• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

GDFL Season 2021

Winch by 10 points
Banno by 20
BPH by a kick
Werribee by 30
Anakie by 20
Thomson by 35
Best round of footy by far this year,
Few games could turn fairly quick

Agree with that completely, cracker of a round.
Winch by 20
Banno by 15
Hill by 10
Werribee by 40
Anakie by 50
Thomson by 30

Dear Peter, how is the weather down in Lorne? Yes I totally agree....I am sure he will cleared, most clubs refuse the first one, good luck against Birregurra.
Clearances were denied...what's going on there?

Obviously more than you, me or even punchy are aware of, if there was no reason to hold them AFL Barwon would clear them so probably a money issue or playing jumpers outstanding, everything in footy is hush hush so we’ll probably never know the truth

Thoughts from the weekend?

Thought Belmont at home might have been a little bit closer
Didn’t think Anakie would smash corio
Thought Hill would win but I was wrong but great game just the same.
Thomson v West was a good game and Banno v East is about where they are at as well as Winch v Inver.
Probably a few people including me might have thought Inver might go back a bit further than they have but they’re going alright

Another reasonable round of footy this weekend.
Our first truly wet game for the season coupled up with some horrible winds, maybe a bit hypothermic tomorrow,
Thomson 10 goals
Inver 5 goals
BPH 2 goals
East by a kick
Banno 25 goals
Winch 2 goals

Another reasonable round of footy this weekend.
Our first truly wet game for the season coupled up with some horrible winds, maybe a bit hypothermic tomorrow,
Thomson 10 goals
Inver 5 goals
BPH 2 goals
East by a kick
Banno 25 goals
Winch 2 goals

Agree again, some cracker games this week. Sadly wont be about to see any of them!
Thomson by 80 points
Inverleigh by 30
Hill by 18
Werribee by 12
Banno by 100+
Winch by 4 goals

Only time until George "The Axe" Baker sacks Ash Whitney. He has a habit you know!!!
Tick Tick Tick

The integrity of a coach is largely dictated by the amount of wins he gets, in footy circles even flogs are revered if they can win games but if they don’t then good blokes can look like a flog, George will do whats right for the club regardless of what anyone thinks.
You only have to look at Inver last year, sacked a coach after how many finals appearances, still did what they thought was right for the club at that time, besides there is not anybody else in that club with the spine to take his job

Only time until George "The Axe" Baker sacks Ash Whitney. He has a habit you know!!!
Tick Tick Tick⏱⏱⏱

He would be sitting in his rocking chair sharpening his axe right now!! (Hope these comments don’t get me banned again)

Good to see West & Winch right up their in contention this year.. When was the last time either of these 2 sides won some silverware?

Do we give ourselves any chance this weekend against the BFL? The BFL have more on the line than us.

He would be sitting in his rocking chair sharpening his axe right now!! (Hope these comments don’t get me banned again)

Good to see West & Winch right up their in contention this year.. When was the last time either of these 2 sides won some silverware?

Do we give ourselves any chance this weekend against the BFL? The BFL have more on the line than us.

BFL by 40 pts. Simply too much depth and top end talent. I reckon if this game was played 5-8 years ago its a different story but in the time since the BFL has gotten stronger and the GDFL weaker.

Belmont would be a bit shattered. Both the club and Ash Witney. Simply because they would have wanted to continue to build from 2018.
Is there someone who can do better? Probably not. Coaching at GDFL level is as much about the players you can bring than actually being a good coach.

It’s not like BPH are flying. I don’t think the players who left would make much difference to BPH anyway or regret leaving BPH.

I did watch a little of BPH vs Belmont. A Few Belmont players been in a good paddock over summer

George will do whats right for the club regardless of what anyone thinks.
You only have to look at Inver last year, sacked a coach after how many finals appearances, still did what they thought was right for the club at that time, besides there is not anybody else in that club with the spine to take his job

Yes well said, George Baker was asked to take on the Presidents role when we had no one, without him we may not have a club, anyone that volunteers their time to be on a committee especially a President deserves credit and huge thanks, his kids play for the club, coach juniors and his wife helps canteen and Thursday night teas, so if you dont like him or his decisions with clearances etc at least acknowledge the time he puts in to keep a small suburban club going coz we all no its not much fun battling along and dealing with constant everyday club stuff from footy to netball to finance to sponsors etc.

NOW are we all going to watch the Interleague game, I am, see you on the wing under the scoreboard, go GDFL.

BFL by 40 pts. Simply too much depth and top end talent. I reckon if this game was played 5-8 years ago its a different story but in the time since the BFL has gotten stronger and the GDFL weaker.
Double that l reckon. Who will take on Jordan Erskine, Mitch Day and the man mountain Jarrod Garth?

That side won’t get close to BFL

Attachments

• 1151F037-2FED-42AB-8E60-DB010B41983F.jpeg
    1151F037-2FED-42AB-8E60-DB010B41983F.jpeg
    661.2 KB · Views: 162
Your being very very generous Swamp Dog.
3 or 4 quality players then it drops off real quick. Certainly no where near the best 22, but having said that if the BFL fielded it's best 22 then the same result would occur.

Yep dead right, while i understand some blokes are sore and relish the time off, there are a few who just won’t play and i don’t really understand that mentality, this game could be a real cracker but won’t have the same appeal without the truly best sides in, being respectful to the guys that have put their hand up tomorrow.
Should be fun to watch and probably close till half time but i think BFL will walk away after that.
BUT we can hope just the same
“ good luck lads “

GDFL Season 2021