No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club news

Crazy to me that we get mentioned here.
Would not touch JUH with a ten foot pole personally. Way to many red flags with his links to "colorful" characters being a real concern.

Doggies are in a tight spot now. They can't release too much of dirt to dilute his trade value but at the same time they need to release enough dirt to justify to the supporter base as to why they have to move him on.

Dogs board ITK seem convinced that he might find his way out of footy soon. Not drug related. Family/personal.

Pretty sad for a young bloke with the world at his feet. Hopefully he turns it around.

They also reckon the Saints had both 1st round picks for JUH on the table last trade period but pulled out after they did some digging. Dogs were keen on the deal.

Dogs board ITK seem convinced that he might find his way out of footy soon. Not drug related. Family/personal.

Pretty sad for a young bloke with the world at his feet. Hopefully he turns it around.

They also reckon the Saints had both 1st round picks for JUH on the table last trade period but pulled out after they did some digging. Dogs were keen on the deal.
The Saints (for once) dodged a bullet there!

Does anyone actually know what's going on or is it just innuendo atm? I've heard some say he's always on the bags, likes to fight people in nightclubs, likes the pokies and others say he doesn't want to be at the Dogs. Then today I read a comment saying that he's not happy with his contract which I find weird because I though he only just re-signed last year.

The Saints (for once) dodged a bullet there!
It would've been very Saints like for them to have their president kick up a stink about equality to get 1st round compo for Battle and then use both their 1st rounders to trade for JUH and then have him retire before the season started.

Obviously first and foremost you hope that JUH can sort out whatever is going on and can have a decent career but as i said above only something like that would ever happen to them.

Absolutely loving that Tony Jones being a miserable little pissant is now global news. Also love that he’s using the ‘I apologise if Novak was offended’ - mate, what you said was utterly stupid. I hate Novak - but you can’t call him overrated or a has-been, and you sure as shit shouldn’t do it as a deplorably bad attempt of humour when you’re the official tournament broadcaster.

This is what happens when you have deadshits like JB and BT doing the main coverage of our sport - the bar is so low for sports presenters in this country. What’s galling is that there are really good broadcasters out there who would provide great, insightful coverage but networks seem convinced that this banal ‘banter’ crap is what will rake in the viewers. Athletes get told all the time to ‘shut up and dribble’ - how about commentators shut up and commentate. When I think of the very best commentators globally - not one of them are admired for their banter but their eloquent calling, knowledge and insight. Can we eradicate this ‘boofhead’ shit that was already growing tedious in the 90s and focus on good calling and analysis.

Roy and HG were good at commenting using light hearted jokes. Their Olympic coverage of Sydney was quite entertaining. Their radio coverage of various grand finals has also been refreshing at times. Especially when it looks like a blow out.

Unfortunately people like JB and BT who think they are comedians, but aren’t, just come across as annoying. Then there is the boys club of past players, where they are bantering about in-house jokes and past glory, that they take viewers away from the game.

Comedy can be done, if it’s done right, but it should be used sparingly and is best used for radio. Like the recent Hawks radio commentary against Carlton, not ideal for every game, but used infrequently, it makes people want to look forward to it, when it does happen. The commentary on both FTA and Fox needs a revamp, where we need more people like Sandy Roberts, Bruce ect.

Does anyone actually know what's going on or is it just innuendo atm? I've heard some say he's always on the bags, likes to fight people in nightclubs, likes the pokies and others say he doesn't want to be at the Dogs. Then today I read a comment saying that he's not happy with his contract which I find weird because I though he only just re-signed last year.
Have heard that there could have been an issue with him paying his rent etc, have also heard that the unsavoury types that he's been known to hang around with might be causing more issues for him than previously let on.

That’s the one that I took notice off. Why would an AFL footballer choose to surround himself with those types?

Getting done for drugs, well they are young and stupid I can understand that. Not ideal but it’s not the end of the world.

But choosing to surround yourself with those types is a massive red flag as it only ever ends badly.

Lay down with dogs and end up with fleas as the saying goes.

That’s the one that I took notice off. Why would an AFL footballer choose to surround himself with those types?

Getting done for drugs, well they are young and stupid I can understand that. Not ideal but it’s not the end of the world.

But choosing to surround yourself with those types is a massive red flag as it only ever ends badly.

Probably seems like nice blokes at the start, until they're not nice blokes.

I think this is a real issue that societally we don't know how to combat.
People expect footballers, even the young ones, to be bastions of societal health and it just isn't the case without the right supports in place. Sadly, growing up in a remote/regional area means that you're a bit strapped for folks to associate with sometimes and this can lead to a lot of systemic/life long issues.

Hopefully the other Footscray players get around him and help him recognise how dire the situation might be.

Probably seems like nice blokes at the start, until they're not nice blokes.
I’d say he did it more for the thrill of being associated with these types of people which to me shows an incredible lack of judgement (yes I know he’s young).

Once someone gets sucked into that world it’s very hard to drag yourself out of it.

I’d say he did it more for the thrill of being associated with these types of people which to me shows an incredible lack of judgement (yes I know he’s young).

Once someone gets sucked into that world it’s very hard to drag yourself out of it.

They've likely always been friends with those type of people also. I am sure Dustin Martin was hanging out with some interesting characters long before he was a footy player. JUH likely no different. Hopefully the Bulldogs can put the right things in place to keep him from self-destructing like the Tigers seemed to successfully do with Dusty.

So true. Another one that rolled with these types of people was Jake 'the pushup' King. You just hope that JUH wasn't silly enough to have officially joined this type of crew because the thing I was always told that once you do then it's a bond for life and the only way that you can un-join is in a pine box.

Here's an interesting stat but I'm not surprised but considering we're only 100 year old whereas others are much older it's pretty crazy. Oh and FK = free kick not what I first thought 😂

There goes the "free kick Hawthorn" theory.

Would not touch JUH with a ten foot pole personally. Way to many red flags with his links to "colorful" characters being a real concern.

Doggies are in a tight spot now. They can't release too much of dirt to dilute his trade value but at the same time they need to release enough dirt to justify to the supporter base as to why they have to move him on.
Not sure how true it is that we approached him with a huge offer. But if we did, we dodged a bullet too. Personally, I was not interested one bit this time last year when many on this board were calling for us to make a decade-long offer of $10-15m for him. At the time he’d only ever kicked 35 goals in a season. Interested to know 12 months on, if those same posters think he’s worth that now.

He's since put together a 43 goal season (could be a lot more if he kicked straighter) and is just 22 years old. Anyone with half a clue can see the talent and potential he has. Before all this news/rumours dropped he'd definitely still be worth a long term mega deal based on his performance and trajectory - and apparently clubs did make those offers in the last trade period.

BUT obviously he's not going to be worth risking that size deal now that information that significantly hurts his value is seemingly coming to light.

It's up to the club to do their due diligence before recruiting players. Us fans can only form our opinions on the information at hand at the time.

Here's an interesting stat but I'm not surprised but considering we're only 100 year old whereas others are much older it's pretty crazy. Oh and FK = free kick not what I first thought 😂

It's a shame the quote doesn't have a source

No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club news