Fremantle V Essendon - One of the most important games of the season so far

Essendon, not a chance this week. Seen it too many times before when travelling West.
We might put up a fight, but not for long.
There seems to be something between Fremantle and Essendon in regards to our history with trades, ex-players, recruiting and coaches.
For some reason I think Fremantle hates us, loves playing us over in the West and will most likely flog us.

Hope I'm wrong, but I picked Melbourne to win also last week.
Essendon don't seem mentally strong enough for my liking at times.

I think Essendon are likely to have the better team on the field, but not by a huge amounts, and as it's in WA, I'm tipping Freo.

I agree it's a vital game though. If you look at Essendon's next few games (NM, Haw, Geel), this could be an ugly month for them.

While Essendon have clearly improved they are seriously over rated by some.
They have been awesome early in the season on the back of the Hird honeymoon period. That is over now.

Still think they can make the 8 but no where near a top 4 side like so many were talking. Will finish 6-12 in my view.

This week won't help them much, give them little chance against Freo at home also playing possibly for their season.

Fremantle were ok against Hawthorn accept for the final 25 minutes when they completely switched off. They at least showed they had some sort of structure in place without sandilands.

Essendon on the other hand were made to look second rate by Melbourne. They were slow, had little to no forward structure, and continue to rely on Zaharakis and Monfries to kick their goals.

As a few people have said, Essendon don't travel well, and playing over in Perth is the hardest road-trip in footy. Getting Watson and Hurley back will help, but I reckon Freo will get the points.

Both teams are nothing more than "also-rans" this year - the only thing this game is important for is figuring out who gets the higher draft pick.

Both teams are far too reliant on one player.

Fremantle were ok against Hawthorn accept for the final 25 minutes when they completely switched off.
Only one bad quarter means you were alright for three, eh? Nice theory.

Problem being, the last 2 games we've been virtually equal for the first (-1/+2 points), second (+2/+5)and last (+6/-3) quarters.

Freo capitulated, we capitulated. Doesn't mean much.

Both teams are nothing more than "also-rans" this year - the only thing this game is important for is figuring out who gets the higher draft pick.

Both teams are far too reliant on one player.

Ridiculous post. Both teams are up and coming with premiership hopes over the next few years. Finals experience is much more valuable than draft picks.

Geez Essendon fans really think they are no hope in this one don't they :confused:

I know your interstate record is ordinary, but you get back you two best players, and catch Freo when they are ravaged by injury, and have lost 4 out of their last 5. You really should beat them.

huge game for both clubs no doubt

2 points and percentage seperating us on the ladder

we need the 4 points big time - especially a crucial 4 home points and to actually win at home! (2/6 is shameworthy!)

odds are stacked against us - but if we play at the same level and intensity as we did in the first 3/4 of the Hawthorn game we should put them to bed easily (Essendon don't have Rioli to bail them out like Hawthorn do lol)

Am very much looking forward to hosting the dons

Geez Essendon fans really think they are no hope in this one don't they :confused:

I know your interstate record is ordinary, but you get back you two best players, and catch Freo when they are ravaged by injury, and have lost 4 out of their last 5. You really should beat them.

Yeah, if we've made any progress, we should back ourselves to be able to win this. But seriously, it doesn't matter how well we're going/how badly they're going, over the last 9 odd years, we've lost around 90% of games interstate. I'd like to think the players (especially the younger ones) don't put much thought into our road record and just play the game on its merit.

Fremantle will more than likely win.

If it was at Etihad, it would be different.

You seem dissapointed that people don't share your view on Fremantle.

Essendon are 4th in centre clearances and have won the Inside 50's the last two rounds despite not kicking enough goals to win. If we drop a ruckmen, we can re-apply our forward press and with Watson back, we should have some dominance around the clearances with Freo again without Sandilands. Subi is a long ground but narrow enough that a good forward press is hard to overcome as West Coast have proven this year.

Still our efficiency of our forward entries needs to get better as the long bomb to Hille/Ryder is far too predictable atm and the opposition are plucking us off. Richmond defence is ordinary, we made it look good. Melbourne's defence is better, but still, we were so predictable we made some young kids look like legends back there. Time for some pin point passes in there Bombers!

with freos injuries and the return of watson and hurley it actually gives essendon a slight chance of winning(highly unlikely though)

I'm honestly not sure what to expect in this game between Freo v Essendon. Neither team is in great form. Reckon whichever team can get momentum going their way early will run over the other. Whoever is ahead at half time will probably win. Sandilands has absolutely dominated us in recent history so it will be a very different type of match compared to our last few. I'm not confident but I certainly think Bombers are a chance this week. Whichever team loses, is going to have to really battle hard to make the finals in my opinion.

Fremantle V Essendon - One of the most important games of the season so far