No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club news

From the main board discussion it seems there some unusually large bets laid on our very own Karl Amon to be Ports leading vote poller even though he was $151 odds to do so.

Could not just be insider trading but flat out market manipulation on display here!
Surely for that to work it would require the involvement of more than one umpire

It also shouldn’t make it difficult to work out who

Anyone who thinks this sort of thing doesn't happen is kidding themselves. For every time this behaviour gets outed I reckon 10 would slip through.
The betting markets on the Rising Star award would be huge, yet compared to the Brownlow Medal I'm not aware of a single robust control in place to prevent fraud.

edit: Just to be clear. Not suggesting the result of this or any previous years result was fraudulent. Just that there appears to be very little protections in place to prevent votes from being bought or revealed ahead of time.

From the main board discussion it seems there some unusually large bets laid on our very own Karl Amon to be Ports leading vote poller even though he was $151 odds to do so.

Could not just be insider trading but flat out market manipulation on display here!
I'm appalled.......that no contacts got me in on the $151 action

The betting markets on the Rising Star award would be huge, yet compared to the Brownlow Medal I'm not aware of a single robust control in place to prevent fraud.

edit: Just to be clear. Not suggesting the result of this or any previous years result was fraudulent. Just that there appears to be very little protections in place to prevent votes from being bought or revealed ahead of time.
Add to the rising star award the fact that some judges are media personalities - are they prohibited from betting like afl employees? They seem to openly advocate as to where their money lies.

Surely for that to work it would require the involvement of more than one umpire

It also shouldn’t make it difficult to work out who
I suppose one umpire could sway the voting of the other two somehow?

You are right though pretty silly of the ump in question as once they identified the dodgy bet in question it would have been easy to narrow the ump down who umpires all the games where Amon got votes.

Particularly as it is voted on by the media, who aren't actually bound by any legislation re:betting. They fall in a grey area

I know it's impossible but gotta get betting completely out of footy somehow!! I mean look what it's doing to soccer! The VAR system , they say, was invented forl big money barons who'd lose millions on one poor decision back in the day, but, now, in certain circumstances it's used in a way where it helps the pre-chosen narrative.

Agree. It’s a cancer.

AFL invites the gambling industry into the sport and does absolutely nothing to protect the integrity of the game. And now has corruption of the integrity of the game. Young players must get targeted all the time to provide info etc. exotic markets in particular are very attractive targets for corruption.

Explosion Reaction GIF

Quick let's go to the break so SportsBet can tell us the odds and how we can multiply them with a multi. The "fortune favours the brave" crypto advertising shit at grounds is just as bad - predatory shit aimed at (with all due respect) non sophisticated young males with a bad case of FOMO. Beggars belief the AFL is taking money from that industry.

15-20 years ago on the NRL footy show or footy coverage Fatty Vautin made some kind of cheeky comment to Peter Sterling about having had a large wager on the MOTM award that he was subsequently in charge of giving out as a commentator. Sterling’s face went bright red after the joke - this kind of shit would be going on all over the joint.

exotic markets in particular are very attractive targets for corruption.

Back when sports worldwide went dark in March 2020 I remember Sportsbet were scrambling for wagers so had one each day about what colour Scott Morrison’s tie would be at the daily presser. How easy would it have been for him to get in with his mates and tell them to load up on the longish odds choices each day and then wear that colour.

Should've had one for which portfolio he was taking over each day :cool:

Quick let's go to the break so SportsBet can tell us the odds and how we can multiply them with a multi. The "fortune favours the brave" crypto advertising s**t at grounds is just as bad - predatory s**t aimed at (with all due respect) non sophisticated young males with a bad case of FOMO. Beggars belief the AFL is taking money from that industry.
bart simpson motion GIF

15-20 years ago on the NRL footy show or footy coverage Fatty Vautin made some kind of cheeky comment to Peter Sterling about having had a large wager on the MOTM award that he was subsequently in charge of giving out as a commentator. Sterling’s face went bright red after the joke - this kind of s**t would be going on all over the joint.
And on top of that you'd often see Fatty and Sterlo on the turps at all hours at various RSL clubs when the NRL Footy Show was at the peak of its hours. Those two are as thick as thieves and it wouldn't surprise me one little bit if they spilt any winnings wagers like that would've got down the guts. Both of those guys are epic douchebags but Paul 'The Chief' Harrigan I must say is a ripper bloke. Used to see him every now and then on my through Newcastle when I was still playing in the BDAFL and would always greet when you yelled out Chief. Never had the heart to tell him there's only one true Chief.

Quick let's go to the break so SportsBet can tell us the odds and how we can multiply them with a multi. The "fortune favours the brave" crypto advertising s**t at grounds is just as bad - predatory s**t aimed at (with all due respect) non sophisticated young males with a bad case of FOMO. Beggars belief the AFL is taking money from that industry.
I can’t be the only person who swears under their breath at the TV every time a game cuts away to what odds Nathan Brown, Billy Brainless or Daisy Thomas are offering.

Drives me wild that this shit is everywhere now.

In the AFL's defence they are actually dealing with this (they could have covered it up) and they have dealt with players in the past (they could have covered that up as well).

The AFL can contain corruption a lot more with the gambling industry inside the tent.

No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club news