Gaff - does he stay or go? Let me set the scene..

He will be cooked physically by 30

I think it's a good point that you make. Also being a midfielder role , it has more of an effect on them and their career time span. His best years as a footballer should be in this time right now. (he is 26 years old right now- the best years of a midfielder are around the 25 to 30 years age bracket)

I'm of the opinion, West Coast fans can accept it if they win the premiership this year, Gaff can leave on good terms with the team. West Coast has one of the best support networks for rehabilitating players and I'm sure he would want to leave West Coast on a high rather than a low. I think of Chris Judd having won a premiership in 2006, and heard him mentioned that the time was right and he wanted to achieve higher goals back home in Victoria. I think of as a similar situation to the LeBron James scenario, if you can go out on a high, i.e having won championships at Miami and Cleveland , and now moving over to LA to again challenge for titles. He could be considered in my mind the greatest NBA player if he nabs a championship at the Lakers in the next few seasons. As an AFL players your dream as a childhood should be to win a premiership. I honestly don't know why Gaff would consider one of these mid-tier, low ranked Melbourne teams is being thrown around. In my opinion West Coast is a lot more closer to a premiership than the Saints are. (even if the Saints happen to pick up Gaff next season). West Coast without Gaff in 2019 v Saints with Gaff in 2019, West Coast will still be a better team.

I can accept something along the lines of Tom Lynch wanting to return home. He doesn't owe them anything anymore, he gave 8 years of service to the club and the club isn't going forward in any way. As an AFL player, you don't have a long time playing and I guess you want to give yourself every chance of challenging for a title. I can understand why the big clubs are chasing him. (hawks, Pies and Richmond)

If they fall short of a premiership, him staying for 2-3 more seasons to rectify and be the link between them challenging for premiership in the next few years. My gut feeling is Andrew Gaff - stays.

I think it's a good point that you make. Also being a midfielder role , it has more of an effect on them and their career time span. His best years as a footballer should be in this time right now. (he is 26 years old right now- the best years of a midfielder are around the 25 to 30 years age bracket)

I'm of the opinion, West Coast fans can accept it if they win the premiership this year, Gaff can leave on good terms with the team. West Coast has one of the best support networks for rehabilitating players and I'm sure he would want to leave West Coast on a high rather than a low. I think of Chris Judd having won a premiership in 2006, and heard him mentioned that the time was right and he wanted to achieve higher goals back home in Victoria. I think of as a similar situation to the LeBron James scenario, if you can go out on a high, i.e having won championships at Miami and Cleveland , and now moving over to LA to again challenge for titles. He could be considered in my mind the greatest NBA player if he nabs a championship at the Lakers in the next few seasons. As an AFL players your dream as a childhood should be to win a premiership. I honestly don't know why Gaff would consider one of these mid-tier, low ranked Melbourne teams is being thrown around. In my opinion West Coast is a lot more closer to a premiership than the Saints are. (even if the Saints happen to pick up Gaff next season).

I can accept something along the lines of Tom Lynch wanting to return home. He doesn't owe them anything anymore, he gave 8 years of service to the club and the club isn't going forward in any way. As an AFL player, you don't have a long time playing and I guess you want to give yourself every chance of challenging for a title. I can understand why the big clubs are chasing him. (hawks, Pies and Richmond)

If they fall short of a premiership, him staying for 2-3 more seasons to rectify and be the link between them challenging for premiership in the next few years.

We trvael 80,000 to 90,000 km per season ......getting on planes after games takes its toll on longevity

Gaffs best chance at winning at a flag is staying at west coast

We trvael 80,000 to 90,000 km per season ......getting on planes after games takes its toll on longevity

Gaffs best chance at winning at a flag is staying at west coast
Yeah nah. Gaff for an outside player thats been very durable over his career, i can't see him being cooked in 4 years time. Its not like he's being battered pillar to post.

Its the travel...it shortens careers by 50-100 games
Yes it does but we have had guys play good footy past 30 and Gaff unlike most of them has been very durable and way less uncontested. He is the sort of bloke that would be an anomaly and push 300 and play till his 35.

Gaff plays very sore a hell of a lot.

