Gary Ablett

Dec 13, 2008
Narre Warren South..
East Fremantle Sturt
Anyone else have that feeling that Ablett played his last game for Geelong tonight? He gave it everything and i think wanted to show people he never held back for Geelong, plus he could be getting out at the right time just as the dynasty begins to crumble.

Hurry up and give us your decision now Ablett and lets move on to the Grand Final and season 2011..

Do others agree?

He would be mad not to go.

Loyalty is a bullshit guilt-trip that fans and coaches try to use to keep champions at their club. Football is a business and the players are professionals. They deserve to earn what the market says they are worth.

Also, Gary jnr has seen his dad, IMO the best player the game has ever seen, finish his career without much to show for it financially. He would no doubt be determined to make sure that doesn't happen to him.

Take the money and run, Gazza. You have earned it.

Loyalty is a bullshit guilt-trip that fans and coaches try to use to keep champions at their club. Football is a business and the players are professionals. They deserve to earn what the market says they are worth.

Also, Gary jnr has seen his dad, IMO the best player the game has ever seen, finish his career without much to show for it financially. He would no doubt be determined to make sure that doesn't happen to him.

If he hadnt had success, i think the thought of it during his career would be on his mind and where he can achieve it but i reckon he is mad under his circumstances not to go and enjoy the sun

Yep, I definitely think Ablett won't be able to refuse the Gold Coast offer. He did a magnificent job with the Cats, but now his time there is up and a new challenge and a truckload of cash awaits him at the Suns.

Good luck to him, I say.:thumbsu:

I doubt too many people will be upset that Gary Ablett Snr doesn't have a lot of money. He seems like the type of guy who if he wasn't a great footballer no one would want to talk to him.

Why do you say that?

This is just what i've heard (correct me if i am wrong) but isn't he a born again christian who has a long history with drugs and depression.

Plus a few years ago he wrote (well plagiarised) a article which pretty much said that if you believe in evolution then you are part of the problem (the problem being society supposedly getting worse and worse).

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/wh...-want-to-live-in/story-e6frf7jo-1225845501207

From what I saw tonight, a true champion giving it his all when (no offense to geelong supporters) the rest of the team had realised their fate he kept digging in, whether that meant he is leaving or not my respect grew larger of this guy, so whatever happens, I know geelong supporters will find it hard if he leaves but you have to realise that he has bleed white and blue through your success and like all champions needs a new challenge, and at the end of his career he will still have deep love for the Geelong Football Club

Big Fozza endorses this post.

I see where you're coming from but disagree with some of it, especially the bold. He's not going to earn what the market says he's worth, he's going to earn what the AFL have decided to allow a 17th team to pay him. It's outside the market, because the rest of the teams are unable to pay it. That's not a market determining worth.

Ablett would be a fool not to leave.

Geelong badly need to enter a team rebuilding phase & at least 5 of their older players need to retire & be replaced with youth.

excellent summation!!..especially from a cats fan..love the objectivity.
as a pro of course he'd play his heart out especially in such a lynchpin game..he's wearing a brand, or two brands -Brand Ablett,and Brand Geelong.
thanks cats for some great games,and displays of footy..i'm sure the mojo will return albeit the new and improved MkII version.

This is just what i've heard (correct me if i am wrong) but isn't he a born again christian who has a long history with drugs and depression.

Plus a few years ago he wrote (well plagiarised) a article which pretty much said that if you believe in evolution then you are part of the problem (the problem being society supposedly getting worse and worse).

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/wh...-want-to-live-in/story-e6frf7jo-1225845501207

oh well, none of us are perfect,and we all have our human frailties,and oblique opinions..especially when we slump to idle gossip.(when was it a crime to be depressed?)

He gave it everything and i think wanted to show people he never held back for Geelong

That's how I saw it;

He wanted to show everybody that, even though he might (is) go to GC, and has been signed for months, his committment and effort for Geelong was never anything less than 100%.

And he wanted to give the Club, and the Team, a parting gift; play his heart out in an effort to drag them to another Flag - obviously didn't get there, but jesus, it wasn't for a lack of trying.

I've always rated him hugely as a footballer, and he seems like a good bloke, but a couple of things (sooking when he didn't win the first Brownlow) had made me think he was a bit selfish, but, after last night, I've got nothing but respect for him.

Gary Ablett