Think Tank GEELONG- Too many list cloggers?

Socrates2

Aug 11, 2015
Wihen Dangerfield was recruited, plenty of list cloggers were retained to save salary cap money.To add insult to injury, Geelong have recruited failed players from other clubs.While I would never denigrate Garry Ablett junior, the old bastard is past his best.With my educated football eye, I have identified the 'list cloggers ' of Geelong.That is players who wouldn't get a game at other clubs and who will never be good enough to play in a premiership team.

Playing list cloggers.
1. Rhys Stanley
3. James Parsons
5. Nakia Cockatoo
7. Harry Taylor
8. Jake Kolodjashnij
9. Zac Smith
10. Ben Jarvis
12. Wylie Buzza
13. Lachie Fogarty
15. Nathan Kreuger*
16. Scott Selwood
17. Esava Ratugolea
18. Charlie Constable
19. Quinton Narkle
20. Oscar Brownless*
21. Jacob Kennerley*
23. Gary Rohan*
24. Jed Bews
25. Lachie Henderson
28. Darcy Fort*
29. Cam Guthrie
30. Tom Atkins (R)*
31. Jordan Cunico
32. Gryan Miers
33. Jake Tarca*
36. Blake Schlensog (R)*
37. Sam Simpson (R)
38. Jack Henry
39. Zach Guthrie (R)
40. Luke Dahlhaus*
41. Jamaine Jones (R)
42. Mark O’Connor
43. Stefan Okunbor (R)*
45. Ryan Abbott

Verdict (Sporting News)
It's hard to say there's any noticeable improvement to the Cats' list. If Chris Scott wants his side to live up to expectations the lift will need to come from the same big names that have been unable to get it together in recent seasons.
oscar-brownless-billy_1lc8ein9377kk1li91tfkijbke.jpg
Oscar Brownless- riding the gravy
train.His step father Gary Lyon has already written him off.

• Banned
You're on the money Scrotum2.

To make it worse for them, Cat fans are going to cry like little girls at the end of the year when the lose Kelly to us for a third rounder.
Yes Kelly is a gun, his loss will place further pressure on Geelong's ageing midfield.

I had a chicken parma with chips (along with a couple of beers) last night at the pub, and then snacked on one of those big bags of salt 'n vinegar chips at home in front of the TV. This morning, I got up and went with bacon and eggs for brekky. Needless to say, I was quite backed up and went to the toilet (waited for my wife to go to work).

I did 4-5 of the biggest turds you could imagine. It just kept coming, and they were large logs, not the little pebbly ones that you sometimes get with a healthier diet.

Anyway, after a good 20 minutes I started getting pins and needles and so wiped my arse (using a combination of those wet-ones and the old toilet paper), and then looked down to survey the damage. The toilet bowl was pretty much full.

I flushed, and to my horror it backed up, the water rising right up to the rim. After some struggling with the dunny brush I managed to dislodge the offending log(s), and the water subsided.

Socrates2, that list of players reminds me of what I saw in that toilet bowl. And to continue the analogy, I think it will take some time (4-6 years) for the 'water to subside' at Geelong.

• Banned
I had a chicken parma with chips (along with a couple of beers) last night at the pub, and then snacked on one of those big bags of salt 'n vinegar chips at home in front of the TV. This morning, I got up and went with bacon and eggs for brekky. Needless to say, I was quite backed up and went to the toilet (waited for my wife to go to work).

I did 4-5 of the biggest turds you could imagine. It just kept coming, and they were large logs, not the little pebbly ones that you sometimes get with a healthier diet.

Anyway, after a good 20 minutes I started getting pins and needles and so wiped my arse (using a combination of those wet-ones and the old toilet paper), and then looked down to survey the damage. The toilet bowl was pretty much full.

I flushed, and to my horror it backed up, the water rising right up to the rim. After some struggling with the dunny brush I managed to dislodge the offending log(s), and the water subsided.

Socrates2, that list of players reminds me of what I saw in that toilet bowl. And to continue the analogy, I think it will take some time (4-6 years) for the 'water to subside' at Geelong.
Very well said and best of luck with your Geelong clogging type toilet.

Thanks, all clear now. I had some Metamucil and it's flushed me out nicely, kind of like Neil Balme would have with Geelong's list cloggers (had he not been poached by ... Richmond).

I think the other recruiters have caught up to Stephen Wells. They are no longer letting him take speculative picks , but rather recruiting 'proven ' players like Daalhouse, Rohan, Tuhoy, Henderson ect

I'll admit there's a fair few but that's the trade off for having the 3 best midfielders of the modern era.

All these spud have a lot of upside. All that matters is we're finishing top 4 with 10 spuds, whereas other teams are more balanced with only 4 or so spuds. We have far more probability at least half of these spuds will come good. Then we will become a super team above all others.

I'll admit there's a fair few but that's the trade off for having the 3 best midfielders of the modern era. Hawkins and Taylor does an ok football 2
How is that working out for you? Also, I think Sooky Bub has been booted out of the midfield to the forward pocket where Dalhouse and Rohan will do all the chasing and tackling for Gary.

While I would never denigrate Garry Ablett junior
I started reading your post but never made it past this. You were doin' alright up till then.

I wish they would retire that bald flog up forward, bloody Kenny would make a better forward than him.

I
I started reading your post but never made it past this. You were doin' alright up till then.
I'm not as hard edged as you, I have respect for 3 non Richmond players Gary jnr , Gary snr and Buddy.Oh and Dom Sheed who has balls of steel.

MATHEW LLOYD and JAMES BARTEL savage Geelong's list.

LLOYD UNLOADS ON THE LIST MANAGEMENT
I think it comes on Chris Scott, because you look at Melbourne, Richmond and Collingwood, (they’re) all front end, high pressure teams,” he told AFL Media’s Access All Areas.

“Geelong just don’t apply any pressure and they get found out in finals football.”

The three-time Coleman Medallist has pointed the finger at nearly a quarter of the Cats’ list, labelling them “list cloggers” that should either be traded or delisted.

“These guys have let Geelong down or don’t get opportunities, so what’s the point of having them on the list?

BARTEL HAS HIS TWO CENTS
Ex-Geelong star Jimmy Bartel agreed with Lloyd, stating the list has too many “insurance” players.

“Lloydy’s spot on and that’s the balance of making up your list. A lot of those guys are insurance plans, and you can’t have too many of those on your list,” Bartel added.

Think Tank GEELONG- Too many list cloggers?