• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

GDFL Season 2018

Has Afl Barwon got a plan for junior football across all the leagues?

With only a handful of clubs having a large junior section.. How can the rumoured 4 extra clubs survive when most clubs don't have or barely have a junior section.

Or does afl Barwon just plan to constantly give these new clubs alot of extra player points?

Or is maybe Geelong's junior population increasing enough to warrant it?

Surely collindina would be the sensible option already have a junior base??

No, no they havent.
Jan Juc wont happen now that Surfcoast Suns (proposed Torquay North) are a reality.

I know for 110% fact mate that the new Ocean Grove team is and will happen. Wont be based out of Collendina oval either. Will be based out of the brand new oval in the new Oakdene Estate. Collendina will be the possible name, there is a committee formed to get the wheels in motion and it is going to happen. If the current structure was going to stay the same, they would be entering into what is currently the GDFL. By that stage it will be Div 3 or 4 depending on numbers.
have heard the same thing re Oakdene. Auskick aiming to start there in 2018 and will grow from there. It will be a new stand alone club and won't be Collendina moving there.

With only a handful of clubs having a large junior section.. How can the rumoured 4 extra clubs survive when most clubs don't have or barely have a junior section.

Or does afl Barwon just plan to constantly give these new clubs alot of extra player points?

Collendina and OG are aligned so pretty sure they wouldn't let Colendina get seniors.

it looks to me like the next powerhouse club in the gdfl is west geelong. winless last yr to prolly 5th/6th this yr n prolly 3/4 next yr. they hav 2 u/18 teams n will share 50 18yr olds over the nxt 2 yrs with gfl giants.
i postd the news bout shore n north geelong over a yr ago. n i rekon east+albans, corio+lara, belmont+south etc shuld align up to 16s. duno how belmont wuld convince south 2 agre bt worth the pitch. keeps kids in footy longer n helps counter point system. the advantage west geelong hav is too great. i dunno y stott isnt playin bt hes a serious gun n being 1 pt is crazy
gdfl hav no answers 4 there clubs getn juniors n afl barwon dont either. they work full time with clubs for 5+ yrs n stil gdfl junior numbers r pathetic while they let marys n joeys hav 3 u16 sides each. time for clubs to work together. big picture.

it looks to me like the next powerhouse club in the gdfl is west geelong. winless last yr to prolly 5th/6th this yr n prolly 3/4 next yr. they hav 2 u/18 teams n will share 50 18yr olds over the nxt 2 yrs with gfl giants.
i postd the news bout shore n north geelong over a yr ago. n i rekon east+albans, corio+lara, belmont+south etc shuld align up to 16s. duno how belmont wuld convince south 2 agre bt worth the pitch. keeps kids in footy longer n helps counter point system. the advantage west geelong hav is too great. i dunno y stott isnt playin bt hes a serious gun n being 1 pt is crazy
gdfl hav no answers 4 there clubs getn juniors n afl barwon dont either. they work full time with clubs for 5+ yrs n stil gdfl junior numbers r pathetic while they let marys n joeys hav 3 u16 sides each. time for clubs to work together. big picture.

Why would Belmont wanna join jnrs while already having full teams from under 10s up and looking at having 2 16s teams next year Belmont are massive on jnrs with Coggsy pushing it along year in year out

How about all you Bellarine blokes piss off to your own boring thread don't want to listen to your shit

Mate read earlier, it's going to be a new GDFL team. Hence why we are talking here?
Collendina and OG are aligned so pretty sure they wouldn't let Colendina get seniors.

Correct with everything you said. It will be a brand new stand alone club, there are quite a few of the same people who have formed the committee that were part of the original formation of collendina in the early 2000s. They want to call it collendina. So not disagreeing at all with you!

Why would Belmont wanna join jnrs while already having full teams from under 10s up and looking at having 2 16s teams next year Belmont are massive on jnrs with Coggsy pushing it along year in year out

its gona become essential to hav 1pts to compete especially wen divisions come in. retention is important n providing pathways will keep kids. if south hav 30 top age 18yr olds, where do they all go? cant all play gfl so gdfl get the spill back as they played aligned footy til 16s so will b 1pt.
n if belmont hav any falcons kids, they get told to leave belmont anyway so may as well offer div1 u16 footy in an alignment.
when sum1 wants to leave they will go anywhere bt if u hav the alignment they go from 18s to belmont to south back to belmont n r 1 pt all the way.

its gona become essential to hav 1pts to compete especially wen divisions come in. retention is important n providing pathways will keep kids. if south hav 30 top age 18yr olds, where do they all go? cant all play gfl so gdfl get the spill back as they played aligned footy til 16s so will b 1pt.
n if belmont hav any falcons kids, they get told to leave belmont anyway so may as well offer div1 u16 footy in an alignment.
when sum1 wants to leave they will go anywhere bt if u hav the alignment they go from 18s to belmont to south back to belmont n r 1 pt all the way.

