time they settled down on a small farm and started a family. Two of their 17 children, Evan and Bevan survived into adulthood. Evan Evans eventually took over the family farm, and Bevan Evans moved to Sydney to seek his fortune. Tim Evans is descended from the Evan Evans branch of the family and Russell from the Bevan Evans branch.

Francis is no relation
Well the town of Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, or Llanfair Pwllgwyngyll, is a large village and local government community on the island of Anglesey, Wales. Not to be confused with the town of Anglesy near Geelong.

News Francis Evans signs for Carlton VFL