If a vic club wants to pay gaff 1.3 over 7 years go for it

Name a west coast mid who was till really playing well post 30

I believe the airline travel really shortend careers

Gaff will be cooked by 30

Strongly Disagree with that, while history shows WA past players have shorter careers the Fact that Gaff has already played 175 games out of a possible 186 shows how durable he is and the fact he has never had a major injury is going to help him by the time he gets into his 30s.
Also if he signs for a Vic club he won't even have to worry about travel. But if he stays he will become our All time games holder n first to crack 300

If I was a betting man, Id say there is 55% Gaff Stays, 45% Gaff goes

Gaff is already goneski. He's delayed talks until the 'end of the season' like all the others did. This is no longer a pay dispute, rather he is returning to VIC. He is leaving West Coast in a hole for the finals also - what a graceful way to exit.

Its the travel...it shortens careers by 50-100 games
Wish people didnt keep saying that - players might believe it and not want to play over year.

Fact is Freo are likely to have there 2nd 300 gamer next year.

Not too many teams have had 2 300 gamers in the last 20 years.

Ok, West Coast have not had any 300 gamers - but neither have most other teams over the last 20 years.

Apparently Gaff is on GameDay this morning?

My money is on him doing the full interview then, at the end, ripping his shirt open to reveal the words “I’m staying bitches” in Andrew Brayshaw’s blood.

Wish people didnt keep saying that - players might believe it and not want to play over year.

Fact is Freo are likely to have there 2nd 300 gamer next year.

Not too many teams have had 2 300 gamers in the last 20 years.

Ok, West Coast have not had any 300 gamers - but neither have most other teams over the last 20 years.

Travel is definitely factor IMO.

West Coast has had loads of players retire early due to injury.
The vast majority of other clubs have multiple 300 gamers over the last 20/25 years.

Probably mentioned already here..but his father being ill with heart problems?..you'd think even if he was considering staying at WCE, that might sway him to return to Vic...

Whilst I’m sure that the travel is undoubtedly a factor, I think some increased professionalism from our boys throughout their careers should help them last a little longer. Our first 2 generations of stars definitely enjoyed their nights out on the beers or worse. With the ability to do this decreasing and a better focus on recovery and sport science, I’m hoping our newer players will be able to play a little longer.

if you want a neutrals point of view, i think there's a big opportunity here with the Gaff situation that you can use to your advantage if he is going

whilst you always want to keep talent at the quality of gaff, if he does go i think you could set your club up nicely for the next 5-7 years.

say you lose Gaff, i think you need to do everything you can to either:
1) force a trade and get 2 first rounders for him
2) get a high 1st round draft pick in compo

that high pick or two first rounders could be packaged up to get Kelly, who i think is ready to explode in form after another full pre season. i think you would also use one of two firsts to get McGovern.

so you could turn Gaff into McGovern and Kelly which i think would be a massive win

if you want a neutrals point of view, i think there's a big opportunity here with the Gaff situation that you can use to your advantage if he is going

whilst you always want to keep talent at the quality of gaff, if he does go i think you could set your club up nicely for the next 5-7 years.

say you lose Gaff, i think you need to do everything you can to either:
1) force a trade and get 2 first rounders for him
2) get a high 1st round draft pick in compo

that high pick or two first rounders could be packaged up to get Kelly, who i think is ready to explode in form after another full pre season. i think you would also use one of two firsts to get McGovern.

so you could turn Gaff into McGovern and Kelly which i think would be a massive win
No way would I be giving up a first rounder for Mitch McGovern, who plays a position we don't need covered.

don't you? how old is kennedy?

maybe you don't use the first out right but you could downgrade it/split it heaps of options
I'd give up a second rounder for him, maybe.

Brander/Allen/Allen are doing well and are likely to play when Kennedy goes. McGovern is surplus to requirements.

Apparently Gaff's partner just gave notice on her job as a teacher, doesn't bode well for Gaff hanging around.

Well that's all she wrote.... big money, plus sick fathers ('tis a big issue) and the king hit shame and infamy as well as denting wc 2018 flag chance from unlikely to almost zero was the final nail. But would wc match? That's a risk as we nvm could jus take say errr don't want anymore as we need picks for t Thomas. Unless a series of picks were exchanged like 2019 first and third for gaff and 2018 second rounder. We will lose the first pick for Polec anyways but will get back a second. So a cluster of second and third round can also draft Thomas. Thomas make no mistake is the real target, he is the next Leigh Matthews.

Gaff - does he stay or go? Let me set the scene..