Reckon the panic will set in for the district clubs without a junior (1pt) Sustainable production line when the restructuring comes into effect in 2019.
You will be stuck in the lowest 2 divisions for a generation, past history will be irrelevant and only discussed at past players days about your clubs old glory days.
Act now or get left behind. Don't hate on the Giants for showing you the light

Reckon the panic will set in for the district clubs without a junior (1pt) Sustainable production line when the restructuring comes into effect in 2019.
You will be stuck in the lowest 2 divisions for a generation, past history will be irrelevant and only discussed at past players days about your clubs old glory days.
Act now or get left behind. Don't hate on the Giants for showing you the light
St Mary's and St Joeys are light years ahead of the competition in forward planning for sustained success

Challis confirmed and signed as corio playing coach next year

I no east would be absolutely filthy that he didnt go back to them. He was well look after there by them and prob could of had the coaching gig there too next year

I bet Winch felt the same when he left them to go to East! At least he has spent a couple years away from the GDFL!
Remember Ric and East were filthy when he left to go to Darley whilst on contract with a year to run, thats footy these days. Sad but a reality.

I bet Winch felt the same when he left them to go to East! At least he has spent a couple years away from the GDFL!
Remember Ric and East were filthy when he left to go to Darley whilst on contract with a year to run, thats footy these days. Sad but a reality.

Heh Senior: Mondays Headline....
Interim Coach Jason Young inspires Belmont Lions to a thrilling 3 point win over Thomson Tigers....
Have a good weekend XXX

How are Belmont and Corio travelling of the field? Both clubs needed hand outs from the GDFL as both clubs couldn't pay the players at the end of last season.

Did hear Nolan had a 2 year contract will they pay that contract out in any way?

How are Belmont and Corio travelling of the field? Both clubs needed hand outs from the GDFL as both clubs couldn't pay the players at the end of last season.

Did hear Nolan had a 2 year contract will they pay that contract out in any way?

I see Brett Nolan is an "out" for the senior team, is he coaching out the year?

Did notice that in the Addy, I would like to think (and hope) he would coach out the season. I'm a strong advocate for players, coaches, clubs etc fulfilling their contract obligations. But as l said in earlier post, thats footy these days. I don't like or agree with it but it happens. I believe if he is contracted then he must be paid out. A contract is a contract! Unless he has breached a clause which I doubt he has, then the contract must stand.

surely ur kidding? they appoint a coach behind ur back for a season ur contractd for n u think he shuld stay n coach out the season? hes prolly 2 concerned bout the knife holes in his back to worry bout coaching the rest of the yr.

as for the new coach, no pun intended but the Corio coach job is a poisoned challis.
remember the bloke who signed there, saw how much of a rabble the club was n bailed on em? then signed for west a week later. wuldnt be surprised if challis is regretting his decision alredy. unless his on a boat load of cash i cnt see him stickin it out with his reputation of breaking contracts. just wait til he sees what a lost cause it is. "oh but the committee is trying and improving n I like the direction they r headed" GUESS WHAT THEY HIRED YOU WHILE THE EXISTING COACH WAS CONTRACTED AND THEY CLAIM TO NOT KNO ABOUT IT! yep sounds like they hav everythin under control.. great club NOT

surely ur kidding? they appoint a coach behind ur back for a season ur contractd for n u think he shuld stay n coach out the season? hes prolly 2 concerned bout the knife holes in his back to worry bout coaching the rest of the yr.

as for the new coach, no pun intended but the Corio coach job is a poisoned challis.
remember the bloke who signed there, saw how much of a rabble the club was n bailed on em? then signed for west a week later. wuldnt be surprised if challis is regretting his decision alredy. unless his on a boat load of cash i cnt see him stickin it out with his reputation of breaking contracts. just wait til he sees what a lost cause it is. "oh but the committee is trying and improving n I like the direction they r headed" GUESS WHAT THEY HIRED YOU WHILE THE EXISTING COACH WAS CONTRACTED AND THEY CLAIM TO NOT KNO ABOUT IT! yep sounds like they hav everythin under control.. great club NOT
For starters speak English you uneducated moron!
Thats right MORON. Look it up in the dictionary (or look in the mirror, whichever one you own, if any)!!!
I said " I would like to think and I hope he would coach out the season".
He and the club have entered a contract and as I have stated, if he is released from his contract he should be paid out, to which Nolan would probably agree too (I'm assuming)!

If you are referring to Mark Hounslow, get your facts right before opening your mouth.
Bailed on them???? What a load of utter crap!
Is that the same bloke who bailed on Geelong West? The same bloke who bull sh***ed on his footy resume, promises the world and delivers nothing? GFL players to follow him, pfft!
Is this the same bloke who Grovedale were happy to see the back off?
Yep that's him. Where is he now?